We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we visit Istanbul again,then we choose retropera again”
Review of Retropera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Retropera Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,063 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Vienna
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If we visit Istanbul again,then we choose retropera again”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Everybody was friendly and helpful.The rooms are fashionable,clean and big enough for a city trip.the breakfast is delicious and the view from there is amazing. The location is absolutely perfect for sightseeing,shopping and dinner. visit this hotel!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank supermaus025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    40
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
86
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

So we finally got to Istanbul after 2hrs in passport control (e-visas supposedly made it easier!!) & we were greeted by the owners who were expecting us we had such a warm welcome it almost made me forget about those two wasted hours, The hotel itself is beautifully decorated to a high boutique standard and the room we had was on the 3rd floor with enough room for luggage and hanging space for a couples clothes its worth mentioning the massive shower that was a welcome sight, Breakfast was a buffet style with the option of omelets, All of the staff were very freindly and happy to help with any questions or recommendations, On the whole I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the retropera and would recommend and revisit if I was in the area again and my only negative would be it could be a little noisy on a morning with moving chairs on in the breakfast room but im an early riser so it didn't effect me. THANKS FROM ANDY AND STEPHEN

Helpful?
Thank andybuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room we stayed in was charming with a very good view. Breakfast was good as well. But what really got to us was the customer service. The all team was truly amazing. Believe the hype and stay there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandB677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We've just spent three nights at Retropera where, from the moment we arrived, we have been treated so well, with such kindness, by the hotel owners/managers/staff. Their advice on places to see, things to do and where to eat was very helpful too. I have only extremely positive things to say about our stay at Retropera. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_fr0m_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I travelled to Istanbul for the first time and stayed at Retropera in September 2013.
I arrived at Istanbul airport at around 5:30am and took taxi to Retropera Hotel, I showed the address and telephone number to the taxi drivers from booking.com , I confirmed with the taxi driver if he knows where to go, I've responsed by "Okay Okay", he typed in the address on GPS but can't find it, then the taxi keep travel around the area and I asked him to call the hotel but going to voice mail...eventually I dropped off and switched to another taxi and arrived at the hotel.
Then I talked to the staff and just realised they post the mobile phone number of one of the owner to booking.com but he turned it OFF...I hope they update their contact and ensure the phone number are 24x7 ready to answer as a contact point of the hotel.
The hotel, or the logding itself is ok, room is spacious and clean, location is easy for first timer, just 5mins walk to Istanbul landmark Taksim Square.
The breakfast is self-served at the root-top where you got the view of the city, the food quality is so-so I think it's standard serving at the same range of the hotel.
The hotel ran by a few 'friends', one of them are very helpful but the other not, really depends on who you deal with.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlescyhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My fiancé and I where staying in Istanbul for a weekend. The hotel is perfectly located near Taksim Square. We felt very welcome in the hotel and everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and nice! Since it was my fiancés birthday, he even received a present. :-) If you are searching for a familiar, nice, perfectly located and clean place to stay, this hotel is perfect for you. From Taksim Square you can easily walk to the Galata Tower and the shopping/bar street is very close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The best part is its location itself, located in the taksim area and having all the major areas close by. The rooms were modern, spacious and good ones and I had stayed at the place with my friends and found this absolutely delightful. The staff are friendly and are bang on with their knowledge about the tourist place and the view along with the breakfast buffet was another feather in the cap.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roberto z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#134 of 1,154 in Istanbul
640 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#351 of 1,154 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Beyoglu
Borancik Suites
Borancik Suites
#38 of 1,063 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
ottopera Hotel
ottopera Hotel
#6 of 1,063 in Istanbul
330 reviews
Beyoglu
Santa Lucia Hotel
Santa Lucia Hotel
#90 of 1,221 in Istanbul
65 reviews
Beyoglu
Corner Living Space Istanbul
Corner Living Space Istanbul
#31 of 1,063 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retropera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retropera Hotel

Property: Retropera Hotel
Address: Kocatepe Mah. Feridiye Cad. No. 92, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,063 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Retropera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retropera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing