We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Peninsula
Ranked #233 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a great time, the hotel is clean, secure, and located within walking distance of many attractions, as well as public transport. The staff were all very helpful and provided us with good information regarding the best ways to accomplish our itinerary. We stayed in the single 4th floor room, and basically had our own private balcony overlooking the Bosphorus. The only downside was spotty WiFi up there, but really that is not a big deal. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top floor room, apart from WiFi signal, afforded amazing views, and easy access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacSmith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    223
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
75
314
59
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Peninsula was recommended to us by friends who stayed there a couple of years ago and is well located being just a few minutes walk from Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and the Metro station. The rooms are a reasonable size, comfortable and clean - everything works! The breakfast is simple but sufficient and can be taken on the rooftop terrace which has good views. The staff are friendly and helpful and Zeki was an excellent host. We'll certainly recommend the hotel to friends who are visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303 at the back of the hotel on the second floor. While it didn't have an inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who stayed there the previous year and they were right on the money friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. If you don't know Istanbull this is a good place to start ,the location is right in the hart of the old quarter in one of the best streets full of restaurants,a two minute walk to the old palace and about the same to the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofya, Grand Bazaar and spice markets around a 15 to 20 minute strolle through streets full of Turkish light and rug shops and you name it.
Hotel Peninsula Rooms are modest but very clean and tidy,there is a nice rooftop terrace where breakfast was served as part of our stay. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I like the Pensinsula. It has a great location, is well maintained, inexpensive and has charming and helpful staff. I stayed two nights, enjoyed their well organised transfers to and from the Airport and a decent breakfast with a lovely view in the morning. It's not luxury but for EUR 55 a night at the heart of one of the most fascinating cities in the world - what more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely tastefully decorated rooms, a delicious breakfast each day, great location in the old city and friendly helpful staff. What more can you ask for? The view of the Bospherous from the top floor is amazing and invites you to linger.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromMelbourne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I along with two friends spent 3 nights at Hotel Peninsula in early October and we had a great time. The place is located right in the heart of Old Town Istanbul which made getting to the major attractions just a short walk from the hotel. It's small, almost like a B&B. The nightly rate was very reasonable and they arranged pick-up and drop off to the airport. Each morning they provided a wonderful breakfast. The owner Zeki was very helpful in providing us info on what to see and where to eat. If you are going to Istanbul for sightseeing, give this place a serious look.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredguy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in Hotel Peninsula. The room is kept very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel is excellent as it is close to all the places of interest, restaurants and the tram. The top balcony has a beautiful view of the Bosphorus especially at night. Breakfast is good. We will certainly return to this hotel if we visit Istanbul again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the top floor as it has a fantastic view of the Bosphorus through the bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#249 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#458 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#327 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#280 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#210 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Property: Hotel Peninsula
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing