We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merit Halki Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merit Halki Palace
Ranked #560 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Palace is a very quite place to stay. If you need a rest you should go for this Palace. Rooms are not comfortable but who cares rooms because of view. The view is outstanding. Birds are singing around. Also green and blue dancing. It is a peaceful place to stay if you are not obsess about comfort you should stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esraozturk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Had lunch and a sunbathe here on a day trip to the Princes Islands. Lovely friendly staff with great good and good views who even made us a lovely complimentary chocolate fondant dessert! The hotel charges for the use of the pool , but prices are fairly reasonable c$15. The hotel seems quaint and retains the character of the original building..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fanof5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

A very nice historic hotel with the charme of past times at a great location. The rooms are ok and clean but a bit aged. They don't have air conditioning which can be a problem. Service and food are mediocre. But the atmosphere and views are magnificent. Very close to green beach club. You will need to take a faeton from the Seabus station.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mreckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the staff and location of the hotel. Hotel is old small palace.
It is located at the island near Istanbul. Island has no cars!! Perfect for relaxing.
Sea bus takes you kabatas in 45 minutes then tram takes you to old city in 15! Sea taxi goes to main shopping street for 100 USD.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aykut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Great place, great location but... rip-off restaurant and food, poor and pathetic service. Didnt stay overnight this time but have done so in past. Hasnt improved at all over the years. Pity because the building and its location are lovely but food and services like former USSR. It seems to cater more to small convention groups. Not good for the individual traveller. And that is why it is deserted!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LGedik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went in november, and there were very few guests in the hotel, and it was very quiet. It was nice coming out of the hustle and bustle of Istanbul to some quiet relaxation on the island. The island is childfriendly in that there are no cars. We had two interconnected rooms for the family with two adults and two children. The rooms are nothing extra, but spacious and practical, and the view is amazing. The feeling of the place is great. The staff would provide small extra things, such as bringing tea and cakes when we were playing pool outside. As we were very few guests they would not provide a breakfast buffet, but would bring the plates to the table. Even if the choice was limited the taste of all they presented was very good. They have a pool and it is quite cold, but the children bathed anyway. Beware of mosquitos. They have a porter that can come to the ferry to pick up the luggage from the port, which I believe is recommendable. I would recommend the hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSmotheroftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We did not stay in this hotel, but we went here for the swimming pool, as we didn't really trust the cleanliness of the waters so close to a big city like Istanbul. It was a perfect relaxing day at the swimming pool of the hotel. I believe it was something like 45 TL each to get to use their swimming pool. We also enjoyed their terrace and had some sweets and drinks with a nice view of the Marmara Sea. We'd go stay there one day, as the personnel looked friendly. It is in a quieter part of Heybeliada.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexVN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
7.6 mi away
Aden Hotel
Aden Hotel
#1,000 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
Nizam Butik Otel Buyukada
#5 of 18 in Buyukada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel Buyukada Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
White Palace Otel
White Palace Otel
#6 of 18 in Buyukada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Splendid Palace Hotel
Splendid Palace Hotel
#7 of 18 in Buyukada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anastasia Meziki Hotel
Anastasia Meziki Hotel
#4 of 18 in Buyukada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Halki Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Halki Palace

Property: Merit Halki Palace
Address: Refah Sehitleri Cad.94 | Heybeliada, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merit Halki Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
İstanbul'un yaşayan eski otelidir. (1854 yıllarında inşa edilmiştir)Özel işletme belgeli otel olup,Dünyanın en büyük kentlerinden biri olan İstanbul'a hem çok yakın, hem de çok uzakta Adalar - HEYBELİADA 'da yer almaktadır. Dünyaca değerli olan stratejik noktada, coğrafik bölgede, tarihi beldede yer almaktadır. Doğa örtüsü güzelliğini Marmara denizi, içinde barındırmakta olup geçmiş yılların tüm tarihi ve mimari dokularını yaşatan HEYBELİADA'da çok görkemli bir tesis olarak hizmet vermektedir. Ülkemizin en iyi bilinen markasını ''Merit''i taşımaktadır. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Merit Halki Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing