We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Boutique Hotel at Taksim area”
Review of Riva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riva Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was on May on a leisure short trip with my friends from Germany,and Brussels to Riva Hotel.
The Hotel is for one more time very nice,with excellent service from Reception,Bar,Breakfast,service.
The owner and his family always available with smile to help everybody,also I have to mention the Reception Manager is very helpful and polite.
We had nice room and upon check out a very nice gift was offered to all of us.
Thank you for your warm hospitality and Im looking forward to come back again on September .

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stratosGlyfada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Riva Hotel provides everything you would need on a trip to Istanbul. It is conveniently located in Taksim, on a safe street as opposed to other narrow alleyways which can often turn out to be dodgy! Mind the roadworks on the way to the Taksim square though...

The room was always cleaned to an excellent standard and the breakfast was fresh and varied. We also had sandwiches at the cafe for dinner. They were tasty and quite cheap!

The reception staff helped us a lot with directions and public transport.

Overall, strongly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allroundeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We"ve been there from May7-May10.
Very helpfull staff at reception AT NIGHT or EVENING time.
We were travelling with one of our friends who owns a hotel in Athens, Greece... So we were given a discounted rate for 2 of the 3-nights stay!!! Pretending that fully booked for the last night ! !
So we had to book via Internet a last night.

FOR INFO: we contacted RIVA htl 1 day prior arrival via VoipDiscount, cheap Internet phone rates... The HOTEL billed us 1 TELEPHONE CONVERSATION ! ! ! made on May6th!
No information given, eventhough our stay started on May 7th!
When we asked the receptionist to talk to the Manager to ask him smtg, he advised us he WAS the HTL Manager WHICH was NOT the case!
Lack of English language at the reception, so it's very difficult to get the right service & to be well understood.
Day receptionists are NOT very eager to help the customer! You can see it from their faces!

Breakfast: very good
Orientation: very good - compared to city attractions & ATATURK Airport on the European side of the city.
Possibility to have luch & dine.
Comfortable bedrooms..
Check minibar if works properly, especially when it's hot / summer season.

Plenty of bars, hotels and boutiques open quite late in the vincinity of the hotel!
Nighshops: 2 minutes walk from hotel
Taxi: better have it ordered from hotel (once you are there) -> it will help U to avoid from being stolen ...(it's not ALWAYS the case of course... but when you ask the htl to call for a cab, it's a well known company and they will NOT try to cheat U).

Be really carefull when paying the TAXI DRIVER ! ! ! ! ! !
We had the case giving a 50TKL (=27€), while searching for another 4TKL, the driver did smtg quick we did not see... and said to us that we had given only a banknote of 5TKL!!!
As other cars were queuwing behind us, we had to quickly leave the cab... So we gave another 50TKL banknote!!
We paid the double... It went so fast we did not notice anything!
We felt smtg wrong.. But after (re)thinking and remembering that we still had a 50TKL banknote, we 've understood that we have been stolen.

RESTAURANTS: waouw! difficcult to find a bad restaurant...
Carefull when you ask a good bottle of red, white or rosé wine... Ask to check FIRST the price of it!

GREAT CITY
Worth going by boat/ferry (1hour boat ride) to the Prince Islands!
3 islands which are amazing, quiet and so beautiful!

Room Tip: NO Fitness Center, NO Swim pool,... that's the reason why I have given 1bowl to both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSantorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Riva hotel located at Taksim area is excellent with facilities
friendly staff
splendid delicious breakfast
in walking distance to Taksim square and beyouglu street
because of closing work taksim area to traffic the walk is difficult ,moody

Room Tip: choose rooms above 5 th floor to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ephesusguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Warm rooms, cozy, clean. Full breakfast and helpful stuff. Only 3 minutes walk from Istiklal street although we had to pass from moody streets because of the closing and renovation of Taxim Square. Wifi connection was difficult for some reason.. Overall a good impression :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Nice hotel. Good location in Taksim. Just now Taksim is underconstraction and is so difficult to reach it. Even GPS gone mad:)) Probably some label be good idea.Even policement's dont know right way to reach hotel:))
Hope Taksim square be ready soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliyaKostova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Its location is just very near to Taksim Square..It's a very clean hotel. the rooms are just fine and have a nice look. The staff were good and cooperative..The only thing that i didnt like is that they dont put tissues (Klenex) in the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aastyre99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#917 of 1,163 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
#246 of 1,163 in Istanbul
190 reviews
Beyoglu
Cartoon Hotel
Cartoon Hotel
#1,004 of 1,163 in Istanbul
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Eresin Taxim Premier
Eresin Taxim Premier
#549 of 1,163 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#575 of 1,163 in Istanbul
258 reviews
Beyoglu
Nova Plaza
Nova Plaza
#839 of 1,163 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Hotel

Address: Aydede Caddesi 8 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#365 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing