We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
US$775
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$186
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$114
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$400
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
US$153
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
646
120
29
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
120
29
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshang palacelobby loungebeautiful hotelin room diningview roomduty managerfour seasonsferry stationindoor poolspecial thanksperfect staysea viewturkeyasian sideold cityluxurybosphorus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This Shangri-La lives up to its brand: luxurious, over-the-top property with attentive staff. I much liked the check-in process, where you are taken to your room immediately and all formalities are completed there (always hated having to stand at the reception desk). The lady checking me in was super-sweet and anthusiastic about her hotel (it appears many members of the staff had started before the doors opened, so they helped to put the finishing touches and feel a true part of the place).
The breakfast buffet is excellent, one can have an entirely different meal each day - as the selection is abundant.
The only thing is the hotel is still very new, so some things may not work properly. In my room, the heating was not connected to some pipes, same problem with one of the faucets. When I called, the maintenance person appeared within 15 minutes and fixed things in another 10. So it was only half an hour of unpleasantness (mind you, would have been nice to get some token of apologies from the management, didn't happen)...
Net, it should be a nice hotel in a few months, maybe I get a chance to visit again and find everything straightened out 100% by then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bosphorus!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Snova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Travel_Snova,

Thank you for reviewing Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback as this is the only way we can continuously improve the service we aim to provide.

We are more than delighted to read that you liked our property, the breakfast buffet and your check-in experience. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality from the heart.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the technical difficulties encountered in your room. Providing immaculate service is our priority and kindly be assured that we have taken the necessary actions to prevent further recurrences. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail at sinan.yilmaz@shangri-la.com as I would be pleased to learn more about your experience.

You can be assured that everything will indeed be straightened out the next time you visit Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Really the best choise in town. The service is Superior the charm incredible ad the concierge efficent. I'm sure i'll be back. The room and the view was fantastic. The staff exellent. The brekfast faboulos

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank LoZiovince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014
Google Translation

Sayın LoZiovinc;

Yorumlarınız için teşekkür ederiz. Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'daki konaklamanız süresince keyifli vakit geçirdiğinizi ve hizmetlerimizden memnun kaldığınızı öğrendiğime çok memnun oldum.

Sizi tekrar Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'da ağırlamaktan onur duyarız.

Saygılarımla,


Sinan Yılmaz
Genel Müdür

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I wish if I am rich enough to stay at such hotels..excellent services provided
from the moment we cheked in till check out. My family would like to come to this hotel again and again....... But the hotel room price is too high and out of reach for majority of people..only for rich people

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Salem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Salem A;

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul.


Yours Sincerely



Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at the Shangri La Bosphorus for 6 nights last September, it's a beautiful hotel with a very lovely and fresh decor and color scheme, rooms were spacious and beautiful, very comfortable only negative thing was the telephone, it wasn't working properly when calling room to room also the bathroom TV wasn't working. other than that I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorsara101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear sorsara101,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul and sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted that you liked our property and we sincerely apologize for the technical difficulties you have encountered at your room. We are pleased to inform you that the room telephone as well as the television in the bathroom have been rectified.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the hospitality we are known for and to experience again our facilities.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very impressive property, modern, but tradtional looking, stayed in the basic room,. very large room, with 2 TV's, one in the bathroom, complimentary water and coffee making facilities in room.
Spa was excpetional, the gym was barely used when we were there, the swimming pool is well kept and peaceful, the lifeguard is one of the most conciencous people you will ever meet. The steam room is probably the best I have ever been in, but the Sauna was no where near hot enough.
The location is not ideal if you want to see the sites as this will be a taxi ride away, roughly 10-15 TL, depending on distance, this will take around 10-15 minutes in the cab, it is not really walking distance.
There are some sites near the Shangri-La, but not enough to spend all day there. Restaurants are hard to find around this location as well.
We felt a bit pressured at breakfast because it wasn't that busy, the waiter kept coming over to take our plates even though we weren't finished, but at no point offered an coffee. This was really the only downside to the hotel, a few small stains on the carpet as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Tom M;

Thank you for staying at the Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. Your comments are extremely important to assist us in evaluating how we can better serve valued guests like you, and in identifying those areas where additional efforts should be directed.

I take note very well on your comments. You have made very valid points and these will be training points for us to help us improve.

We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul.

Yours sincerely,



Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews