We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Istanbul”
Review of Grand Hotel Gulsoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Ranked #389 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel with first class staff. We were impressed at first sight and the reception staff could not have been more helpful. The room was first class with a large firm bed and a view over the city. It is a short walk to get on the Metro (beware this is not an experience for the faint hearted, but if you are strong and don't mind pushing people out of the way it can be fun). The hotel helped us book a couple of tours and I can recommend the boat trip on the Bosphorus, it looks expensive but well worth the money. The hotel has a small restaurant attached and this is good value and good quality. The spa is also worth a couple of hours, but beware if you book a massage, that little girl can really give you a good beating; but it was nice when it stopped.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view at the front of the hotel and away from multiple rooms (large Turkish groups sta...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Gulsoy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Good hotel with small rooms (but everything you need!) with a great rooftop view. Loved the mosque next door -- the call to prayer will wake you up! My only complaint is with the heat & a/c system. It has to be one or the other. We went in October which can be either hot or cold. I don't mind the heat if I have a fan. Nothing in the room and the window provided little air or comfort. I even tried to buy a fan so I could sleep more comfortably. I would recommend staying during a month you know which will be turned on as you have no control in the room. Also, double check the wine prices before ordering. They definitely charge way too much! The breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the parliament with the changing of the guard and the Grand Bazaar. We enjoyed dining in the hotel cafe which had affordable tasty food. Breakfasts were included and the daily selection was very good.
What truly impressed me was the actions of the kind gentleman working the front desk at 5:00 a.m. on the day of our departure. When we realized that our airport transfer was not going to arrive as scheduled he jumped into high gear, contacting our tour company rep and arranging for us to travel to the airport by cab where a rep from our tour company would be waiting for us.
The hotel desk exchanged US money to Turkish liras on more than one occasion for us and was always very helpful with directions and information. We had free WIFI in our room. My only complaint is that the elevators were too small.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NUTHIN_TO_LOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I went to this hotel with my two brothers as part of short-break booked through Direct Traveller. We had three very comfy rooms near each other on the first floor - spacious, good showers, mini-bar, large sat telly (could have done with more UK progs but had BBC World Service), free wifi, slippers etc. My brothers' rooms were a bit noisy as they overlooked the road behind and another hotel. Mine looked inward onto a tiny court-yard and was fine. The staff were lovely and very helpful - especially the people in the coffee-shop on the ground floor which did good meals (nicer than the restaurant as it overlooked the pavement and all the bustling life there). The breakfast (included in very reasonable price) was delicious - plenty of variety, good coffee, hot and cold food. The swimming pool on the roof was great with stunning views and there was a bar there which was opened on request. We didn't try the gym or the indoor pool. Our trip included airport transfers and various tours organised by local company Fez Travel. They were brilliant and the Hotel were happy to liaise with them on out behalf if we needed to get in touch. I found the geography of Istanbul a bit confusing but the truth is that we weren't far from any of the main attractions. There were several restaurants nearby (I mean an easy stroll). I thoroughly recommend this Hotel and also the service provided by Direct Traveller and by Fez Travel - all in all an excellent few days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickyp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I traveled to Grand Gulsoy in August 2013 for a week. The outdoor swimming pool was fantastic with a great view of the city and old mosques. The hotel is located in old part of Istanbul near grand bazaar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soheil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Everything was working fine in the room with cleaning and new sheets etc . The breakfast was quite big with a lot of varieties regarding cheese . Coffee was so so ..The hotel has two pools one on the roof which I can recommend for the fantastic view over Istanbul. It is a mosque right outside the hotel one of the most beautiful I think in the town and if you get a room facing the street you will hear when it's prayer time . It did not disturbed us though. A small gym is also located in the hotel. All in all it's a nice place for a couple of nights ..a walk to the tram at laleli took about 5 minutes..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnetteN866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Grand Hotel Gulsoy for a couple of nights at August 2013. This place has excellent location, near the metro station, with many restaurants close by. The facilities of the hotel are also excellent and clean, the spa center and the roof pool definitely worth a visit. Great breakfast buffet also. Wi-Fi didn't work though and using the elevator was a very difficult thing to do. Overall, it's a great place to stay in Istambul.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agtheodosiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#502 of 1,159 in Istanbul
241 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich Istanbul
Hotel Zurich Istanbul
#517 of 1,159 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Hamidiye
Hotel Hamidiye
#844 of 1,159 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#689 of 1,159 in Istanbul
403 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Mosaic
Hotel Mosaic
#508 of 1,159 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#609 of 1,159 in Istanbul
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gulsoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gulsoy

Address: Sehzadebasi Cad. No:17 Vefa, Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#178 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#194 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gulsoy 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home in Istanbul to relax which offers you a warm atmosphere to make your stay comfortable and feel yourself at home. Our aim is to create a warm atmosphere provided with modern facilities.Our reception is at your service 24 hrs a day! Take a look at our rooms! Or check out our facilities, like our indoor swimming pool, restaurants etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gulsoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing