We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Ranked #72 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great customer Service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at the Shangri La Istanbul on September 30 for 3 nights, was able to get the historic penninsula package which included free day tour of the old city, hamman scrub for two and daily breakfast. Drive in was nice. Met by Shangri la rep at airport and transferred to car. Check in was in room. They gave us twin Bosphorus Premier room but I asked for king on my reservation. After a bit of time they moved us to a king premier. Not much of a view of the Bosphorus but that was somewhat expected. Room was nice but small. Carpet a bit stained and worn even though hotel is only a few months open. Given complimentary water as advised to not drink the water and use bottled water to brush our teeth. was constantly replenished and did not need to call down for more water. Did have a glitch was our tour that I booked weeks earlier. Was never told that Topkapi palace is closed on Tuesdays, the day of our tour. This would have meant a very short tour. Found this out late at night. Complained to the duty manager - Berk and he straightened it out right away to our satisfaction. The tour was very well done with a lunch stop at the Four Seasons Sultanmhet. Breakfast was good food with good service with a few small minor glitches but overall was good. Spa was large and clean and not used by many guests. Everyone must try the Hamman scrub as it was very relaxing. Ate at the hotel in the bar and IST Too and found the food to be good with large selection. Though not truly Turkish it was still good quality and price, esp with the Penninsula package which included a 200 euro dining credit which almost covered our three days of dining. Also another great example of customer service, was dropped off at the airport and was met by a Shangri la rep who guided us to check in and then to security.

pros - Great Shangri la customer service throughout the hotel
Spa was superb with clean large rooms and facilities
quiet location with no outside noise - had excellent sleep


cons - smaller rooms, carpet getting dirty despite only a few months old
still some growing pains with staff and communication but I expect this to sort out
over the next few months.
quiet location with no close places to walk around to other than Dolhambace palace
and taksim square which felt like tourist rip of central.

would definitely recommend this hotel due to the customer service and quiet location. stayed at the four seasons sultanameht and preferred the Shangri la Bosphorus over the Four seasons. See my review on the Four seasons.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantquittravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Cantquittravelling,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We aim to delight and provide all our guests with the highest standards in service and hospitality and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality from the heart. Kindly be assured that we are sharing your valuable comments with all our colleagues, so that further improvements can be made.

Thank you again for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    103
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
156
243
28
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Pure luxury, from the entry level to the rooms. Gorgeous room and bathroom, with huge bathtub and TV in the mirror! Glass and marble ground floor waiting area that is just lovely. Only two issues occurred that shouldn't have- our friends were also supposed to get a deluxe room as we did, but we overheard the receptionists saying that their room was given away and so they were given a room that wasn't as good as it should have been. Also, we left at 3:30am and had a scheduled breakfast to be ready to take with and it wasn't ready. We had to leave without it. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level, Bosphorus view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear KW2011,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are delighted to read that you liked the décor, but we are also deeply sorry for the difficulties encountered during your check-in and check-out. Your valuable comments have been conveyed accordingly to our colleagues and please be assured that we have taken the necessary actions to prevent further recurrences.

We hope to welcome you back at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul again.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was by far the best Spa experience i had in a long while!

New, luxurious, extremely clean and very experienced staff!

Thank you Ms.Gulusah, the spa manager, and the rest of the staff ofcourse for the best service!
Hope the see you all soon again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serpil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Google Translation
Sayın Serpil A;

Shangri-La International ve Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul çalışanları olarak, tüm ekibimizin amacı misafirlerimize en üst hizmet kalite standartlarını sunarak memnuniyetlerini sağlamaktır ve bunu gerçekleştirmek için çaba gösteririz. Sizin yorumlarınız ve görüşleriniz, bizim hedeflediğimiz hizmet stasizi tekrar Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'da ağırlamaktan onur duyarız.

Sizi tekrar Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'da ağırlamaktan onur duyarız.

Saygılarımla,


Sinan Yılmaz
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Shangri-La to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and our stay was really amazing. The staff is very attentive, the location is great and the room was beyond expectations! We were upgraded to a suite for this special occasion, with a lot of very personal attentions.
The suite has an amazing view over the Bosphorus, the room is very quiet, the bathroom is spacious and very well finished.
The SPA is also really nice, we enjoyed the Chi signature massage.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for location, staff friendliness and rooms (new, well decorated).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Hola78,

Thank you for your feedback. It is such an honour for us that you have chosen Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul for your 10th wedding anniversary and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality from the heart.

Congratulations again on your anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, nice services,
You can reach the marine stations very easily, and market as well.
Local restaurants are very close as a walking distance.
I really recommend visiting Shangrila bosphorus and enjoy the view, restaurants, shopping and of course the boats

Helpful?
Thank ahmad a a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear ahmad a a;

Shangri-La International and all of us at the Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul aim to delight and provide all our guests with the highest standards in service and hospitality. We go to great lengths at our hotels to ensure that our guests are given the attention and comfort they deserve. Your comments are a great encouragement for us. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus Istanbul

Yours Sincerely,



Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A new hotel in Istanbul that I stayed at last weekend. It was truly a lovely hotel. From the outside it doesn't look much, but inside it's a palace of luxury and was a great weekend. I live in Istanbul so this was a stay-vacation.. The Shang Palace Chinese restaurant is great and I recommend the Peking Duck, their specialty. Soundproof windows makes sleeping very nice. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a feast, no need for lunch. Everything is fresh. The location is good and right on the Bosporus. Ferry boats are right there to take you to other parts of the city, the best way to get around. It is very close to Domabahce Palace, which is a must-see in Istanbul. The 19th century palace of the Sultans. So nice it put them close to bankruptcy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Google Translation
Sayın Andrew B;

Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'daki konaklamanız süresince keyifli vakit geçirdiğinizi ve hizmetlerimizden memnun kaldığınızı öğrendiğime çok memnun oldum.

Desteğinizin bizim için çok önemli olduğunu bir kez daha belirtir, sizi tekrar Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'da ağırlamaktan onur duyarız.

Saygılarımla,


Sinan Yılmaz
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I'll start off by saying this hotel is not at all bad, but has some shortcomings it needs to compensate for if it wants to compete with it's neighbours. I'd probably give this one a higher mark in some other cities.

Stayed 5 nights in mid September

Arrival: Very good, got a room upgrade on check-in from the cheapest inside courtyard view standard room to the same room category with view over the street outside. Shame I didn't get the Bosphorous view room I was angling for... But that's fine.

Room: Very nice rooms indeed, large, nice decor and design, great marble bathroom. Also good beds and good curtains that shut out the light.

Service: Very good. Overall very happy with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Great concierge service (with only a small miss when I asked for a football pub, and got sent to a place that showed no football, so I had to go looking for an alternative with only a few minutes till kick-off - but that's just details...). Ordered a few things through room service too, and it was always delivered in good time by great staff.

Common areas: Nice, but all indoors, and compared to competition not great... This I reckon will be the big issue in competing with the neighbouring Kempinsky and Four Seasons hotels. Most of the year the weather is pretty warm in Istanbul, and both their neighbours along the Bosphorous have great outdoor areas to hang around in just on the Bosphorous. At the Shangri La you end up feeling a bit caged in.

Spa/Gym: Excellent. Every time I was there I had everything just about to myself. Although the steam room leaks so much steam it's completely clear for long periods, and you need to wait 10 minutes for a fresh batch to be expelled, the overall impressions of sauna/steam room/spa facilities are very good. The gym is also very well equipped, and the pool and large jacuzzi are very nice. Staff at the gym are also excellent, and manage to be available at the same time as not being in any way intrusive.

Roomkeeping: Have to mention this, as it was a bit of a detractor for us. On the final night of the stay roomkeeping removed the bathrobes from the room. That sort of feels a bit cheap and lacking in trust... Also, one day roomkeeping knocked on the door to ask if they could clean at about 11 am, even though I had put the Do not disturb light on. I like to sleep in and make my way out around midday when I'm on holiday, so it's a bit annoying to feel pressured to leave before I'm ready.

Food/drink: Went to try the two restaurants in the hotel, even though I'm not a great fan of going to eat Far Eastern food when I'm in Turkey... I have to say that I was happy with both food and service both places, and the Shang Palace was particularly good. But a Turkish restaurant on site would have been welcome. Also the bar and lobby lounge are nice, and have great service, but the bar never had any other people in it...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saltcreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Saltcreep,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback as this is the only way we can continuously improve the service we aim to provide and exceed our guests’ expectations.

We are delighted to read that you are pleased with your arrival experience as well as our service at concierge, in room dining and F&B outlets. It is very important for us to deliver a high quality of service and your positive feedbacks are our biggest motivation. Despite, we are deeply sorry to read the service lapses you have encountered with housekeeping; please accept our apologies. We will take the necessary actions to improve our services and please be assured that we will be sharing your constructive feedbacks with all our colleagues.

Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail at sinan.yilmaz@shangri-la.com as I would be pleased to learn more about your experience.

We hope to welcome you again in your future trips to Istanbul.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#69 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,140 in Istanbul
353 reviews
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#65 of 1,140 in Istanbul
212 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#62 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Property: Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Address: Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul is located between the Dolmabahce Palace and the Maritime Museum on the European coast of the Bosphorus Strait - the 30-kilometre stretch of water separating Europe and Asia. Set within the Besiktas district, Istanbul's main shopping and transport hub, the hotel is close to the city's financial district and the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Centre. The hotel comprises 186 spacious guestrooms including 17 expansive suites, some of the largest rooms in Istanbul city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing