We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but expensive ....... read up about air vs. land side before you go”
Review of TAV Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TAV Airport Hotel
Ranked #245 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Like all airport hotels they are there for a short sleep and breakfast and this is pretty good for both but expensive at €155 for an arrival at 23:00 and a 06:00 departure. But they did supply shaving stuff and toothpaste as mine had gone missing.

Make sure you do your homework before you leave the airside - the hotel has an entrance and beds on both the airside and land side but you can not change from one to the other. Decide which one you want before you get directed around the airport by information centre staff that have no idea.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take very seriously all views expressed.

I would like to inform you that TAV Airport Hotel provides two parts. Air Side is inside the transit area, so that only transit passenger can stay and Land Side is after the passport control and the part adjacent to terminal.So you couldn'change from one to other.

Once again thank you for kind interest in Tav Airport Hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel continues to be ideal for long layovers at the Ataturk airport, from several hours to more than a full overnight. Here are a few updates and additional info since my 2012 review.

* Online reservation is now very easy and clear.
* I have to say -- breakfast may be the best I've ever had in a hotel anywhere. Very impressive, with excellent hot dishes, several fine Turkish cheeses, fresh breads, beautiful fruit, even honey dripping off a piece of honeycomb (!), and more. As others have noted, it is very conveniently available even starting at 4 AM.
* Metro and tram (transfer at Zeytinburnu) to the city center takes about an hour. If you want to get out but have less time, then a few metro stops to Yenibosna, Atakoy/Sirinevler, or Bahcilievler give you access to busy commercial districts with countless great food options. Also, seaside neighborhood of Yesilkoy is a short cab ride away. Many thanks to staff for the helpful tips!
* I think there used to be a fitness center here, but it was absent or unavailable when I checked this time.

In case anyone needs clarification: the air side hotel is in the international terminal departures level. You do not need to pass through passport control to stay here. Rates are more expensive than land side, with options for stays of only a few hours. The land side hotel is past passport control. Partial-day rates may be available if you ask. The land side hotel is still on the airport site (the tarmac looms impressively just through a picture window from the restaurant -- it is fun to eat breakfast while staring up at a huge jet), but you can't walk right into it from the terminal. The land side hotel is accessible by calling a shuttle and riding a couple of minutes.

Access to the land side on foot is possible, but as others have noted, signs for walking aren't so clear. Start by finding the metro entrance. Instead of entering the metro, take the neighboring long tunnel that goes up an incline, then go through the doors to the outside, take a right around the security post, then down the sidewalk to the entrance. This way might be a little faster than the shuttle, but it is not so convenient if you're pulling a lot of luggage. It is certainly the safest route on foot -- total distance outside is maybe 200 meters, and there is almost never any motor traffic at all.

Room quality and staff service are still first-rate. For many, the overall quality and convenience will make the rates well worth paying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sociable_lapwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for your comprehensive feedback for TAV Airport Hotel. We are appreciate it for your valuable time in providing all opinion expressed .

We strive to provide our guests with memorable all opinions expressed. We would like to inform you that unfortunately our fitness center is closed.

Also we would like to thank you for your all information about the location and directions for the hotel.

We hope to seeing you again in Tav Airport Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Unfortunately i had a 1 night stay in the Tav airport hotel. The only thing i can say about it is it is convienient. The traffic in Istanbul is like China, grid locked. No access direct internally.My colleague took a cheaper hotel but it cost 30euros to get there from the airport and 30/45 mins.The room was modern but no natural light, parkay flooring (noisey), the TV did not work. The place is souless. Good bathroom with lovely fluffy towels. The breakfast was good, good choice of fruit and fresh orange juice. The staff were very attentive but i did not use the restaurant which is just an open space. Very expensive but cost effective when you consider the taxi fares.

Room Tip: If you have plenty of time, " Pick another hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryJOrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for your feedback following your recent stay at TAV Airport Hotel.
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences on this site. We take very seriously all views expressed.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed overnight in this hotel that charged by the hour?!? For a nine hour layover, it cost $228. The room was nice, but no sauna or hot tub, although the tub in the room was nice and hot. They called another member of our party as a wake-up call and said "get out" or you have to pay more. Which, I suppose, was right, since we paid only for 9 hours. The maid was in the hallway at 2Am, ready to roll the room over for the next hourly patron. I couldn't find any English speaking TV channels. and there was no window in the room? certainly no view. We didn't get any complimentary wine. The deal with this place, is you don't have to leave the airport, which saves you having to get a $20 visa. I think there was a cheaper little Motel across the lobby, but my company made reservations here.

Room Tip: No pool, no spa. None of the people in our party got a room with a window. It I right in the Airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boydree74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Traveling back from Cappadocia we had an eight hour lay-over in Istanbul. Because of the short length of our layover we decided to stay in the TAV in the airport. At check-in we were given complementary coupons for wine. We sat less than 10 feet from the tarmac and enjoyed the view of the airport. Breakfast was a Turkish treat. Our room had just been up-graded and was pleasant and comfortable. If time is a factor, the TAV in the airport will give you extra time in the sack.

Room Tip: It is in the airport, ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments. We are always pleased when our guests have enjoyed their stay and our facilities.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you arrive late at this airport and have to leave early the next morning, and if you are ready to pay the stiff price, this hotel is convenient. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and comfortable, although mine was far from dark even with drawn curtains and all lights inside off. The hotel is within walking distance of the international terminal but it is not that easy to find, as signs are few are far between - incomprehensibly given that this is a TAV hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seasondtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing TAV Airport Hotel and also sharing your precious opinions with us.

We are pleased to hear our rooms were to your satisfaction.
Sometimes our guest can't see easly the direction signs to our hotel but alternativley we have shuttle service 24 hours from terminal to hotel. It makes a ring service every 15 min. from Domestic & International Terminal to the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you at TAV Airport Hotel again.

Best Regards,
Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

You had to spend the night at the airport Ata Turk Istanbul. I had a very early flight did not want to go far in the airport. Despite the fact that I made the reservation online hotel when I arrived in stabul hardly find phone connection instead of the shuttle to the hotel. I learned that I was not who does not wait for my reservation and can not find. And the seats are not. It was not pleasant to look for a place to sleep

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Runner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Unfortunately your comments wasn't clear enough for us to see the problem you experienced regarding your last visit to our hotel. Could you please rewrite your comment and explain what was the issue that made your stay unpleasant. if you wish to e-mail me please use my e-mail address below.
Thank you.
Kind regards.
Esra Ariman Flynn
esra.ariman@bta.com.tr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.9 mi away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#211 of 1,159 in Istanbul
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
WOW Istanbul Hotel
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#257 of 1,159 in Istanbul
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#295 of 1,159 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#374 of 1,159 in Istanbul
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Conference & Airport Hotel
1.8 mi away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#109 of 1,159 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TAV Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TAV Airport Hotel

Address: Ataturk Havalimani Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £90 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TAV Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TAV Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul International Airport Hotel
Istanbul Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing