We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Suites
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Istanbul Golden City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Avcilar(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$1,291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
35
6
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
6
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaxi drivertaxim squareby footold townwalking distancesultanfurnituretowelstouristdistricttramlocation
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed three nights for a weekend getaway. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given a choice between available rooms. Rooms were very nice, and spotlessly clean. Property is located very close to Istiklal, so a very good location as regards the restaurants, shops and nightlife of Beyoglu. Major sights are also within walking distance, or if you prefer by public transport (funicular from Taksim and then tram).

We didn’t find the neighborhood a concern. There are two ways to walk up to Taksim, a 3 min walk. One of them is poorly lit and characterized by the properties being bought up for the area to be developed. But the alternative route is hardly longer, brightly lit and has a local neighborhood feel to it. We’d do either and felt quite safe all along. being a bit off the main street also meant the place was very quiet.

My only tip would be that if you arrive by foot the first time, have a good map. We came by taxi and the driver struggled to find the address. Once we knew where it was we had no issues though.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms higher up and you won't hear other guests on the stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Halvard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Rooms are as beautiful as they look like in the pics but the area is horrible. Walked there during the day and was afraid of getting stabbed. It's a ghetto. Dodgy people walking around made me feel really unsafe. Owner told us that nothing ever happens there but I would not want to walk there during the night. Scaffolding everywhere and very quiet apart from the dodgy people. Owner told us that they were renewing the area in order to be more like Sultanahmet area, well, that's also an area I would not go voluntarily. But still not as bad as the area of this hotel.
We looked for another hotel in Pera area and were happy to stay in a safe area. (Pera Rose Hotel) Of course anything can happen in any place but you don't have to look for trouble do you?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank plieni1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at White Swan Suites during our Istanbul trip with our foreign friends after our wedding. As it was the first trip after the wedding, the owner, Sultan, treated us as the honeymoon couple and we found nice small surprises in our room :) As we were a big group we booked all rooms in the building and we were very happy with everything. The decor of the building and rooms are amazing! You can find small touches in every corner thanks to the lovely owner! It's very central and very convenient in terms of location.

Just when you're going to the place, it might be a bit tricky for some of the drivers to find the location. It'd be good to keep the telephone number handy and ask the taxi driver to talk with the reception in case he gets lost.

This area is developing at the moment and hence some of the streets may seem dodgy at first look but we didn't have any issues at all. When the area improves and becomes trendy, it'd be super expensive and difficult to afford! So stay here while you can ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burcu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here in early November 2013. Sultan, the owner was amazing. Location of the hotel is great - a short walk from Taksim Square, taxi rank, metro and the main street Istiklal. Don't let the street where the hotel is located put you off, it's actually rather nice to see the real side of Istanbul and I'm sure soon when it's all developed you will kick yourself that you didn't stay there before. Perfect hotel to stay in as you are central and staff hotel are so friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Location great (though undergoing gentrification & should be visited soon before all the locals are bought out & a second Sultanahmet will emerge here)... Rooms are super nice and clean, even though without breakfast. Small kitchen that allows to prepare tea & lots of different breakfast places just 5 min walk on and around Istiklal Street. Staff is very helpful & know the city very well, give good tips & even explain u the neighbourhood.... They speak English and German. Will definitely come back! Thanks Sultana!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews