We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Hotel Black Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Black Tulip
Ranked #243 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I sifted through a lot of reviews to pick a hotel for our three night stay in Istanbul. Somewhat last minute, I stumbled upon the Black Tulip, and I am glad that I did. It is a fantastic value. The hotel is brand new with fresh rooms and bathrooms. Service was very good, and breakfast had a nice spread. Hotel is perfectly located right on a tram stop that connects all of the sights in the old city. We initially were given a room in the back of the hotel, but due to construction noise at a nearby building, we asked to be moved, and got a room in the front. At first I was a little worried about street/tram noise, but with the double glazed windows and the A/C running, I wasn't bothered by noise at all. One thing to be prepared for--the rooms are REALLY TINY. But considering what we paid, I was able to over look this. I do not think you could get a nicer hotel for the price in the old city. Highly recommend for those who are budget-conscious but want to stay in a nice place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    71
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
40
86
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My trip in Istanbul was great ... this hotel is perfect when you have to stop by Istanbul.
It's a little and cosy hotel with all confort ! my room was a little bit small but enough for the time I've stayed there.
The service is perfect, everybody was very kind!
The location is perfect for turism because it's in the middle of the odl city, where there is all the famous historic places of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms with view on the street because of the tramway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is not a hotel to spend much time in but it is good value for money. The location is great, although it is a pretty steep hill up to the Blue Mosque so not for the faint hearted! The breakfast is good, the rooms are newly decorate and comfortable. We had a shower rather than a bath but it was still lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missmairw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Black Tulip offers the service you should expect from a five star hotel but don't always receive. They allowed our early check-in and provided beverages while we waited 10 minutes for room preparation. They routinely raced to push the elevator button for us. Every staff member offered exceptional service to our every whim. We were particularly impressed when they noticed our arguing with our taxi driver who did not return the proper change. They left the hotel and made him properly resolve this issue.
The hotel location could not be more convenient to nearby sights and some of the best restaurants (Imbat and Matbar), all reached with a short walk. The rapid transit stop is just a few feet away.
The decor is modern and aesthetically pleasing. Some rooms are a little larger than others and provide ample space and storage (but are a bit smaller than a standard US motel room). Breakfast is very good with a wide variety of food. Much of the food was unfamiliar to me but everything tasted very good.
There were no negatives. The Black Tulip is an incredible value and should not be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms 402 and 302 are a bit larger and face the front street. They are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After a rocky start (a mix up with the booking - prepaid too!) we finally got to stay in this lovely little hotel in the heart of the old quarter. Immaculate with great staff, lots of choices for breakfast and extremely well appointed rooms. Comfortable beds, a room safe and we couldn't have been happier. Right by the tram station, lots of neat eating places within a minutes walk and in a safe and welcoming area. Would we go back? Definitely!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the street. There is even room to sit out there and watch the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bari161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Black Tulip is conveniantly located near all of the top tourist spots in Istanbul (Topkapi, Hagi Sophia, Grand Bazaar), and just a few steps from a tram stop (it was easy to take the metro/tram from the airport). The area might be a little too touristy for some people, but it was perfect for me since I had only a day and a half and wanted to see a lot.

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are quite small; I was travelling alone and light, so it was great for me but it would have felt cramped with another person or lots of luggage. I was impressed with how well the room was designed given how small it was-- there were easy access electrical outlets and a nice reading light by the bed. The bed, linens and pillows are all good quality, I slept very well. There was some noise from the street, but no more than expected in a city.

Breakfast was a generous spread, nothing spectacular, but a good buffet. My only complaint about the hotel is that they only have instant coffee with breakfast, and a proper cup of coffee costs extra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCVazaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I can't begin to list all the wonderful things about this small hotel. It exceeded our expectations in every way. Starting with the pre-arranged airport/hotel transfer, everything was wonderful.
The staff is incredible! They were all so friendly and helpful. Ersin, the Front Desk Clerk, was especially helpful as was the Manager.
The staff spoke excellent English and gave excellent directions and suggestions.
The location of the hotel is the very best in the city for visiting the main tourist sites. It is right on the central tram line and the tram stop is very close to the front door of the hotel. Sightseeing for the main attractions can easily be done on foot from the hotel.
The breakfast, which was included in the price, was very nice and again, the serving staff was excellent. There was an amazing variety of food and it all was very appetizing.
The rooms are not large, but they are modern and nicely furnished. The bathrooms are particularly nice, with beautiful fixtures.
We have stayed in hotels all around the world and Hotel Black Tulip is on the top of the list of our favorites. It is not the most luxurious place we've ever stayed, but the value for money is incredible.
We're looking forward to staying there again the next time we can travel to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firehose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Eurostars Hotel Old City
Eurostars Hotel Old City
#252 of 1,156 in Istanbul
325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#194 of 1,156 in Istanbul
361 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymond Blue Hotel
Raymond Blue Hotel
#286 of 1,156 in Istanbul
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Glamour Hotel
Glamour Hotel
#358 of 1,156 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#152 of 1,156 in Istanbul
925 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#291 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Black Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Black Tulip

Property: Hotel Black Tulip
Address: Hoca Pasa Mh. Hudavendigar Cd. No: 10 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Black Tulip 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Black Tulip is in Istanbul located in the centre of the old city. This is an ideal location for you.You can reach easily to most of the famous historical places like Hagia Sophia , Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar, Topkapı Place, Hippodrome, Suleymaniye Mosque, Eghte Bazaar, Spice Bazaar – Egyptian Bazaar, New Mosque, Galata bridge, Galata Tower and Basilica Cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Black Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing