We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped, but nice”
Review of The Haze Karakoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Haze Karakoy
Ranked #409 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Cramped, but nice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was surprised to read a prior review that used the word "spacious" to describe the rooms. Of course, I didn't stay in every room on the property, but was with a family with two other rooms and saw theirs, as well. The rooms are nice, mostly clean, well appointed with modern appliances and decor, but if you're traveling heavy and have a couple of bags they will end up on the floor and will be side-stepping and hopping over bags with not much room to spare. None or minimal shelf space in bathroom for traveling toiletries. The outside noise is for real, the walls and windows are seemingly paper thin. For the frequent traveler, these are minor inconveniences. I did notice another review mention staff impatience with a language barrier. Shortly after this episode, we were in the breakfast restaurant and we learned that the management of this place is completely separate from The Haze hotel management and ownership. When we shared our experience with the male front desk attendant, three of the waiters and bartenders got a chuckle and agreed that this was not an uncommon experience. We found two friendly and patient female attendants at the desk, but one rather impatient male attendant. Overall, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It's in a good location to several restaurants and shops and an ATM. Excellent beds, great shower. Great breakfast spread in the morning. We did have a toilet that ran after being flushed and had to call the front desk each time. If I were going back to Istanbul, my experience with The Haze was not so bad that I'd risk gambling on another location. It was pleasant enough, and a rate competitive enough, to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    81
    37
    20
    16
See reviews for
48
110
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is still quite new and is centrally located and various modes of transport are available within walking distance. The superior room is a little more spacious than the other lower graded rooms and is definitely worth the extra money. The staff members are generally courteous, but more patience needs to be exercised due to the language barrier. Great for business travellers and couples for a memorable getaway.

Room Tip: First try to compare the rates from the hotel's website directly with other sites, e.g. Agoda et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Recently, re stayed in this hotel 10 days. After a first night in the old and noisy side of the hotel, we moved to the new and more quiet side of the hotel. There we were very comfortable and happy. Ms. Sevim Kara of the hotel management was great and made us feel at home. House keeping (serife hanim) was very conscientious kept the place spotless. The location is central and excellent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtofindagoodhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfeGM, Genel Müdür at The Haze Karakoy, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.

I look forward to seeing you here in The Haze Hotel soon again.

Sincerely yours,

Efe Ö.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean room, with extra comfort beds in a reasonable price, this is one of the choices you should consider. However, do keep in mind that there is a lot of noise from the road, while the neighborhood itself is full of engineer parts stores, although you are a 30-40 minutes walk from Agia Sofia. The staff is polite, however with poor english, regarding the breakfast is average however the small restaurant itself is really cosy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Haze with our 2 children and had 2 connecting rooms overlooking the bosphorus. Very modern cool designed rooms, just as pictured on the website. Location is excellent, near the old city as well as taksim. The helpful staff had to put up with our occasionally active kids and never complained :), they were very helpful indeed. We also enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant. Overall, a very pleasant stay and looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: For families, ask for interconnecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leyoselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfeGM, Genel Müdür at The Haze Karakoy, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.

I look forward to seeing you here in The Haze Hotel soon again.

Sincerely yours,

Efe Ö.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was overbooked as the room we had booked was not available on arrival and we were downgraded. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was for a king sized bed as we're both tall individuals. We were promised the correct room the next night, but I wasn't happy with this, nor was I was happy with approach taken by the desk clerk.

I rang up the booking intermediary and advised them of the situation and they would look into it. On heading out for dinner, this same young guy at the front desk confronted me and accused me of not believing him that I would sort out our room for the next night and was confrontational about calling the booking intermediary.

The next morning I checked with staff and was advised that I would have the right room later in the day. When we returned that afternoon, there wasn't the correct room for the next night. I complained again it was only when I got on the phone again to the booking intermediary that I was advised we would be upgraded to the "penthouse" the next night. Some compensation, as well as being given the monetary difference in room costs which was what should have happened at a minimum.

It was the penthouse in name only. Not exactly what I would call penthouse material. Website photography is certainly misleading, and for a hotel that goes for the boutique touch, it was lacking the soft furnishings and nice touches in the rooms. Also, curtains in the penthouse suite were not adequate to block the morning sun.

There was an iron available, but no ironing board!

Breakfast was quite poor and after eating there the first morning we decided to go elsewhere during our stay. The restaurant was run separately to the hotel, so I couldn't put a bottle of wine on our room. I had to follow them downstairs with a credit card!

To their credit, the manager did go a very small way to redeeming things, but it was token, and actually, it was pretty poor all things considered. Next time, try buying your guests a bottle of wine as opposed to knocking 20% off it! It's more often how you redeem yourself after poor actions that are remembered as opposed to the issues that occur.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed with my family for 4 nights in this lovely hotel after finding it on booking.com, location of the hotel is excellent, very clean throughout and staff was very friendly, yes there were a lot of noise during night due to council's roadworks but it was temporary and had nothing to do with the hotel so I can't really blame them, we would stay again and definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serkan-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EfeGM, Genel Müdür at The Haze Karakoy, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.

I look forward to seeing you here in The Haze Hotel soon again.

Sincerely yours,

Efe Ö.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#70 of 1,141 in Istanbul
196 reviews
Karakoy
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
#396 of 1,141 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Karakoy
Hotel Morione
Hotel Morione
#438 of 1,141 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Nordstern Hotel Galata
Nordstern Hotel Galata
#310 of 1,141 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#160 of 1,141 in Istanbul
165 reviews
Karakoy
Port Hotel Tophane-i Amire
Port Hotel Tophane-i Amire
#699 of 1,141 in Istanbul
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haze Karakoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haze Karakoy

Property: The Haze Karakoy
Address: Necatibey Avenue No. 38 | Karakoy / BEYOGLU, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haze Karakoy 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Karakoy, this luxurious hotel is only 350 metres from Galata Tower. The Haze Istanbul has a unique architecture combining a modern building previously utilized as a bakery, and a restored bobbin factory with neo-classic architecture and its high ceilings.The rooms of The Haze Istanbul are tastefully decorated in modern style with custom-designed furniture. Each room is equipped with adjustable heating and cooling system, rain shower, and a flat-screen TV with local and foreign satellite channels as standard. All rooms have city views.Located on the ground floor, the hotel's restaurant Forneria offers a rich menu of unique tastes with an award-winning chef. You can also enjoy snacks and cocktails from the bar.The hotel has a business centre where you can benefit from a computer, fax, photocopy machine and a scanner for free. Airport shuttle service can also be arranged on request at an additional fee.The Haze Istanbul is only 250 metres from Galata Bridge, 300 metres from Karakoy Ferry Port and 750 metres from the tram and Sishane Metro Station. Ataturk Airport is 20 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Haze Karakoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing