We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Spinel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spinel Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The spinnel Hotel is a new Hotel, very well located some of the rooms have sea view. We stay in Family 4 nights in that Hotel, and it was a great experience. The personnel is very Kind. The owner who also possesses the Star Hotel is very helpful. The spinnel Hotel presents one advantage toward the star Hotel, it is lesss loud, for the personn who prefer a peaceful atmosphere. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I got the opportunity to spend a night at the Spinel Hotel which is the sister hotel to my favourite hotel The Star Guesthouse. It is only 1 block away so it still has a view of the sea to one side and easy access to all the sites namely Arasta Bazaar, Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque just to name a few. Star is on a street which is a hive of activity that I love but notice guests sometimes feel that it is noisy. Well, Spinel Hotel is all of the same good things as Star minus the noise. Rooms and bathrooms are lovely and clean and the pleasant, hospitable hotel staff led by managers/owners Coskun and Hidir guarantee a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Corner suite if you are booking a triple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanaazPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent service: punctual, professional, and kind. We felt like we were home. Professionals attending to all our needs and requests. Multilingual staff made sure we were always comfortable and satisfied. They were always smiling and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinabuenaventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed The room 402 ıt has sea view, Bathroomis has a good space, Breakfast is smilir typical turkish öpen buffet For The stuff were very helpful and kind, Location is very close to ses but for tram you have to walk up small hill however quiet place, Rooms are clean and cute ..

Room Tip: choose room 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

a very nice place
good services qualities
clean rooms
cleaning stuff
terrace view
large bathroom
and good treatment of employees with customers
the beach is only 5 minutes from hotel ,,also u can enjoy a bar on the terrace (alchool drinks)
grocery store and a hairdressing salon is also close

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cristinameams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel is newly operated but I have nothing to complaint about for the price given to me that night. Apparently all hotel rates In Istanbul on the 18 May sky-rocket up to 500-700 TRY per night so it was a bless when I managed to grab a less then 300 TRY for triplets room at Spinel. It's clean and the air-condition work very well. In fact we have to switch it off sometimes because the room become too cold.

Thumbs up for the friendly and helpful staffs and the breakfast is actually quite a plenty with bread, hard boiled eggs, cereal etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arty1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I decided to book the Spinel Hotel online after the hotel i stayed at last time was full. The Spinel Hotel was very close. It is a new hotel so I am told. They organised an Airport transfer and gave me an early check in which was very nice as it enables one to be more relaxed upon arrival.

I was given a room high up with a very good view and lots of windows, I could watch ships plying along the entrance to the Bosphorus and parts of the Sea of Marmara.

However there were a few issues with both the room and the hotel. The cost was far too high for the size and condition of the room. The ceiling was not much above door height and the bathroom ceiling was lower than door height. I am 183cm and my head was always brushing the bathroom light overhead. I had to get changes in the main room. The air-conditioner did not work for 4 days and they were in no hurry to fix it... it needed to be gassed. I woke up each morning at around 6am sweating as the sun was on full shine into the room. I had to have the windows open all night hence the curtains were drawn back. The rooftop terrace was being prepared for breakfasts and the drilling and hammering was up until at least 10.30pm when i finally did go to sleep. I had not had a good sleep for around 40 hours as travellers often do. The cost was around 30% higher than comparable good hotels in the area. I thought I was paying a higher price to get a better quality hotel room. I was to stay in it for 1 week. One day i was the only guest and they did not employ a cleaner that day, the guy who came and changed the towels only, took the money that I had left for the cleaner. over the previous 2 days the bathroom was developing a distinctly mouldy smell which on the day the cleaner was not there was quite intolerable. I went and bought a cleaning agent and cleaned it myself... incidentally the smell never came back. Breakfast was OK but nothing special to write home about. It was basic fare generally 1 fresh fruit. only Nescafe coffee, not even a filter coffee. I paid 109 Euros for the first 2 nights and 99 Euros for each night after that. They knew it was too expensive and told me so but I was never offered a lesser rate.

On a different note,the staff were friendly, however no more than other hotels I had stayed at In the area.

Overall it was a disappointing experience and definitely not value for money.

Cheers, Gary

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Meddusa Hotel
Meddusa Hotel
#516 of 1,151 in Istanbul
212 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses Hotel
Deniz Houses Hotel
#202 of 1,151 in Istanbul
673 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#360 of 1,151 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#549 of 1,151 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sur Hotel Sultanahmet
Sur Hotel Sultanahmet
#765 of 1,151 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ocean's 7 Hotel
Ocean's 7 Hotel
#514 of 1,151 in Istanbul
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinel Hotel

Property: Spinel Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi Terbiyik Cikmazi No:6 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spinel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinel Hotel offers you and exquisite stay in an elegant and stylish environment which is oozing with charecter and history..We are located in the most ancient part of Istanbul,the former capital of the Byzantine and Ottoman Empire and couple of minutes walk from all the major touristic places including ;Blue Mosque,Hagia Sophia,Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spinel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing