We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little further to walk than I though for the non-airside part”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of TAV Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TAV Airport Hotel
Ranked #287 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little further to walk than I though for the non-airside part”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Found the shuttle pick up for this hotel after I thought I would be able to walk it after a long 20 hour flight from Australia. I can see how other posters had some difficulty however. Overall I found the hotel to be modern, well equipped and with a great breakfast. Be prepared to carry your baggage potentially a VERY long way as some of the corridors are incredibly long. Overall however it was a good hotel, in a necessary location, with all the mod cons one needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing TAV Airport Hotel and also sharing your precious opinions with us.
We are happy to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sinem Göksel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    293
    140
    49
    22
See reviews for
104
132
117
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We arrived here in the evening and were under the impression that this hotel is within walking distance (it is actually attached to the international terminal if you look on the map). Unfortunately, however, you need to take a shuttle here as stated in the below reviews.

We finally found the shuttle stop but unfortunately there is no shuttle schedule listed there, just a phone number to call. The person on the other end took my name down and said it will be there within 10 minutes. 35 minutes later there was no sign of the shuttle, so I called again. The person apologized and said, again, 10 minutes. This time it did. I'm not really sure how it's possible to wait 40 minutes for a 5 minute shuttle ride, but that's what happened. Had we known it would be 45 minutes we could have waiting inside, but ended up waiting in the freezing cold for 45 minutes, having no clue when it would arrive. Unacceptable for the price paid at the hotel.

Check-in was quick and the rooms was quite nice (land-side superior). Very good bathroom and comfortable bed.

The totally unexpected highlight, however, was the room service. We were starving upon arrival and groaned at the idea of room service from an airport hotel, but had no other options. We ordered the lentil soup, grilled vegetable/halloumi cheese sandwich, and the manti (Turkish dumplings in yogurt and tomato sauce). The lentil soup in Turkey is always good and this one was no exception. The sandwich was excellent, with all vegetables freshly grilled and on a very nice multigrain bread. And the manti was simply mindblowing. We've had it maybe 4 times previously in Turkey, and no other one came close to this.

Breakfast was pretty good and standard (begins at 4am). Check-out was pain free and the shuttle was right there to take us back.

If it wasn't for the shuttle fiasco we would consider staying here on our next Istanbul stopover, as it's so close to the airport and rooms are very nice. Instead, we will opt for a cheaper hotel nearby which actually lists their shuttle schedule, or grab a cab.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkaminka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your feedback that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.

We apologise for wait at the shuttle stop and any inconvenience we may caused.

Also we are pleased to learn that our rooms and services were to your satisfaction.

Ones again, thanks for your time to write your review. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at TAV Airport Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Sinem Göksel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Despite the steep price, we booked this since we were to arrive at the airport around midnight. Based on the way it was advertised, we assumed that it was a short walk. That assumption was incorrect. We tried to find the hotel by foot, but finally asked for directions. We were told that it was much too far to walk. At the airport, we called the hotel. They said that they'd send a shuttle. Although it supposedly drove by, we didn't see it. After waiting a half hour, we called again. It was past 2AM by the time we finally got the shuttle. We didn't make it to our complimentary breakfast since we were so tired.

In a lot of words, don't book this place if you're doing it solely for convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the unpleasant situation you experienced in our hotel on your recent stay.

In normal circumstances our shuttle bus runs between the hotel and the terminal every fifteen minutes. Alternatively it is possible to walk to the hotel from the terminal. Normally it takes 5 minutes from international terminal to the Hotel but unfortunately sometimes our guests can't see the direction signs to our hotel where they located in the terminal.Our Hotel is located next the VIP Lounge in International Terminal.

Once again we are sorry for the wait and any inconvenience we may caused.

We hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sinem Göksel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had five hours waiting in Istanbul Ataturk Airport as a transit, I needed to get to toilet but I hate public toilets so I found this hotel with more than 100 Euro for 0 - 3 hours staying. And once i entered to my room, I found it very nice, huge and clean. I took shower, rest and relaxed. There was coffee for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salemhus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at TAV Airport Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards.
Sinem Göksel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Airport hotels aren't renowned for being the most luxurious, they are normally stop gaps, but as they go this is a pretty good one. The staff were friendly and welcoming which is just what you need after travelling a fair few hours. The room was a lot better than I was expecting, the mini bar was fab, they have little souvenirs you can buy, all the toiletries you need, bath and lovely big comfy bed. I was incredibly surprised at how little you could here any noise as I was expecting the rumble of planes all night but nothing of the sort. You can get the metro from just outside into Istanbul in about an hour and they run fairly late so its nice to have a wander.
The best bit about my stay was the breakfast, it was much better than any other hotel I stayed in whilst in Turkey.
Great stop over hotel which might not be the height of luxury but it is still thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are highly delighted that we continue to keep on matching your expectations.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition and look forward to welcoming you back .

Best Regards,
Sinem Göksel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

When was the last time you wanted to spend your holiday at a security side airport hotel? Never? Yes never .... That'd the point. No it has no pool spa gym or the trappings of 5 star hotel....if you wanted that your dumb for staying inside the airport! Istanbul is excellent go see it, stay at a spa.... But if you wanna have some privacy, shower, sleep and work then this hotel inside security will meet your basic needs.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Savingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Like all airport hotels they are there for a short sleep and breakfast and this is pretty good for both but expensive at €155 for an arrival at 23:00 and a 06:00 departure. But they did supply shaving stuff and toothpaste as mine had gone missing.

Make sure you do your homework before you leave the airside - the hotel has an entrance and beds on both the airside and land side but you can not change from one to the other. Decide which one you want before you get directed around the airport by information centre staff that have no idea.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take very seriously all views expressed.

I would like to inform you that TAV Airport Hotel provides two parts. Air Side is inside the transit area, so that only transit passenger can stay and Land Side is after the passport control and the part adjacent to terminal.So you couldn'change from one to other.

Once again thank you for kind interest in Tav Airport Hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinem Göksel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.9 mi away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#238 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
WOW Istanbul Hotel
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#237 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#261 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#346 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#111 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Conference & Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TAV Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TAV Airport Hotel

Property: TAV Airport Hotel
Address: Ataturk Havalimani Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TAV Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your TAV Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul International Airport Hotel
Istanbul Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing