We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Cheers Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheers Lighthouse
Ranked #5 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am often in Istanbul and on my last few trips I have stayed here. It is comfortable and clean and in a great location. It has a number of different room options, i love the private one at the top with a large balcony overlooking the Marmara. You feel welcomed and any information you need is available through talking with the staff who have excellent english. They will help you plan your days and explain the best things to see and do and how to do them. On your return from your explorations of Istanbul they enjoy sitting with you in the attached restaurant and hearing about your day. It is great that it has one of the best restaurants in the same location - you can enjoy a beer or coffee as well as wonderful food right where you are staying. Highly recommend this place and will be going back myself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicimck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Cheers Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

My first time traveling solo was to Turkey, and on the advice of a friend I looked for hostels to stay in.

Cheers Lighthouse was at the top of my list due to the reviews on Tripadvisor, and I don't think I could have made a better choice. The place felt like a home - the hostel is small, with relatively few rooms, and has an excellent restaurant where you're welcome to chill and bring your laptop, which means you'll have opportunities to get to know the people you're staying with. Turkey is the most foreign country I've ever been to, and the staff and other travelers made the place really feel like a family.

The Cheers Lighthouse is the sister property of the Cheers Hostel, which is located a tad more centrally near the Sultanahmet tram station, which attracts a somewhat younger and more party-oriented clientele due to the larger number of dorm rooms and the rooftop bar. The Lighthouse is heavier on private rooms and less emphasis on dorms and has no bar (although a very good restaurant is on the main floor).

I stayed 3 nights in a private room because I don't tend to sleep well in dorms (light sleeper). It was winter and below freezing in Istanbul but I felt warm - they don't skimp on the heat. The sea view was amazing. Each morning I'd wake up to the sight of ships leaving the Bosporus. There's no soap, shampoo or bottled water in the room, so pick up these from the convenience store around the corner. The room was as clean as any hotel room, and I felt quite comfortable.

One hiccup I encountered - there was no water for one of the nights I stayed. Apparently, the water and/or electricity in Istanbul can go out overnight, and according to the staff it happens a few times a year.

The location was good, but the most optimal location in Istanbul from a tourist's point of view might be further north, at the Sultanahmet tram station (where the Cheers Hostel is located). Then again, the Cheers Lighthouse is only about a 10 minute walk away from there, and offers an amazing view of the sea from every floor (provided you're facing the rear). The immediate area is very safe and quiet, with many restaurants, small shops and hotels that cater to tourists. Print out a good map when you go, because the first couple times finding the hostel might be a struggle, but once you know your way, it'll feel intuitive.

If you're wondering where to stay in general between Sultanahmet and Beyoglu, here's the lowdown: Sultanahmet is great if you want to see the touristy sights because 8/10 of Istanbul's greatest attractions are there. Beyoglu is great if you want a more genuine, less touristy experience, although getting to the attractions is less convenient due to the distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Top floor (penthouse suite) can be colder in the winter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank optopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Clean, cheap, great location, friendly staff, the restaurant in the hostel is excellent... Clean... Clean... Clean! Nothing else to say! If I come back in Istanbul I will definitely go back there. I've never seen an hostel that clean... You'll feel like home.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domdomharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What I really loved about staying here was the size, design and mix of people. There are both dorm rooms and private rooms which attract a more diverse range of people than the usual hostel or hotel. It's also located near all the historical attractions of Sultanhamet, but is on a quieter side street.

The smaller size of the hostel gave it a great social atmosphere. Everyone actually got to know each other pretty well during the short visit. There is also access to the other Cheers hostel, which has more of a party vibe to it. It was great to go hang out there for a little while but sleep at the lighthouse, which is calmer and quieter.

The dorms had large comfortable mattresses, a mix of modern bunk beds and single beds, along with an ensuite bathroom. The room was colorful with great lighting purchased from the bazaar. The lockers are large enough for your luggage and come with a lock. My only suggestion would be more outlets. I could see this being a problem if the room was full.

The staff really stood out to me. They were all really friendly and offered great recommendations about what to see and do in Turkey.

Oh, I also really liked the breakfast. Rather than a buffet, they bring you a plate with common Turkish breakfast foods (eggs, olives, tomato, cucumber, fruit) and either coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh127828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Everything about this hostel was great: the location, the staff and it was very clean. It was my second time in Istanbul and the fisrt time I stayed at Cheers Hostel and it was great. I wanted to try the other branch of the Cheers Family and excepted the same quality. I was not disappointed!! Thank you again for the beautiful stay. Merci infiniment!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is by far one of the best hostels i have ever stayed at! The rooms are unbelievably comfortable, spacious, clean and cosy for a hostel, and this place is even better than many hotels I have ever stayed at! With breakfast included, extremely helpful and friendly staff always on call, this place is undoubtedly the place to stay in Istanbul! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed in Cheers Lighthouse hostel for three nights. The hostel has a great center location, only few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque. It was a very pleasant stay for us, the room was clean and comfortable with a sea view. Not to mention the extremely friendly and helpful team, which is running the hostel. It was a great choice and we would come back to the same place whenever we are back in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FnM_Bella_Vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,050 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,765 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,468 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,236 in Istanbul
916 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,236 in Istanbul
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheers Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheers Lighthouse

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cayiroglu Sok. No:18 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,236 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £8 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Cheers Lighthouse, the outcast of the Bohemian Cheers Hostel family. Lighthouse is for the more luxurious backpacker. Complete with ocean views and situated above a restaurant, Lighthouse has all the comforts for a relaxing stay but with the Cheers infamous friendly relaxed atmosphere.Our hostel offers a comfortable, clean and budget stay in a warm and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cheers Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing