We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Hotel in a Superb City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Ranked #63 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Superb Hotel in a Superb City”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in this fantastic hotel for five nights in April. From the moment we arrived (and were checked in, in our room!) until we left, it was a total bliss. The genuine, warm and efficient Turkish hospitality was prevalent at all times. There are not enough positive adjectives to praise the staff and the management.
The hotel is located in a fine place, after a ten-minute walk one can get on the funicular (funikular, in Turkish) for a short ride to Taksim square and the beginning of the always crowded heart of Istanbul--the Istiklal Caddesi (old Rue de Pera.)
When staying there, reserve a room with a balcony facing the Bosphorus. The extra cost is well
worth it and will make your stay even more memorable. As it did for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Rami Y;

Thank you for your kind and gracious comment.

It is wonderful to receive such feedback and thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments. We strive to deliver genuine hospitality from the heart and we are so please to hear our staff was able to provide you great overall service.

I will share this with the everyone, they will for sure be humbled by your comments. We look forward welcoming you back at the hotel.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    107
    27
    19
    9
See reviews for
167
248
28
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yokneam Moshava, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Istanbul. Staying in Shangri La was absolutly amazing! We had an outstanding service in the hotel, breakfast and dinner were very very good, We had a fabulous experience!



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Tal Zohara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Tal Zohara L;

Thank you so much for your nice review.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at our home. We strive to deliver excellent service to each and everyone one of our guests and we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul again.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A beautiful luxury hotel. A real 5 star hotel, there's no doubt about that. But clearly not perfect yet.
Housekeeping for instance was really not up to par. An example? They are supposed to fold the little hand towels you find next to the washing basin in the bathroom, just like in every deluxe hotel. They just laid them there flatly, on top of each other as if in a hurry.
The room had a distinctly unpleasant smell. I think the bath hadn't been used for a while, because after running some water through it the smell diminished. Shouldn't housekeeping notice this when preparing the room and take care of it?
The hotel offers a complimentary shoeshine service. In the morning my shoes had not been returned and I had to call the service center to get them back. This after 8 AM and not at an especially early time.
Service during dinner in the 'IST Too' restaurant was far from perfect. It was very friendly, but they were understaffed and it was hard to get the attention of a waiter.
At check-out the young lady executing my payment by credit card had trouble doing it. She clearly wasn't used to doing this (with a normal American Express card they had received on file upon our reservation). It took her quite long and she didn't really apologize for this.
We have stayed in the Paris Shangri La at the end of January and that hotel is of a much higher service level. It's as if the staff isn't sufficiently trained yet. The premises are great and the hotel has the potential to be truly excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear MarcDW;

Thank you very much for taking time in writing the review for Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

I understand how disappointed you are since some of our other hotel services did not meet your expectations. It is disheartening to know that your experience with us was less than favourable. Your comments are very valuable for us in evaluating ourselves and identifying the areas where we may improve and will definitely be shared with Management Team.

Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of our team for the inconvenience you endured, and assure you that this situation is not indicative of the standards we want to be known for, or strive to provide.

I hope you may allow us welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

the staff were very helpful and attentive made us feel welcomed.

location is very good and nearby many attractions, metro and ferries station.

definitely will go back again.

rooms were very spacious..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0ntribut0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear c0ntribut0r;

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our team and planing to come back again.

It will be our great pleasure to host you again at Shangri-La Bosphorus istanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Neat, Clean, Plush, Classy and extremely well presented.
Great food, fantastic location and makes you feel at home.
The Asian hospitality stands out.
It was a pleasure staying at the Shangri-La Bosphorus.

Room Tip: Bosphorus View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samit-Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Samit-Garg;

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great overall stay at Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service and we are pleased to hear that you felt like home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed 4 days in Shangri-La last week, it was the best Hotel I have ever tried.
Checking-in was so smooth, they were waiting for us and checked us in with their tablet device in the room instead of standing in front of the reception desk, first time to see such usage of technology in hotel business.
It was my wife’s birthday and I requested the hotel management for some arrangement for the occasion, they made a wonderful arrangement (Cake, Balloons, Turkish delights, candles, .. etc). They did an amazing job with the decoration and we celebrated the occasion on best Bosphorus view you can have in Istanbul.
I am really grateful to the hotel General Manager Mr. Vito and his team for the wonderful arrangement.
I tried both of the hotel’s restaurant and in-room dining and it was really nice experience.
The concierge team really care and spare no efforts into helping you to plan your day in Istanbul. Thank you Bahar for all your help.
Location is perfect and close to major attractions of Istanbul.
You will never regret trying this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yousef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Yousef A;

It was our great pleasure to host at our home.

Thank you for your nice words and I am so glad to hear that we could provide a memorable stay with us.

I will be more than happy to see you back at Shangri-La Bosphorus at you next visit to İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Perfect for tourism, to visit the town in a comfrotable site, well located to reach the main parts of the town, but in a very calm location. Excellent breakfast and pool. All the personnel were very kind and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank 5reb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear 5reb;

Thank you for your time and valuable comments.

It will be our very great pleasure to host you again at our home.

Yours sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,156 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#68 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,322 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#60 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,112 reviews
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#257 of 1,156 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Property: Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Address: Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul is located between the Dolmabahce Palace and the Maritime Museum on the European coast of the Bosphorus Strait - the 30-kilometre stretch of water separating Europe and Asia. Set within the Besiktas district, Istanbul's main shopping and transport hub, the hotel is close to the city's financial district and the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Centre. The hotel comprises 186 spacious guestrooms including 17 expansive suites, some of the largest rooms in Istanbul city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing