We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspiring and tranquil place you will never forget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caferaga Medresesi

Caferaga Medresesi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.79*
and up
Classic Walking Tour of Old Istanbul
Ranked #65 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Inspiring and tranquil place you will never forget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stumbling across this beautiful gallery and art centre has just added another dimension to my already amazing holiday in Istanbul. Awakening all my senses and moving beyond all my expectations... the traditional Ebru art, welcoming atmosphere, beautiful music have really touched my heart. I am forever grateful to Coskun Uzunkaya for being very helpful and introducing me to this wonderful technique. Coskun has inspired me to use Ebru art to develop my other interests as well as learn more about Turkish and Islamic arts. I can wholeheartedly recommend visit to Caferaga Medresesi ... for a complete Istanbul thrill!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MajaD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    66
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dip away from the bustle of Sultanhamet into beautiful center for traditional Turkish art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

It is hard to express just how special this small studio space and cafe in the heart of Sultanhamet is. If you don't know that it's there, it is easy to miss, but it would be a shame if you did. As soon as you walk down the cobble stone stairs and into Caferaga Medresesi's tranquil atrium (designed my Mimar Sinan), you feel the stress of Istanbul's crowded streets fading away. Poke your nose into each small studio and observe traditional Turkish crafts being made and taught by master craftsmen, and enjoy a turkish coffee, cay, and any number of other snacks while soaking in the center's creative vibes. It is a perfect spot to park your weary traveler's feet.

I first came to the center with a friend, who took me there for coffee, when I had just moved to Istanbul. By chance, I came the week before classes started and was able to sign up for the metalsmithing class. Coming here week after week and getting to know the warm community of Caferaga Medresesi has been one of the biggest highlights of my life in Istanbul. It is a place, where one can observe the process of traditional crafts such as metalwork, ebru (paper marbling), calligraphy, and ceramics, amongst others. I would recommend it to anyone seeking repose from the crowds in Sultanhamet!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pamplemousse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You'll be impressed when you watch live the traditional Ebru(marbling) art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

As a professional tour guide, I strongly recommend you to visit Caferaga Medresesi where is located next to Aya Sofya Museum. It was built in 1559 by the chief architect of Ottomans, Mimar Sinan as a religous school(madrasah), had a number of restorations until today and it was converted into a traditional art centre by the Turkish Cultural Service Foundation in 1989 with many workshops,15 classrooms-exhibition rooms and a garden where traditional Turkish handicrafts such as calligraphy, jewellery, ceramics/tiles, ebru have been taught, made and sold.
The structure is entered through the main gate which leads into the inner courtyard, around which the former learning rooms are located. There is a restaurant inside that offers a variety of Turkish dishes.
Just nearby the main road, it is possible to see the gallery of the artworks all done by the artist, their students or the trainees. Mr. Coskun Uzunkaya welcomes you in the gallery, gives you information about the collections and he is very good at calligraphy and Ebru (marbling) art! You should watch him doing his amazing Ebru and of course you can buy it as soon as he finishes it:) It will be an amazing experience for you that you will always remember....I take my group there for a while even though sometimes the place is not described in the schedule! Don't skip Caferaga Medresesi ;)

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Guide_Mustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two reasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I have two reasons for going to this place very often when I am in Istanbul. A beautiful courtyard and the gallery of the Turkish traditional handicraft which is managed by an Ebru (Marbling) and calligraphy artist Coskun.Uzunkaya. Coskun is a very knowledgeable person and he always answers very kindly your all questions about the history of the place or traditional Turkish artwork.
I read my books in the garden, drink Turkish coffee and spend time in the art gallery by looking at the beautiful Turkish handicrafted pieces. This place is even more beautiful during the spring time. Why do you wait then?

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank SFO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The right place....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

....after a whole morning walk!! Very calm and nice garden, with smart people ready to explain you where we are and what they do here.
Most important thing: Inside there's a small kitchen, you can eat very good and natural typical turkish food. Well cooked, well served and at extremely competitive prices...try the Caferaga Special if you like particular tastes...or keep the meatballs (a mix lamb/veal if I am not wrong) for traditional tastes. Excellent the tea and biscuits they offered us at the end of the lunch!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank canno77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caferaga Medresesi also viewed

 

Been to Caferaga Medresesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing