We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms - but good location”
Review of Hotel Beyaz Saray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beyaz Saray
Ranked #277 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average rooms - but good location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very average hotel! Like a budget business hotel. They told us we have been upgraded from a standard room to a mosque view room-- it was honestly nothing special. However the staff were extremely nice!!

It's close to few sights and very close to the tram stop-- so location-wise it's good!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DivsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    401
    108
    17
    13
See reviews for
213
403
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we ended up deciding that we would have much preferred to stay in the newer touristy area on the other side of the water, but our stay here was comfortable and pleasant. the staff were very helpful and friendly. the place was modern, clean and very well serviced. our room was big and comfortable and the breakfast was particularly enjoyable with a beautiful outdoor area boasting stunning views. the noise from the nearby mosque can get quite loud during prayer time, but that's all part of the cultural charm of the place. it's in a bustling area and is a great way to experience the older parts of istanbul. like i said, we wouldn't stay there again but if you are looking for something in this area it was a good choice

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were looking for a hotel to stay over 5 nights in Istanbul, but unfortunately with very little anticipation (less than two weeks). This meant that the offer in the price range we were targeting was very limited.

Among the hotels we considered were the Black Tulip, the Saba Sultan and the Golden City. We ended up staying at the Beyaz Saray partly because the other alternatives disappeared before we could book them, and partly because of its location in the Old Town.

The good:

- The Beyaz Saray is within walking distance to the main landmarks in Sultanahmet. However, it is not *next* to them, for example Hagya Sofia was a 15-min walk. Beyazit tram station is 5 minutes away, which is convenient to reach the landmarks in Galata and in the New City, such as Dolmabahce Palace (tip: if you are staying for more than two days and plan to use public transport, make sure to buy an Istanbul Card, as ticket prices are significantly lower than buying the tokens individually).

- We had one dinner at the hotel's restaurant 'Vista', which is located in the 4th floor in the same place where breakfast is served. Besides the good food quality, there is a nice view, prices were fair and staff was great. A pleasant surprise!


The not-so-good:

- Breakfast was a huge disappointment. Another reviewer appropriately described it as 'bland', and I would add that there was no variety in the spread. It was exactly the same every day -I have to say it didn't look fresh- so the last day we decided to go to the Starbucks that is located nearby on Divan Yolu.

- Our room faced the inner patio and had very little privacy, as the thin curtains allow you to see everything that is happening in the rooms opposite. Perhaps other sections of the hotel have been renovated, but it wasn't the case of our room.

- Upon our arrival, we noticed that the baby-cot that we had requested was not properly assembled. After calling the reception twice to have someone fix it, and with no one showing up, our baby ended sleeping with us the first night. The baby-cot was replaced the next day, but it was an uncomfortable situation.

- Internet was on and off. While it worked, connection speed was so-so. At the lobby, there was a day when it didn't work at all.

- Bathroom was ok, with a decent shower but no bath-tub. However, towels were very worn and both shampoo and soap were not replenished frequently. The floor was very worn in some sections.

In summary: I wouldn't stay here again. Normally I would have given 2 stars out five to this hotel, but the good performance of the staff makes it a 3 out of five. Even at 120 usd/night, it was expensive for what we got in return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

i selected the hotel for its location but i was also happy with the service and the staff especially i was able to change my reservation the day i arrived . I would recommend this hotel for short stay in Istanbul .3 nights in this hotel to visit the old town before going to a hotel near the Bosphorus and enjoy Ortokoy visiting Dolmabahce palace,Galata ,taksim. and many other places.Istanbul is just fantastic city

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aelmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hospitality at the Hotel Beyaz Saray was wonderful,I really enjoyed being there and the reception was very kind ,I enjoyed spending time with Mehmet,Onur and my Turkish Ahne Yaseuin,I really hope to see them again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesego63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First, the hotel changes names very often to the taxi drivers always had a hard time knowing where we were really going and got really upset at us. Second, the rooms are ok but the noises at night are terrible...we almost did not sleep. Third, the staff was very rude not wanting to call us a cab to the airport and lying about the wifi. They also refused that I pay for the room prefering dealing with my fiance since I am a women. I was furious! I would not go back especially since this hotel was quite expensive for what we got....

Room Tip: On our first night we had a room on the mosque side and we could not sleep because of the noise/pray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia-from-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

good price. Perfect location for walking to all major tourist attractions - 2 mins to grand bazaar and only 10 to blue mosque ( longer uphill on return but you can take the tram). Dont stay in taksim sq where you will be with all the other US tourists - why not just stay in USA?

If you want to pray at 3:30am and 5:30 am in Ramadan stay on mosque side t but not if you want to sleep. Our other friends had a more expensive room with sea view on 4th floor with cool A/c - ours did not work well. Breakfast had an excellent selection of international foods with mosque view but this is now has scaffolding for restoration. Service was great. Remodel has two entrances, one for hotel and one for restaurant. Dinner food was very ordinary, not recommended

Must mention the free Haman, suana and steam room. We we were going to try it but found it was naked co-ed so got too shy. Maybe at mid aftrenoon you'd be alone but after 7pm there will be friendly turks with you!

Room Tip: Mosque side is noisey, street and worse with prayer calls. Views are not worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsmeBennion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Victory Hotel And Spa
Victory Hotel And Spa
#727 of 1,156 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Balin Boutique Hotel
#400 of 1,156 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Emporium Hotel Istanbul
#798 of 1,156 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darkhill Hotel
#369 of 1,156 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#641 of 1,156 in Istanbul
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beyaz Saray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beyaz Saray

Property: Hotel Beyaz Saray
Address: Mimar Kemalettin Mah. Yeniceriler Cad. No:77 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#187 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#197 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beyaz Saray 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beyaz Saray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Saray Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Istanbul
Barcelo Hotel Saray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing