We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Nights in Istanbul ...wow...”
Review of Almina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almina Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“7 Nights in Istanbul ...wow...”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

organised by BA this hotel was a gem, we had a twin room on the fourth floor next to the kitchen, no noise, it was so quiet, the most comfortable room for ages. The breakfast was just excellent and the fresh squeezed orange juice out of this world.Mehmet the steward was so helpful as was Dibel in reception, actually all the staff were great, friendly and the whole experience was five star. The position is just under the blue mosque and if you are walkers its in the hotel area near all the tourist sites. If you are lazy the taxis are just two minutes away at the end of the hippodrome or five minutes walk to the trams.A real "boutique" hotel

Room Tip: the fourth floor in high season may be noisy because of a roof terrace above however in march no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    130
    32
    5
    7
See reviews for
149
139
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had 3 nights at the Almina last week and once we'd found it, tucked away in the back streets, we appreciated its position, so close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofya and Topkapi Palace. Our room was on the top floor and had a very interesting view. The breakfast buffet offered an excellent choice and there was freshly squeezed orange juice every morning. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, from providing us with a plug converter to answering questions about registration numbers and dog tags! The room was spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable, the bathroom was always lovely and warm. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Room 407 or 403 are both on the top floor and so have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from a three-night stay at the Almina Hotel. What struck us most was how friendly and helpful all the staff were, particularly Sibel on reception and Mehmet, who was always available to offer assistance, advice and numerous cups of tea! The lady who organises breakfast was lovely, making sure that the food was constantly replenished and that we had plenty of freshly squeezed orange juice, and our room maid was a ray of sunshine who greeted us with a huge smile every morning.

The room (304) was on the street side of the building and was quiet, although we would be happy to stay on the rail side when we next visit as the trains no longer run along this track, so no noise issues. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, warm and well appointed, with an extremely comfortable bed, a safe, TV and well-stocked minibar. The bathroom had a good shower, a well-lit mirror, a hairdryer and magnifying shaving mirror. Toiletries and disposable slippers were provided.

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, served in a sunny room overlooking the Sea of Marmara. A large buffet with all sorts of breads, cheeses, cereals, yoghurt, etc. and some delicious jams, there were some very nice pastries, halva and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Although it was chilly being February, we spent some time every day on the rooftop terrace looking out to the ships plying the waters of the Sea of Marmara. The Blue Mosque can also be seen from the terrace, and we imagine it would be a lovely spot to relax and enjoy a drink in the warmer months.

The hotel is located on the seaward side of the historic area and is literally five minutes' walk from Sultanahmet Park, the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, the Mozaic Museum and the Basilica Cistern. The Topkapi Palace, Archaeolgical Museums and Gulhane Park are another few minutes away, and the Grand Bazaar a 15-20 minute walk. There are many restaurants and shops in the area, and the nearby Arasta Bazaar has a wide range of good quality wares.

We highly recommend this hotel, particularly if you are on a short break and want to be close to the major sites.

Room Tip: The rooms on the railway side of the hotel are probably brighter as are not overlooked, and trains n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariama9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent 3 days here last week and the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, especially my 3 year old. The hotel is very close to all the major attractions, good wifi connection and within easy reach of a tram station. All the staff were very helpful especially Mehmet, Feramoudi and Cibel. They provide plug converters at reception and are more than happy to organise tours for you. Unfortunately we did not have time to use their spa but we are planning to return during the school holidays for a longer break. The staff at the hotel were excellent and their service was faultless. The only thing I wasnt entirely happy about was that the breakfast menu was very similar every morning. They had a a very healthy buffet spread but by the 3rd day it was a bit monotonous. Overall I would recommend this hotel without any reservation, especially if you have young children.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Sofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our family spent five days The Almina hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mehmet, the desk clerk, was thoroughly professional. He cheerfully arranged for all of our sightseeing tours ,went out of his way to arrange car to from the airport, he even arranged a masseuse to obtain massages for the family. His assistant, the bellboy, Mehmet,same name was also extremely professional, frequently asking us if we wanted tea or coffee and making sure that we were happy at. The breakfast buffet was extraordinarily delicious. Even my two children enjoyed eating the various pastries and fresh fruit. The hotel is situated in a convenient location. There's a grocery store literally almost adjacent to the hotel when you can purchase additional items. I highly recommend this hotel. I plan to return to Istanbul again. This will be the hotel the Almina where I will stay. This is like a home away from home. I highly recommend it. This was my first visit is Turkey. Out of all the vacations I have taken. I believe this location was if not one of the best vacation spots.

Room Tip: Get a family room if traveling with three or more people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed this hotel 4 days fantastic 4 days for us The staff were excellent. very attentive and helpful they always ask turkish coffee turkish tea complimentary they were very polite.the decor was cute, cosy and authentically Turkish. IT was very conveniently located in Sultanahment. 2 minute walk from the top sites old city area hagia sofia topkapi palace and lots of historical places.breakfast was ok.everything was ok.i really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatiana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked this Hotel on Expedia and ended up with a triple room and a pull out bed. A screw-up with Expedia. Nothing o do with the Hotel. The room was a bit cramp but enough space to move around comfortably and but bags etc. The hotel staff were accommodating and friendly. They recommended a place to have our son's jacket cleaned (vomit-covered thanks to some motion sickness)The breakfast was varied and there was stuff the kids would eat too(Big problem when in foreign countries!) I only wish we had discovered the terrace with the ocean on one side and the Blue Mosque behind us before our last day! This was an excellently located Hotel and with the lovely staff it was an ideal place to stay. I'll be back.

Room Tip: try to get a bedroom where the windows don't open to the railway track behind the Hotel. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goingtomove2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#58 of 1,156 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#90 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Amber Hotel
#88 of 1,156 in Istanbul
649 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#343 of 1,156 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almina Hotel

Property: Almina Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok. No:27 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#16 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#157 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Almina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is just steps away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, offering well-appointed rooms with free wireless internet access, in the historic heart of Istanbul. Almina Hotel offers elegant rooms with modern amenities, including free wireless internet access and satellite TV. From single rooms to family rooms, there is accommodation to meet the needs of most holidaymakers. Start the day with a sumptuous buffet breakfast, with hot and cold dishes. Stroll around the historic district of Sultanahmet, taking in the famous sights of Topkapi Palace Museum and the Grand Bazaar. Head back to Almina Hotel for a drink on the rooftop terrace with views across the Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almina Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing