We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service with wonderful location!!”
Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Peninsula
Ranked #236 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service with wonderful location!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I have traveled to Istanbul many times with my family and have found Peninsula to be the place we will always stay. The location is perfect and the hotel is a beautiful little gem. I especially love the rooftop, in the summer I can lay on hammocks and read with Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque in my peripheal vision. the breakfast is fantastic, with homemade yogurt and fruit preserves and real brewed coffee. On one occasion I was unable to get a family room at Peninsula for last 2 nights so they booked me at their new hotel grand peninsula which was just as superb. I especially loved the clean bedding and the pretty well decorated rooms. The manager, Huseyin, is always very helpful and accomodating to me. He always makes sure my trips to Istanbul are comfortable and safe. I have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and find Peninsula to be my favorite, in it's elegant simplicity.I passed through south of turkey to antalya and isparta for the rest of our trip.if someone interest to see a small town with lovely location,pure green lake and friendly people,they should go to Egridir which locates north of isparta. I am so looking forward to visiting Turkey again and beginning my trip with a few days Peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mc_cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 24 December 2009
Thank you very much for your kind review about us. We are glad to know that you always prefer our hotel for your visit. We would like to let you know that we now serving the breakfast in our redesigned saloon..Please keep in your mind that we are always here to make your stay comfortable. We look forward to get chance to see you here at our hotel again.

Best Wishes,
Hüseyin Gültekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    223
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
75
315
59
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This is a basic clean hotel with a great rooftop deck view of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. Major tourist attractions are withhin walking distance. Laundry available.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60RETIRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
Thank you for your appraisal about us.Believe that we really enjoyed having your stay here at Hotel Peninsula. We look forward to welcoming you here again.

Best Regards,
Nejdet Kurtaran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Personally I would stay here for the views from the roof terrace alone - sitting with a fantastic breakfast (or watching the sun go down in the evening) with the aya sofia, the blue mosque and the water around you was spectacular. It's fantastically located for sight-seeing and the metro, and was very easy to reach from the airport on local transport. The room was clean and good sized with a very nice bathroom. My only issue would be that it was pretty loud outside (to be expected in Istanbul I guess, and probably worsened that in the basement room we were very close to ground level) and the air-con didn't work in our room as the remote was out of batteries (again, not a big issue and could have been fixed by us asking for it). Helpful staff who were happy to let you use the computer there for online check in meant we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
We would like to thank you for review. We are glad to hear that you had beed satisfied with your stay at Hotel Peninsula. We would like to mention that we take into consideration the whole review and let you know that we changed all the remotes or air-cond. in the rooms because of the battery issue occured on that days. We can say that you will never have this kind of even small problems if you get chance to visit turkey and stay at our hotel.

We really look forward to seeng you here again.

Take care of yourself,
Hüseyin Gültekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Good value, great location, fine service. When I complained about a boat trip purchased at the hotel, they immediately refunded ALL my money - even though I was willing to pay at least half the cost. I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYCLoftdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
Thank you ver much for your kind review about us. We are so appreciated to hear your positive comments and would like to mention that we look forward to welcoming you here again. We would like to state that once again as it is seen in the boat trip organization, client satisfaction always comes first than anything else.This is one of the principles of Hotel Peninsula.

Sincerely,
Hüseyin Gültekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. They had so many tips about where to eat, places to see in Istanbul, they booked shuttles for us etc.. etc... Really great.

The rooms were basic but nice enough and the terrace on the roof where breakfast is served (again the breakfast guy was amazingly friendly) is lovely.

Great location - very close to (i.e. walking distance) Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque, shopping, the tram, a street with loads of restaurants, basically everything you need.

Free internet.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M00sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
Thank you very much your kind reviews about us. We are glad to know that you had been satisfied with your stay here at Peninsula Hotel. Believe that we really enjoyed having you stay here and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes,
Hüseyin Gültekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in Sep 2009.

Had a triple room. It was much smaller than i expected and hence the room got cramped once the bags were taken inside. The bathroom is reasonably fine in size and kept very clean.

We enjoyed our stay here because of the location. The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Sultanahment tram station are all within walking distance.

The lane just outside the hotel is filled with other hotels and restaurants and has a super atmosphere evening onwards with people just chilling out on the rugs and pillows kept outside the restaurants. This place remains lively till atleast about 0100 am and it was great just walking around the place at night. Even the lil grocery stores are open till about midnight.

The hotel staff is extremely courteous and helpful. They made arrangements for airport pick up and drop for 15 euros each way. Never mind the no. of people.

The breakfast consisted of cheese, salads, boiled eggs, cake, tea, coffee & juice. Very very basic but good enough for the price. It is served on the terrace from where you get an awesome view of the Bosphorus.

I stayed at the Grand Peninsula too before catching my flight out of Turkey on my way back. Didn't find anything grand about it. Preferred Peninsula more than the Grand Peninsula.

I will certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amitmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 23 December 2009
We would like to thank you for the time that you spent on writing this review and let you know that we really enjoyed having you stay here. Believe that we take into consideration every sentence written in the rewiev. We hope that we would get chance to guest you here in the future.

Best Regards,
Hüseyin Gültekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Stayed 7 nights in this very basic, clean little hotel. (No TV or radio) Thanks to Erhan, Huseyin and Nejdet for their never failing politeness and willingness to help when asked.Tasty homemade yoghurt and Turkish breakfast with fresh ingredients-no cereals here. Great ambience eating on roof-top with views over Bosphorus..and closeness to main sites is excellent. Dozens of hotels nearby to choose from but friendliness means we'd stay here again

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheilaDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dersim, owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Thank you for your appraisal and to let you know we enjoyed having you stay here. We hope you to see here in the future. Kind regards, Huseyin Gultekin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#266 of 1,141 in Istanbul
444 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#470 of 1,141 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#367 of 1,141 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#294 of 1,141 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#231 of 1,141 in Istanbul
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Property: Hotel Peninsula
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing