We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice swimming pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merit Halki Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merit Halki Palace
Ranked #560 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice swimming pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We did not stay in this hotel, but we went here for the swimming pool, as we didn't really trust the cleanliness of the waters so close to a big city like Istanbul. It was a perfect relaxing day at the swimming pool of the hotel. I believe it was something like 45 TL each to get to use their swimming pool. We also enjoyed their terrace and had some sweets and drinks with a nice view of the Marmara Sea. We'd go stay there one day, as the personnel looked friendly. It is in a quieter part of Heybeliada.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexVN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A fantastic boutique hotel far from the madding crowd of Istanbul. Perfect location on Chalki (Heybeli) island. The historical building was totally renovated after the fire in 1991. Very helpful staff, nice terrace with a view and a big pool in the garden... The only minus was the shabby condition of the rooms. They need to be refurnished and updated according to today's standards. You want to have an air-conditioned room, when you pay 200 dollars a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel is situated in an island. Renovated old building in a beautiful area. The management and the staff are very helpful. Also, the hotel has a small pier that sea taxi can approach. It is only 45-60 minutes from İstanbul.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasemin_tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We will certainly stay in this hotel again. We spent here five nights and had a very good experience. The hotel is 10 minutes walking from the boat and restaurants. Since it is up the hill, you better take a horse-cart when arriving with suitcases. The swimming pool is great, the restaurant decent and there are several place where you can sit outside. The staff speaks a little bit of English, about enough to communicate. One of the highlights is the parrot Coco in the lobby with an amazing vocabulary!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacktulipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

The rooms in this hotel are dated and boring... but the lobby is lovely and the staff very friendly. The pool was really nice and the breakfast was VERY good.... although we were there on a day when there was a business conference at the hotel, so I dont know if the breakfast was amazing as a result of those particular guests!

Heybeliada is a lovely Island, but the real draw is that it is close to Buyukada... the hotel on Heybeliada is the nicest of all the Islands, so I recommend this hotel. I had a great stay here.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrari78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2006

As this is the only Hotel on Heybeliada there is nothing to copmpare it to, but I was swayed by Time Out's description as this being "one of the finest hotels anywhere in Instanbul". However that was far from true; have they never been to the Four Seasons ! The hotel lacks air conditioning and the room we were first offered didn't even have a working ceiling fan, so we paid extra for a much better room with fan and two sets of windows. The staff are quite pleasant but they have very little grasp of English (why should they as most of the guests appeared to beTurkish) so a phrase book is essential. The Hotel seemed very very quite during the week with few guests which meant we had the good pool to ourselves. Generally this Hotel needs an upgrade and some attempt to woo a more discerning guest, but that said it was a restful holiday and these are intersting islands.

p.s. why is there so much litter on Heybeliada ? It was such a disapointment to see so much rubbish in the woodland and at the side of roads. I would be quite ashamed if I was responsible for this potentially quite lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
7.6 mi away
Aden Hotel
Aden Hotel
#1,000 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
#5 of 18 in Buyukada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel Buyukada Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
White Palace Otel
White Palace Otel
#6 of 18 in Buyukada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Splendid Palace Hotel
Splendid Palace Hotel
#7 of 18 in Buyukada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anastasia Meziki Hotel
Anastasia Meziki Hotel
#4 of 18 in Buyukada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Halki Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Halki Palace

Property: Merit Halki Palace
Address: Refah Sehitleri Cad.94 | Heybeliada, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merit Halki Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
İstanbul'un yaşayan eski otelidir. (1854 yıllarında inşa edilmiştir)Özel işletme belgeli otel olup,Dünyanın en büyük kentlerinden biri olan İstanbul'a hem çok yakın, hem de çok uzakta Adalar - HEYBELİADA 'da yer almaktadır. Dünyaca değerli olan stratejik noktada, coğrafik bölgede, tarihi beldede yer almaktadır. Doğa örtüsü güzelliğini Marmara denizi, içinde barındırmakta olup geçmiş yılların tüm tarihi ve mimari dokularını yaşatan HEYBELİADA'da çok görkemli bir tesis olarak hizmet vermektedir. Ülkemizin en iyi bilinen markasını ''Merit''i taşımaktadır. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Merit Halki Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing