We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but bring earplugs”
Review of Yazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yazar Hotel
Ranked #357 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Nice hotel, but bring earplugs”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice hotel, staff are all very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Breakfast was okay, no complaints. Very close to all the sites in the old town, we walked everywhere. Even though the hotel was a bit off the main street, we felt safe walking back to the hotel even late at night. Only bad thing was that there is no soundproofing. We were on the 3rd floor and could hear everything going on in the lobby, hallway, stairs, the next room, outside...Additionally, the elevator shaft was in the middle of our room (literally, it was between our room and our bathroom), which of course added to the noise. So, if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HSeR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    102
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
83
87
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great hotel, extremely nice staff, thank you masoud! They helped me with directions and taxi, everything was great. This hotel won't diappoint you! I arrived early and they let me have an early check and breakfast for that day. Location was close to all the sights. Nice TV and internet too. Great breakfast! I also met the owner he was very nice and professional. I will bring my family next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been there from 24th till 29th of march,
We have been very well welcomed, Yazar Hotel's teem is always helping when needeed
its cleen & new.
good localisation to visit Istabul
Borek for breekfast are excellent!

Room Tip: chambre dans étages recommandées, coté cours plus silencieuse
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurelie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Our room in Yazar was white and blue, clean and sweet.
This is a convenient location, easy to access many places.
It is quiet at night but we found it quite safe so it wouldn't be a big issue.
The reason of us feeling like being at home, it's not only the sweet and homely design but also the helpful manager and friendly staff. We were scammed by taxi driver and manager helped us a lot on this matter. Special thanks to him for making us feel secure and safe in an unfamiliar country.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wannjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Yazar hotel is a very solid budget choice for an Istanbul hotel near Sultahnamet. We would definitely stay there again.

Positives: very well located near key tourist sites and the tram line, but on a quieter side street; a very friendly and welcoming staff; a fun mix of people (during our stay we were the only Americans there); good breakfast buffet; clean and spacious rooms.

Negatives: as others have mentioned, the layout of the hotel around a central staircase means that all sounds echo and it's difficult to sleep in the morning once people start moving around; the evening staff were very nice but not overly knowledgeable about issues such as the water being turned off, restaurants in the area, etc.; none of the taxi drivers we used could find the location of the hotel; the area around the hotel was pretty marginal for restaurants and places to go in the evening.

Overall, if you're looking for an amenity-rich hotel catering to English speakers, this is not for you. If you want a clean, comfortable base of operations for sight-seeing, then this will work great. We definitely enjoyed it.

Some tips:
-in a taxi, tell them to either go to the Sirkeci tram stop (about 3 blocks from the hotel) or tell them to call the hotel.
-bring earplugs if you want to sleep in.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for the penthouse. It's all the way at the top of the staircase, has low ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yazar H, General Manager at Yazar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ian,

We like to thank you very much for your effort sharing your review with us here on tripadvisor.

Our guest review gives us power and shows us how give the best service in the future. Ian, holesale textile shops around us has got only permission to load and drop off their stuff evening 18:00 oclock and morning 10:00 oclock, thats the way we cant do anything for the voice which has disturb you in the morning, we are very sorry for it.

Thank you sharing your opinion about the taxi driver, non of them cant find the hotels in our are, first of all to earn more money and as second they dont use any map or GPS. But the taxi which you can get from the hotel are problem free, because we know each other since years.
My recommendation will be to giving our hotel telephone to call us to let them know the way in easy way. But most of them are telling that they understand it, but most of them they dont understand it even we tell them the correct and easy reaching way.

We offer a private transfer for our guest for their confort pick up from the airport and also on the back way, its the best. Second way is public tranportation, we are sendeing all kind of map and information to reach the hotel best way.

We hope to see you as soon as posibble here at Yazar Hotel Istanbul, it was a great pleasure to host you.


In Behalf of Yazar Hotel Team

Engin EZGIN
GM Of Yazar
Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked a 4 night break here as we knew the location was near where we wanted to be. We found a good deal - 4 nights for the price of 3 - and booked after reading the tripadvisor reviews of which the majority are good and excellent. Upon check-in we were allocated a deluxe room not 'the penthouse' we had booked. I use that term loosely. We told them about their mistake and they offered to show us the room. Ceilings were very low, the bathroom is in the room and it was dark. In hindsight, we should have taken it as being on the 5th floor it probably would have been quieter than our room on the first floor. The room is very clean and decorated in a modern style. The curtains, being flimsy things, block out no light wether day or night. You certainly do not need to use the lights in the room!! Black out curtains should be the norm.
The design of the hotel, in that it is all open around a central spiral staircase, means you hear EVERY noise, from somebody using the toilet in the room above us, to every door closing, to every footstep and voice. For the first 2 nights sleep was lacking. The street is just as noisy too. I even had to ring to reception - I heard the phone ringing outside the room - to tell them to tell some people who returned late to be quiet. You hear them setting up breakfast and all the glasses and plates chinking away. We gave up and considered checking out and checking in somewhere else - the Neorion where we stayed last time - but then thought better and went to purchase earplugs. Which then gave us a good nights sleep.
We would not stay here again because of the noise - a constant swimming pool echo - if you do choose this hotel bring your eyepatches AND earplugs. Better still, the hotel should be providing them...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingstarsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

close to everything food, historical places, trum, train station in istanbul
nice people and helpful staff
delicious breakfast
clean and tidy
they have a good offers
there is nothing musch to say but i wud definetly stay there next time i visit Istanbul :)

Room Tip: i didnt check the fitness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dasoqi_su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#646 of 1,156 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#537 of 1,156 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Beyoglu
Hilton Garden Inn Istanbul Golden Horn Turkey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#150 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#476 of 1,156 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yazar Hotel

Property: Yazar Hotel
Address: Hobyar Mah. Cemal Nadir Sok. N 14 Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing