We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancelot Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #512 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great staff”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had an amazing time in Istanbul, and Lancelot Hotel was an essential part of the trip. The rooms were basic but clean, bright and cheerful. The location was superb - close to amazing restaurants, the Marmara and the tourist center (Sultanahmet, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, etc.) however far enough away that I felt I got a decent exposure to the life of a local. Thank you to Fatih and everyone at Lancelot - I will definitely be back.

You can check out my post about my time in Istanbul and at Lancelot for more information: http://highsocietyhobo.com/2014/07/11/istanbul-not-constantinople/

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank high_society_hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is not a hotel but an ill equipped old Appartment building. It is part of the property owned by Luna Aparts Istanbul.

I'm not a demanding person and require only a clean place that's quiet, however this is located on a busy restaurant strip with drums and singing going well from dinner time into early next morning on a week day.

Room: no air conditioning, no proper sheets, no furniture to put anything on or even a hanger. The fridge doesn't work.

Summary: the staff were very friendly but I have stayed in better hostels as a student for a fraction of the price. Had to change hotels after one sleepless night, and did not get the rest of my 2 nights deposit back. I have learned my lesson and will verify with tripadvisor in the future

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ihearttango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 days in Istanbul. We felt at home with the hotel owner. It is the first hotel in Istanbul where we found clean. The staff is friendly. We look forward to the next holiday in Istanbul, certainly we will not stay at another hotel than Lancelot!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Orhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the problem that it is not the hotel, you are not going to see any sign that this is the hotel but only cafe. So i would say this are the appartments and that is just not fair to look for hotel to be and end up in something like this!
It is across the police station in which are the prisinors :/ so it is not very nice.
Enterior is ok but it stinks inside (toilet) and the walls are also bit dirty in the room since the room is smaaaal you can't miss the wall when walking. The blankets are terrible!
The stairs are as you can see in the pictures broken and you have to climb, i supose this is on purpos because they don't register the guests at all and this way they are able to close the upper part with the rooms. They asked us to tell the inspection we are just the cafe guests and not living there!
And at the end the location is not bad if u want to walk uphill thru not very nice street...
The hospitality of the guys working there is very good but all in one i would't return to this place and would't recomment it to anyone!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Don't be afraid by the lack of reviews on this hotel as it is only 5 months old! As such all the facilities are brand new and everything is in tip top condition. The place was very clean and the owners super lovely bending over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. The breakfast included was great. Turkish style, but also juice, cereals, jams for those who want something more western. Located right next to the fish restaurants, my first impression of Istanbul couldn't have been better. So vibrant and colourful. Less than a ten minute walk up one road to get to the Grand Bazaar/ main tram line. And from there everything is a short walk away. We even walked back from Taksim, took a little while but still do-able. Overall, give this place a go and I'm sure you won't regret it :)

Room Tip: There is a little bit of noise from the restaurants downstairs but nothing that would disturb a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erana191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#897 of 1,149 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Tayhan Hotel
#996 of 1,149 in Istanbul
75 reviews
The Hotel Ottoman City
#862 of 1,149 in Istanbul
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amber Hotel
#90 of 1,149 in Istanbul
644 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#625 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Historial Hotel
#619 of 1,051 in Istanbul
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancelot Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancelot Hotel Istanbul

Property: Lancelot Hotel Istanbul
Address: Muhsine Hatun Mh. Buyuk Komurcu Sk. No:15 Kumkapi Fatih, Istanbul 34000, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #512 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Lancelot Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing