We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of Legend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legend Hotel
Ranked #465 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had our concerns about using this hotel so I called and emailed the Reservations manager several times prior to our departure to ensure everything was in place as our flight would arrive at 2am and we have 4 young children. We had arranged two rooms next to each other. When we arrived at the hotel at 3am we were told they only had one room and the 'other party' (our children's room) could be in another hotel! After some arguing our case they arranged two rooms in another hotel on different floors and the rooms were tiny! On the second night of our 7 night trip we got back to our promised rooms Legend. The manager with whom I had spoken and emailed was away on holiday and the one very slim manager with bad teeth was quite arrogant. Had we not already paid in advance for the trip I would have moved hotels. There are many hotels in this area (hippodrome) which is a good location for all the main sites of blue mosque, hagia Sofia, bazaar and tram stops. Area is good, but avoid this hotel if you want a hassle free trip as the owner and some managers are not pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Safder N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    95
    29
    23
    18
See reviews for
58
83
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

A couple and three friends stayed recently and really enjoyed our stay.

The location of the hotel is great, we walked everywhere (even to other side of the bridge) during the days no problems. Close to the markets and mosque.

The three friends were lucky enough to stay in room on third floor right around the corner with an amazing view! Couples room was on same floor, still nice but no view like ours!

Overall would definitely recommend this stay as its great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skones245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The best thing about the Hotel was how close it was to the Blue Mosque and the other monuments.
The breakfast was ok, and you would have to get to breakfast before 9am to get the full choice.

My friend & I had a twin room which was on the small side but it still had a chest of drawers and cupboard, however the beds were very comfortable. On 2 occassions the water was not hot in the shower. I called reception numerous times to fix it and the first occassion, I gave u and just had a warmish shower. The 2nd time they did finally fix the problem.

There are some nice views from the open rood top terrace.

As I said, when you come out of the main doors of the hotel and turn right, you have the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palce and Hagia Sophia a short walk away. Turn left and the Grand bazzar is a short walk away.

It is a 3 star and you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a reasonable hotel that could be much better with a bit of effort. We asked a number of weeks prior to our arrival for a specific room which we were told had a great view. On arrival we were disappointed to be told that the room had been alocated to another gues- the email had been received but there had been a mistake. To be fair the hotel compensated us for the error , but we never got the view. While a see view are nice, the hotel has a superb terrace with some great views .. the place to sip your end of day drink .The check-in is efficient, breakfast is good, rooms are ok , and the hotel can help you with tours and the like. The wifi worked very well. A few restuarants in the neighbourhood offer great food at good prices. A good supermarket is located opposite the hotel .. a good place to go and compare prices. What really speaks for this hotel is its location and it is a few minutes from all the instanbul tourist attractions. The hotel just needs to focus on its reservation system and ensure that promises are kept.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

This is fourth time i stayed at Legend hotel. Great location and close to the popular place. :) This hotel very quite safe and clean. All worker very friendly. Especially HAKAN. He is very polite, helpful and friendly. I want to recommend to everybody who want to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te_deum14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

What this hotel lacks in luxury is more than made up by its staff friendliness and great location. We stayed there for 4 nights in a room on the 3rd floor with a marvelous view of the Sea of Marmara. The room was adequate, beds are comfortable, bathroom plumbing works well and cleaned and serviced daily. It had a room safe, a mini bar but they do not provide coffee making facility in the room which would have been a great help. The room has a balcony which one could go out to enjoy the view. Breakfast is served daily on the 4th floor but one drawback is that it serves the same fare daily, which can be a bore after a few days. But one can have breakfast on the rooftop terrace with a panoramic view of the sea. The staff were a friendly lot and will assist for anything you might want. We were given advise on the various sights, tours, and even the ground arrangements. Location wise, the hotels is a great place, close to all the major tourist sites, restaurants and public transport. The wifi is free and signals are strong. If you are interested in a hotel to explore the old city, then this hotel is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have just had 7 day holiday at The Legend Hotel Istanbul, the location is fantastic central to everything,( in the Old City). Breakfast on the Terrace (open air) magnificent views, or one level below wonderful views from glassed in breakfast room, or tea in the Garden Terrace. Able to walk to everything. We had a wonderful time with amazing staff at the hotel. Hakan went above and beyond, he gave us great advise, some excellent tips on best way to get around, best things to see and do. All staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Ahmet was also great, made us apple tea and looked after us. Loved our time there and have already recommended travellers to this hotel of which one. has now booked in. Thank you again we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room we stayed in was fairly small but was comfortable, everything that you need, location fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#68 of 1,141 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Sultanahmet
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#264 of 1,141 in Istanbul
291 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Mina
Hotel Mina
#316 of 1,141 in Istanbul
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#477 of 1,141 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,954 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Hotel

Property: Legend Hotel
Address: Peykhane Caddesi No 16 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#197 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Legend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legend Hotel is located on the old city center of Istanbul hearth of Sultanahmet area ,Blue Mosque,Santa Sophia is only 100 meters walking distance from our hotel,Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace is 5 minutes by walking al the highlights are few minutes also public transportasion is just 2 minutes by walking available(bus,tram) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing