We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel, very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Ranked #120 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Donat, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel, very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent staff. Clean room, a bit small for prolonged stay (6 days). Incredible location a few steps from Agia Sophia!
Microscopic bathroom. Absurd noise from the mosque a few meters away: we jumped in our bed every morning at 05:45. No elevator. Good breakfast, but boring after 6 days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauriceBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    139
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
86
192
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a great small hotel in a perfect location situated in the old section of Sultanhamet. From the rooftop terrace, where the breakfast room is located, you have unobstructed views of both Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque.The staff and hotel owner is very friendly, accommodating and ready to help whenever needed. Most of the historical sites are walk -able from the hotel as well as the Tram which is just a block away. The rooms are simply decorated, a bit small,but comfortable. Also, bathrooms are very clean but a little small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prince1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Although i didnt stay at this hotel, the guy at the reception Mr. Ismail helped me find the hotel i was looking for. He litterally called that hotel and reserved a room for us. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed 9 days in September 2013. We experienced Istanbul with a 'must do' list supplied by hotel owner Abe who was extremely generous in sharing his local knowledge. The rooms were small and the bed may not have been as soft as some I have slept in but it was clean, safe, in a fantastic position close to many highlights and was excellent value for money. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BustlingBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was very disappointed when i first entered the room as it was very small.
other than that it was okay. I would only give A for the location. nothing else
as its very close to all the major Mosque and tram line.
if I go to Istanbul again i will definitely stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehek a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed with Ibrahim (Abe) twice, and will choose this hotel for our next visit. This was Abe's family home which he converted into a hotel after returning from the US. Yes, rooms are small, but hopefully you haven't gone to Turkey to spend time in your room! Despite its central location, it's generally quiet. The calls to prayer from the mosque next door are loud, but they are a fact of life in Turkey. we love the terrace, with surrounding trees and views of Aya Sofia. Abe and staff are helpful and friendly, as is the hotel cat. Great value, family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Hotel was very well located and in walking distance to most attractions in the old city.The tram station is 3min walk from the hotel.The staff were very helpful and offered good advice on the attractions of the city.The breakfast was good and the outside patio was very nice to eat on in the early morning sunshine, with full view of the Hagia sophia.
The rooms were small and the bathrooms smaller and a tight squeeze for 2 people!The rooms were clean and had a mini bar and airconditioner, safety deposit boxes are in the hallway.
You will not need an alarm clock as the mosque will wake your early, if you sleep through that you need a medal!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#100 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#95 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#39 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#64 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#187 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeynep Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeynep Sultan Hotel

Property: Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Address: Zeynep Sultan Camii Sok 25 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#108 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#116 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zeynep Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cradle of civilization...Turkey...From Hitites to Urartus, Phrygians to Lycians, from Romans to Seljuks...They all lived here. A city that gave birth to and fostered three glorious empires...The East Roman empire, the Byzantine empire and the Ottoman empire...Once the capital city of these empires, Istanbul is still alive and breathing a mystical blend of air, weary of the contemprary urbanization and cultural clashes. Zeynep Sultan Hotel is where you will blend a magical potion from a Roman hippodrome, an Egyptian obelisque, a Byzantine Church and an Ottoman Grand Bazaar. And maybe you will top it with the Blue Mosque or the Topkapi Palace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeynep Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeynep Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Zeynep Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing