We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel on the Bosphorus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Ranked #69 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Hotel on the Bosphorus”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

5 Star hotel with all the trappings expected of a Shangri La hotel .
The service , cleanliness and location make it hard to beat , but expect to pay its not cheap .
The staff were professional , and friendly , be aware of the hairdressers the local style doesnt suit everyone and they made my wife's hair look like an ice cream in a cone . ha
They make you pay for everything in advance which is strange for this group plus using AMEX so I can only guess many people don't pay their bills in this country.

Great views and a good stay id say 9/10 .

Room Tip: Bosphorus views but you pay up....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TConway;

Firstly, thank you very much for taking time in writing the review for the Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our hairdresser and my team regarding the confusion of payment. Your comments are very valuable for us in evaluating ourselves and identifying the areas where we may improve and will definitely be shared with Management Team.

We hope to welcome you back at Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    106
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
162
245
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived to stop service from the moment we stepped out of the Taxi from the Airport. What a wonderful 5 day start to our trip, Hotel is truly special, the staff so friendly and helpful and our room delightful over looking the Bosphorus.
The Breakfast has to be the best ! Fantastic start to each days adventure.
The staff in the Restaurants were all Professional, happy and helpful but Mr. Ergun Metir was a standout .
Thankyou for a very memorable stay. Therese Rudy Wildschut John and Pam Farragher

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear TMWAustralia;

Thank you for your kind and gracious comment.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast experience and your accommodation. We strive to deliver genuine hospitality from the heart and we are so pleased to hear that our staff was able to provide you great service.

I will make sure to pass your kind words on to Metin whom will be grateful and elated by your good comments about him.

It will be our great pleasure welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had an amazing time at this wonderful hotel! Great rooms, beautiful style and comfortable bed. Room service is fast. I really enjoyed the bathroom with TV and some spa treat.
The location is great, you can walk around and enjoy Istanbul sea front

Room Tip: Take the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kseniia K;

Firstly, thank you very much for taking time in writing the review for the Shangri-La Hotel.

We are glad that we were able to provide excellent service for you during your stay.

We look forward welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had looked so forward to experience this magical hotel brand only to be denied access for over an hour due to celebrity wedding taking place. As the prime minister was also attending, the whole area was locked down by security men. As it was a pre Seabourn cruise overnight stay we only had limited time in which to take tour of Istanbul which we had to cancel due to delayed checkin. When we eventually were able to checkin there was no apology. The room and bathroom were magnificent. Infact the best we have ever experienced with views over Bosphorus. As we were so tired we opted to eat in first restaurant we found which was chinese cuisine. It was ok nothing special.The bar/lounge was typical of your corporate hotel and could have been anywhere in the world. Sadly there was no outside seating area which was a missed opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask if they are expecting any VIP during your visit. In which case go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear alisonhertford;

Thank you very much for taking time in writing the review for Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you endured due to the wedding and security of protocol. On the brighter side, I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your accomodation.

I hope you may allow us welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul to cherish you our unique Asian hospitality.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

nice decoration,nice large room,nice wiev but poor for special occasions like bithday celebration. there are lots of hotels in bospours which has same ot better wiev so there sould be better reasons to come back,a nice birthday celebration even ı personally asked for my husband could not able to manage so no need to go back we could not have the feeling even ı though we will have a nice surprise for my husband

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Handeozsevinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Handeozsevinc;

Firstly, thank you very much for taking time in writing the review.

I am glad to hear that you liked your room. On the other hand it is disheartening to know that your experience with us was less than favourable. Your comments are very valuable for us in evaluating ourselves and identifying the areas where we may improve and will definitely be shared with Management Team.

I hope you may allow us welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely,

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A superb hotel from a business point of view. Good facilities such as fast wi-fi, well equipped gym, and quick access to ferries made the business aspect that much better.Make sure you have a map if you take a taxi from the airport, as drivers were unaware of the hotel or it's position, even though it centrally located and only 30 minutes from the airport.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Mark S;

Thank you for your time of reviewing us.

It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Shangri-La Bosphorus İstanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Shangri-La Istanbul is really a Shangi-La, a tranquil oasis in a bustling city. It is truly luxurious

Pros:
- Huge spaces, beautiful, if somewhat opulent design, everything is superbly crafted and feels exclusive and expensive
- At the same time, the hotel is comfortable and well designed, the rooms, the lifts, the corporate event rooms are all within easy reach and flawlessly set up.
- The swimming pool is just excellent, large and comfortable
- The location is also OK, great views of the Bosphorus, next to ferry terminal. Of course, very few things are walking distance, but this is Itsanbul :-)
- The service is just absolutely amazing, Western efficiency combined with Eastern friendliness and yet flawlessly professional
- The rooms are superb, comfortable and huge

Cons:
- The food is surprisingly bland and distinctly underspiced

Overall, truly luxurious yet practical, but with a huge price tag - for the target segment which is not looking at prices, it is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VitoRomeo, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Miki D;

Firstly, thank you very much for taking time in writing the review for the Shangri-La Hotel.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Your comments are very valuable for us in evaluating ourselves and identifying the areas where we may improve and will definitely be shared with Management Team.

We look forward welcoming you back at your next trip to istanbul.

Yours Sincerely;

Vito Romeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,150 in Istanbul
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#66 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,305 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#61 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,104 reviews
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#256 of 1,150 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Property: Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Address: Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul is located between the Dolmabahce Palace and the Maritime Museum on the European coast of the Bosphorus Strait - the 30-kilometre stretch of water separating Europe and Asia. Set within the Besiktas district, Istanbul's main shopping and transport hub, the hotel is close to the city's financial district and the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Centre. The hotel comprises 186 spacious guestrooms including 17 expansive suites, some of the largest rooms in Istanbul city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing