We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to capture family memories in Istanbul.”

Giycek Old Time Photo Studio
Ranked #27 of 542 Shopping in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Giycek Old Time Photo Studio is the one & only old time photo studio in Istanbul and it is based in Galata district very close to both Galata Tower and Tunel Square on Istiklal Street. Our issue is to provide fun, original, unforgettable experience and long lasting memory of Istanbul for Istanbul travellers. We have a wide range of costumes of different periods during Ottoman Era under the concepts of Dynasty, Millitary and much more.
Kobe, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great way to capture family memories in Istanbul.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Owner of the business is also the photographer. She was very professional and spoke English well. In a relaxed atmosphere we chose our costumes and made many crazy (and some serious!) poses for the camera. The end result was impressive and reasonably priced. Thoroughly recommended to families and fun-loving couples.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanneChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When I saw this on Tripadvisor, I knew I wanted to do it. It looked like fun and I wanted a good vacation photo from which to make a Christmas card. This fit the bill completely.

It's easier to get to this place than I thought. We were staying near the tram line, on the Sultanahmet side. We took the tram across the Golden Horn and got off at the first stop on the other side of the bridge. We walked across the street to the left and took the "Tunel" funicular up to Istiklal Street. After exiting the funicular, we walked up Istiklal just about 50 meters and there was the Sishane Metro Stop. We turned right onto the street with the Metro Stop on it and walked down (and I do mean DOWN) it to the end. It is a steep cobblestone street. We turned right at the end of the street and about 100 meters away we saw the sign for the shop.

We made an appointment through the email link on Tripdavisor.

The photographer was very professional and friendly. She re-touched some of the photos so we don't look quite so old in the photos as we do in reality! I loved her assortment of costumes. There is something here for everyone.

After the photo shoot, we stopped at a lovely terraced cafe on the same street and celebrated our photos.

You can get a disc with the photos or you can get prints -- anything you want. The prices are very reasonable for what you get.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fun Istanbul Experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a great time at Giycek Old Time Photo Studio. Going through the experience is just as fun as the pictures are to take home to show to friends and family. Lots of laughs on Facebook too. Do it -- and have fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LoganF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pleasant and fun experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We visited Giycek Old Time Studio after seeing the reviews on trip advisor, and wanted a unique souvenir to remember our trip to Istanbul. We were caught in traffic and were huffing & puffing, late for our appt, but they were very patient and professional in helping us select the costumes, packages etc. We enjoyed the experience
& love the photos! Thank you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsylph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I did the shooting with my mom. Had soooo much fun! The photographer is a very attentive young lady, helped with the poses and let us exchange the costumes as well. We paid 180 tl for 6 digital photos.
I'd recommend for everybody!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giycek Old Time Photo Studio also viewed

 

Been to Giycek Old Time Photo Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing