We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nidya Hotel Galataport
Ranked #331 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
857 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Great new hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel Nidya is relatively new hotel. The taxi driver who took me there from the Ataturk airport stated that it was only five months old, which one of the guys in the reception confirmed. The hotel is located down hill from the Taksim Square. The Taksim Square is a major tourist and leisure district famed for its restaurants, shops, and hotels. It is considered the heart of modern Istanbul, with the central station of the Istanbul Metro network. The hotel is situated near the water not far from the Modern Art museum. The location is actually quite nice because it gives you good possibilities to walk to many sites.

I arrived just after sundown and the drive from the airport took close to one hour due to rush hour, it can actually take up to two hours if everything goes wrong. The taxi driver was a nice guy who knew the city after more than 28 years of driving in Istanbul. He asked me to code the phone number of the hotel, so he could be sure to find the hotel straight away.

The hotel had a nice appearance and I was received by a bell-boy at the entrance. He took my bag and guided me to the reception where my reservation already was ready. I was told that I was given an upgrade and I was given a room on fifth floor facing the road and the water, which turned out to bed great the following morning.

The room was well designed in soft colors and lightwood everywhere. There was a closet just at the entrance with a safe and morning robe. The room was fairly large and it felt really well entering it. I liked the design that felt light, bright and relaxing. The colors were used well with the lightwood and dark brown curtains and beige bed cover. There was a nice long desk a flat screen on the wall. There was a nice bench to put the suitcase and there was a fridge with some cold drinks that could come in handy. The bathroom was nice with a modern design in all the appliances.

I arrived pretty late at the hotel and I was getting hungry so I decided to eat at the hotel instead of trying to find a restaurant. The restaurant turned out to be pretty okay. I ordered a tomato and cheese salad and some kebab and a bottle of local white wine and all was pretty. The following day I had lunch there where they served a buffet and that was also good. The food prices were fair and even the wine in the restaurant was really cheap. The only thing that surprised me negatively was the price for a gin & tonic in their bar, which was too steep.

When I left I was pretty sad I had not decided to stay a bit longer in this place because it was a nice hotel and the surroundings were really nice. It was close to the water and some nice museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidya Hotels G, Yönetici at Nidya Hotel Galataport, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Chokk

For your stay in our hotel and thank you very much for your constructive comment. Next time we are also honored to welcome you in our hotel.

Most sincere regards,

Emre TUVAN
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    95
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
44
73
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here for a week during April and overall I was quite satisfied with the hotel. The prices are good compared to other less attractive properties in Istanbul, and the location is close to all the interesting spots, meaning that you need to rely minimally on taxis/public transport.

The staff is very frienldy and helpful! The always did everything they could to help and I really felt satisfied with the level of service.

On the other hand there are also a few downsides. First of all, when we arrived we were told we were upgraded to superior rooms for free. This sounded great until we realised the room was on the first floor facing the busy street. We couldn't sleep that night so we asked to be downgraded back to a standard room facing the back, whcih turned out to be much better.

Also, there is no ventilation in the bathrooms. This is strange because this is a newly built hotel and I would immagine ventilation is a standard. The bathroom was constantly damp, but it was livable.

Also, there are very few towel racks and coat hangers, making it difficult to be organised. This is easily fixed though. The pillows are a catastrophe.

The TV offers almost only turkish language channels and the hotel IPTV system is very limited, and doesn't seem to be functioning properly.

My main complaint about this hotel is the poor management of the roof garden. There is a beautiful roof garden on the 8th floor with a stunning view of the city. If they asked me, I would concentrate most of the hotel's activities up there. On the contrary, we were able to have a served drink up there only once for an entire week! All the other times they used excuses like "rainy weather", etc. which was not the case. Also, the hotel breakfast finishes at 10, and the terrace is open only from 11, meaning that if you want to enjoy the view you have to sit arround in the hotel for an hour. It's almost as if they are discouraging guests to use this great facility!

Other than that I can say the hotel is a good value for money and would recommend it - but probably for a shorter stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose sea-view rooms, there is no sea view and they are much noisier. Ask for higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

It is a very kind and nice hotel with friendly staff. Unfortunately the first room we had was room 614 and that was a very small room, also it was very hot in the room and the air condition couldn't go lower. So we did the window open but there was a lot of noise. We went back to the reception and told our problem, they apologized and we got a other room. This room was perfect! The rest of our stay was perfect also the breakfast was delicious! .

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FredvanhetNederend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was nice except that our room was at the back side facing the cafe/bar so we had all the smoke and noise all day. Since the weather was rainy the whole time, they didn't open the top of it and the A/C in the room was not working because it was in the winter mood when it was 18 degrees outside. So we had absolutely no fresh air and even the hall was cooler than our room. Other than that, very good breakfast!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gulfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidya Hotels G, Yönetici at Nidya Hotel Galataport, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Gulff
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. All comments help us to see what we need to improve. We pay much attention on our guest’s comments. You’ve stayed in a room facing with Garden Cafe. This unit of the hotel is the only place where our guests can smoke. It has a collapsible ceiling system. Opening the ceiling is the subject of weather conditions. Central AC system’s temperatures are set to 19’ for the summer season and 25’ for the winter season. We would appreciate if you could contact with the reception regarding that issue. We would love to do our best to fix it. We would love to give you a different side of room for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went there for 1 week and it was the best hotel we have booked until now in Istanbul.
The staff provided the best service for us, particularly Mr Okan and Mr Yunus at the reception. The rooms are clean and everything is new. There is a nice smell in the whole building all the time, it made us feel like home.
We had no view from the window but it was not a problem because the city facilities were near the hotel (Tophane and Findikli tramway stops are at about 200 meters)
No comment on the breakfast buffet: It was delicious!!
Thank you Nidya Hotel, we will certainly come back soon :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidya Hotels G, Yönetici at Nidya Hotel Galataport, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Funda

First of all, thank you very much for staying in our hotel.This beautiful wishes the whole team were shared with friends.We hope to see you in Nidya Hotel Galataport again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Incredible great service. Big thank you to the reception staff for their welcoming and all the help. Had a great stay and would be glad to come back.

Room was a very good size, spacious. Clean and tidy. Not any complaints.

Just one wish is to make more of the breakfast choices and not to ask for payment for natural juices.

Great location of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidya Hotels G, Yönetici at Nidya Hotel Galataport, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Molodaya,
Thank you for leaving your valuable comments on the site. We shared them with our team. We kindly like to mention that we serve over than 50 kinds of food every morning in our breakfast buffet. We will do our best to make it more various as you requested. We also serve orange juice at the breakfast buffet but some freshly squeezed juices are extra like in all other hotels. Glad to see you again in our hotel.
Kind regards

Emre TUVAN
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nicely priced, clean and surprisingly JUST AS ON THE E PICTURE!! Very rare! The rooms was pleasant and newly done, or if not, very well kept! Breakfast was great, overall good value for money. Close to a metro station, very far from the airport though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidya Hotels G, Yönetici at Nidya Hotel Galataport, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Heilavh

Thanks for your valuable comments, we would like to more than welcome for your next visit in Istanbul
Kind regards

Emre TUVAN
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
#246 of 1,140 in Istanbul
169 reviews
Beyoglu
Anjer Hotel Bosphorus
Anjer Hotel Bosphorus
#723 of 1,140 in Istanbul
104 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#158 of 1,140 in Istanbul
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#32 of 1,140 in Istanbul
737 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#80 of 1,140 in Istanbul
648 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#66 of 1,140 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nidya Hotel Galataport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nidya Hotel Galataport

Property: Nidya Hotel Galataport
Address: Meclisi Mebusan Caddesi, No:21 | Tophane, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nidya Hotel Galataport 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidya Hotel Galataport, is an excellently located 4 star Hotel in the golden horn part of Istanbul , with 120 rooms, suited for nearly all purposes. The hotel has a strong commitment to providing the best service possible, and ensuring the satisfaction of their guests.Whether you travel for business or leisure, Nidya Hotel Galataport offers a level of service and recognition that will help you make the most of every moment, ensuring a stay that is nothing short of unforgettable. After you immerse yourself in the Nidya Hotel Galataport experience once, you’ll never want to stay anywhere else.Nidya Hotel Galataport is as ideal for the leisure visitor seeking to enjoy the delights of Istanbul as it is for the business executive. Situated in the old city , this hotel offers guests very unique accommodation, the perfect balance between traditional comfort and the latest facilities.The management and staff of Nidya Hotel Galataport resolutely strive to make all guests feel at home. Upon entering this magnificent hotel, you will see that hospitality is top of the list, with true commitment to service being a priority.Nidya Hotel Galataport is a 120 rooms situated in the Tophane district, in the center of old Istanbul. The hotel is astonishing in its simple elegance, uncluttered, functional and comfortable spaces which are distributed over six floors.Various services are available to ease your stay in Istanbul, whether you travel alone or as a family, occasionally or regularly, for leisure or business purposes.But this service is not limited to hotel amenities alone.Our entire team is able to provide you with information about the museums and monuments in the vicinity of the hotel. We will also advise you on the best places to dine, go out or shop.Simply let the hotel staff know and they would be happy to arrange everything for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nidya Hotel Galataport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing