We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good solution”
Review of Riva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riva Hotel
Ranked #622 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 17 January 2012

great place, delicious buffet, good location and helpful stuff.
the rooms are very big and clean and they are clean too!!
as a solution, this hotel is a nice solution for the city...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dafni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stay there for work and holiday. It is clean, nice hotel which is close to Taksim Square and Metro station. BUT there is no internet connection at 7th Floor, at loby router needs to restart every 5 min. Room was too small and while you are having your breakfast, if time close to 10:00 they are starting to collect everything. I have better experiences at İstanbul and i can say that you can find better place same price or less and better conditions.

Room Tip: Do not stay at room 05 of any flat. 09 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

First of all the location was perfect,convenient and near to the Taksim sq where you can use the metro for everywhere,just 4-5 minutes to Taksim sq.
The rooms were really clean,although they could be a little bigger but they were ok.
The breakfast was good,of course there could more warm choices for breakfast
The staff were helpful and kind.
I had lunch there only once and it was quite good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tnrahimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Hotel is located in Taksim which is the centre of Modern Istanbul. There are a lot of restaurants in the vicinity. The room rate is decent and the rooms are well kept. Actually the rooms in all hotels in Taksim are small .. this is a good place when the room size comes in the picture.
The restaurant gives a decent buffet breakfast and the rooftop eating area is a nice place to sit and eat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayurBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

we stayed in hotel Riva for a week.
Location: it is located just 5 min walk from Taksim square in Istanbul. you can take bus or metro from Taksim square to get all over Istanbul. also you can easily go to "Istiklal" and "Omidzade" streets!
Services: our room was small but very clean and comfortable. the staffs were helpful.
The breakfast was delicious! egg, fresh bread, fruit juice, meet, ... we didn't eat in restaurant. no idea about that!
In all it was very good and I'll back again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saharsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed here for a 4 night stay. On arrival I stayed for an hour waitng to find a room, although ther had been a prior reservation. They gave me a room for my friend who was supposed to come later on another plane ( he stayed for around 6 hours waitng after that to find a room) & they didn't tell me that I'm taking his room ofcourse, all of this was because the hotel is fully booked.
As for the room its around 6 square meters in total. The weather was hot & I tried to fix the A/C in the room but they told me that its working !! I had to stay in the shower most the time in the morning times when i was in the room & can't tell u about the nights there in that hot weather !
Reagrding the only positive thing about that hotel it was its location , 2 mins. walking from Taksim square & Istiklal street.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I really didn't like this hotel overall for a lot of reasons:

1- The air conditioner was really bad and not working at all in our room, although numerous complaints were delivered to the hotel staff members with no effective response, it is not nice at all to stay in such a hot weather with no AC at all, this is torture!!
2-The hotel staff members are really slow at responding back to requests and in their service, and sometimes they panick or forget what they were asked to do. Also, they aren't friendly and not smiling at all, which delivers a negative message that they aren't hostpitable
3-The triple room i stayed in with my friends seems to have been originally a double room and was then just customized to be a triple one by adding an extra bed, which is horrible and the room was too small!!. Even they haven't added extra facilities in the room for a third person, for example, the closet is too small, and it can only carry stuff for one person!!
4-The breakfast items were ok but with no varities at all, same items each day. Also, when some items run out and need to be re-filled, the waiters do not really notice this and sometimes they ignore checking

Positive point:
1-Great location near Taksim square and Istiklal street

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roomzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Central Palace
The Central Palace
#432 of 1,181 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Beyoglu
Lamartine Hotel
Lamartine Hotel
#699 of 1,181 in Istanbul
148 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#145 of 1,181 in Istanbul
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#860 of 1,181 in Istanbul
228 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#678 of 1,181 in Istanbul
264 reviews
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#82 of 1,181 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Hotel

Address: Aydede Caddesi 8 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#381 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing