We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 hours in Istanbul”
Review of TAV Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TAV Airport Hotel
Ranked #240 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I regularly use Ataturk airport for my transits. This was the first time i had an layover longer then 9 hours so decided to get a room and make that time go by a bit faster.
Check in was quick and without any issues. Although I had to ask for the recite as I was initially only given card slip.
Room was clean and without bad odder. (Carpet could use some deep cleaning) Matters was firm enough and ac worked fine...
You could debate if it is good value for money (whole room looks like one in cheap hotel) at around 220 usd for 6-9 hours but it does its purpose.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank IvanG-Zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable comments. We are very happy to learn that our rooms were to your satisfaction and and our staff met your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to TAV Airport Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 8 hrs in this airport. Very expensive in all shops 22 euro for 2 Burger King meals. Seating is ridiculous as there is not enough .

Staff drive around in the airport on electric cars at high speed really dangerous.
Not a good experience

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Unfortunately your comments wasn't responsible for hotel. If you would like to write your comment and explain please contact to airport Customer Relations.

We look forward to welcoming you at TAV Airport Hotel in near future.

Best Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It is correct that you can reach the landside part of this hotel on foot by following the signs to the Metro and then, instead of entering the Metro taking the "tunnel" to the right hand side of the Metro entrance. In fact this tunnel is a travelator going up (it is a moving walkway which goes up to the next level).
Currently however, at the top of this travelator there is a construction site and the TAV hotel is not visible from there so it is not obvious which way to go. However, you must continue to "believe". In front of you at the top of the travelator there is a ramp. Wheel your luggage up this ramp. It leads to a road. Don't go onto the road itself or cross it, but take the very narrow pavement (sidewalk) your side of the road instead. Effectively you are turning right from the top of the travelator. The pavement takes you down a hill and back towards the entrance to the hotel. The hotel comes into view as you walk down.
Bearing in mind the hotel is actually physically connected to the airport, obviously a more user friendly pedestrian route could have been made. As it is, total time from coming through customs on foot was probably 10 minutes.
Returning to the airport in the morning don't forget that you will need to go through security twice - once on entering the airport and once when going into airside. So allow at least a good 40 minutes for this whole process on a weekday morning at 8am (more to be on the safe side).
If you are lucky the shuttle bus will be there waiting for you when you check out from the hotel, so you won't have to walk it. This is better because you will then be entering the airport at the main entrance rather than as if you had come off the Metro. There could be a long queue at security at the entrance to the airport for those people coming out of the Metro.
As for the hotel itself, service was very friendly and helpful, and dinner and breakfast was tasty. The rooms were very clean, TV was good and everything worked perfectly.
The only downside was that the driver of the shuttle bus was texting all the way from the hotel to the airport, however he didn't hit anything or anybody and obviously knew the route very well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jorgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, also for bringing some points to our attention.

We take very seriously all views expressed. We are very happy to learn that our rooms were to your satisfaction. Also we would like to thank you for your all information about the location and directions for Land side of the hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon at TAV Airport Hotel.

Best Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The TAV Airport Hotel, which opened in 2004, is divided into two parts, one on the city side and the other on the terminal side. The larger structure on the city side, which I have not experienced, presumably functions like any generic airport hotel. That on the terminal side is for transit passengers who are not officially entering the country. The guest in this smaller section of the establishment is certainly aware of her sequestration. To get to hotel reception, you descend by elevator or escalator from the main concourse to a ground floor that, despite the chic design of its large, open atrium, feels suspiciously subterranean. Guest rooms are on the same level as reception. These rooms are well appointed in a sleek contemporary style. Like most modern four-star hotels, the far wall of the room is relieved by a large, luxuriously curtained window. This “window,” however, is no window at all, but a back-lit glass-brick wall. Not only did we not see the airport’s runways, we also did not hear them. Our room was thoroughly sound-proofed. No airport noise penetrated. We slept utterly undisturbed. For those who don’t suffer from claustrophobia and who travel only with carry-ons, this hotel is extremely convenient. The TAV Airport Hotel offers a luxury that no other can: escape from the interminable lines at Istanbul Airport passport control. If you arrive late at night and have a morning connection, this hotel is bliss: you are minutes from both your arrival and your departure gates. The hotel bills by the hour, too, so you set your own check-in and check-out times. It is a pity that every international airport doesn’t offer such an amenity. But book early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your comprehensive feedback following your recent stay at TAV Airport Hotel. We fully appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences on this site.

We are glad to hear that you were able to rest between your flights and satisfied our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to TAV Airport Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed on both sides of this hotel and both will give you a good sleep during those long transit times.

Airside - Go to the Turkish Airlines Business Lounge and you will see an elevator located on the right. Go to the lower ground and you are in the reception of the hotel.

Landside - Collect your luggage, go through customs, turn right and walk to the escalators. Go down to the lowest level and walk through the tunnel, take the first set of steps on your right and you are at the Hotel Entrance (5 minutes)

Good service, good burger through room service and good selection of television channels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank josepha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Also we would like to thank you for your all information about the location and directions.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at TAV Airport Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is ok , not something to boast about , but since it's the only choice you will have at Istanbul airport you can't complain, the rooms are average but clean. Bathrooms are very neat and the toiletries are reasonable quality , the negatives are small rooms , delay in room service , and a small tv , and yes , it is very expensive for the quality u get , they charge 2 hourly and a stay of 6 hours will put u back 150 EUR, it's not value for money , but considering you just need to kill the transit time and sleep , it's the only choice you will have ....so better like it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We are appreciate it your all opinion expressed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinions. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On our last trip to Iraq, we were in transit in Istanbul for 12 hrs and needed to get some rest before we flew out to Baghdad. The TAV hotel was conveniently located inside the terminal, ie, no visa was required. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only drawback was that it is a bit expensive.

Room Tip: If you are in transit for less then 5 hrs, try to get a "suite" at the Turkish Airline lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zhabib786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SinemGoksel, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on this site.

We are glad to hear that you were able to rest between your flights and enjoyed our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to TAV Airport Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Sinem Göksel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
WOW Airport Hotel
#221 of 1,163 in Istanbul
605 reviews
Rox Hotel
#314 of 1,163 in Istanbul
198 reviews
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#267 of 1,163 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#351 of 1,163 in Istanbul
159 reviews
Elite World Business
#113 of 1,163 in Istanbul
631 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TAV Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TAV Airport Hotel

Address: Ataturk Havalimani Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £88 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TAV Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your TAV Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul International Airport Hotel
Istanbul Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing