We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing city break”
Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Peninsula
Ranked #239 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
“What an amazing city break”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just back from 5 nights in Istanbul and I´m still thinking about the fantastic time we´ve had. Hotel Peninsula is just the perfect place to stay while discovering this great city. The location couldn´t be better. The room was very clean and despite the central location in Sultanhamet area very quiet. The view from roof terrace is breathtaking especially at a calm cosy night and there are many restaurants and watering holes just around the corner giving the whole area an easy mediterrenean atmosphere. The staff is just grand and very helpful, especially Zeki, the manager who is always there if you need a good advice or suggestion. With his knowledge and fine sophisticated humor he´s just the positive backbone of the whole place! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiancaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    223
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
75
315
59
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from 3 nights in Istanbul and wanted to say that we found this to be a fantastic place to stay. Perfect location, very nice breakfast and the staff friendly and professional. The room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast and sunset view from the roof terrace was amazing.

Had a great time in Istanbul made all the better by the wonderful Zeki always friendly and attentive. Thank you Zeki! We didn’t want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Cosy hotel in beautiful Sultanhamet area...super central, with most of Istanbul breath-taking sites at walking distance (5 minutes). The terrace has an amazing view, you can have the very good breakfast they serve or a drink facing the gorgeous Blue Mosque. Super hotel manager Zeki is the cherry on the cake. Kind, always available if you need suggestions or if you need to book a restaurant, hammam, a tour...and most important, he does all this with a warm smile on his face!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Disclaimer: I didn't stay at this hotel. Why am I writing a review of it then? Because the management was so helpful! Let me explain:
I was suppose to stay at the Hotel Peninsula but didn't book fast enough. By the time I was ready to book, my room had been rented out. That should have been the end of it as it was totally my fault... However! Zeki,
The manager helped me book another hotel and a cab to pick me up from the airport anyway. He was super responsive, helpful and friendly. I asked if I could see the Terrance and a room so I could report back. Rooms and bathrooms are nicely nicely furnished and CLEAN. Terrance is lovely as is the views!

If you are the sort of traveler who just needs a comfortable, affordable place to rest your head at the end of a long day of sight seeing, this is a great hotel in a great spot with a very very helpful staff!! Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchik24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel Peninsula is within walking distance of all the major sites in Istanbul. Breakfast is served each morning on the hotel terrace, which has a lovely view of the Sea of Marmara. The buffet is prepared by Fatma, who always welcomed us with a smile and a hot cup of coffee or tea. The front desk is managed by Zeki, who could not have been more accommodating. He provided excellent advice on where to dine, where to go for a Turkish bath, and which of the numerous tour companies to use for a Bosphorus River cruise. The beds at Hotel Peninsula are quite firm, but this tends to be an issue at many hotels. The size of the room was actually bigger than what we had expected when traveling to Europe. Zeki was wonderful about arranging transportation for my friend and me to and from the airport. We chose Turkey as our destination to celebrate turning 50 this year. We could not have been happier with our experience at Hotel Peninsula!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolliec2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Small hotel in Sultanahmet, very central place in Istanbul, close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, restaurants (Cafe Rumist is ten metres away). Our trip back from Taksim Square on a Saturday late night was a bit of an adventure, as the two main bridges were closed off and we had to find a taxi to drive us over the third (far away) bridge. Zeki was very helpful in answering all touristic questions we had, and also thre rest of the guys and the staff at the Hanedan hotel across the street (belongs to the same ower) were very hospitable. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hotel peninsula is in a great location in Istanbul, with a beautiful view from the breakfast terrace , very nice place very close to historical landmarks and restaurants . I absolutely loved that you were treated like an individual rather than just another customer. The prices are reasonable. Everyone was extremely nice ,polite , helpful and friendly . Staff at the hotel greeting me as I would pass them in the lobby and were always ready to answer my questions , showing me on a map how to get places , and helping to carry my luggage on arrival and departure. The room was always clean and comfy. The atmosphere of the hotel was beautiful.

Overall , I had a Fantastic experience I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay again if I returned to Istanbul !!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you liked our Hotel and Istanbul. We wish to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#259 of 1,149 in Istanbul
445 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#496 of 1,149 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#374 of 1,149 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,149 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#225 of 1,149 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#478 of 1,149 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Property: Hotel Peninsula
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing