We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant manager and bad welcoming”
Review of Tayhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tayhan Hotel
Ranked #1,004 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrogant manager and bad welcoming”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked this hotel 5 months ago, but still the hotel didn't have a room for us when we arrivied and we were suppose to stay in the hotel 4 nights only. Instead the hotel sent us to a hotel called "Red Rose" (50m distance from Tayhan), which you can not even call "a hotel".The hotel room was dirty and the toilet didn't work at all, no space in the bathroom and no clean towels, the sheets were like used already. Horrible experience.

We didn't want to stay in this hotel, so our travelagent's help we got transferred to another hotel where they never received our booking! finally at 11 o´clock we got to a normal hotel. The next morning we came back to Tayhan and we got a room until our last day of our holiday. The staff in the hotel were really kind and helpful, but the manager of the hotel was very arrogant and unfriendly, he refused to talk with us about this overbooking problem, which happened. We felt in the beginning that the hotel manager just "left us", this is what a guest should never feel by the hotel.This is not good behaving at all from the manager of the hotel!

We will come back again to Istanbul for sure, but never to this hotel again.

As below, it seems like there has been a lot of overbookings in the hotel so be careful when booking this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
19
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Tayhan a couple of weeks ago. We spent 6 nights there. The hotel was lovely, clean, comfortable, in the quarter of the Grand Bazaar, within walking distance to all major attractions, and near both bus and tramway stop. Also, there are lots of shops along the street and especially an excellent bakery
The room was not very big but clean and comfortable, so was the bathroom.
Breakfast was not very varied, international but with a special regard to Turkish food (cheese, ham, olives and bread). However, it was good quality and perfectly appropriate to get us going through the our busy morning wandering.
The staff speak some English and they're lovely and very helpful (as most Turkish people really!)
Excellent ratio quality/price! I would definitely advise it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aneres1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Next time in Istanbul, I am coming back there. Excellent service, rooms really clean. On the down side, breakfast pretty average coffee horrible! Better buy some instant coffee 2 in 1 and take it with yourself :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hi all. I spent 5 days in Istanbul during Easter 2013 and I chose this hotel considering the pictures and opinions provided here.
I am satisfied of my decision. The hotel is situated in a street full of life, shops and small stores, near Beyazit (recommended square and mosque) and Grand Bazaar. In 2 min times you can find a street in Kumpkaki where you would be able to enjoy good sea food while listening to Turkish folk music.
The rooms are small but very clean, and the toilet has been recently renovated. The staff is very nice and always willing to help.
In conclusion, i would recommend it with no doubt. The relation quality-price is really good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evaescrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This is a great hotel with a really good location. For the price, the rooms are quite luxurious, spacious and beautiful and I would definitely recommend people to stay there when they visit Istanbul!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ishrat_Newaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Average hotel. A little run down but for the price it is acceptable. The breakfast gets boring after the second day. O.K. for tourist on a tight budget. The location is quite o.k. but some walking distance to the nearest tram or train line. Takes about 20 minutes to get to the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaw002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

in my recent experience of turkish hotels it was about average.firstly,they transferred me to another hotel 50m down the road on my first night<i have still yet to stay in the turkish hotel i actually booked on my first night in the past 12months>moved in on day 2of a three day stay.room fine but the shower leaked somewhere from the plug to the bathroom floor.original tv did not work,second worked sometimes.very few channels so didnt bother after that,although i did report it.brekkie average,the same every day.overall well located for 'strolling around town'tourist.3days was enough for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Mark Hotel
#875 of 1,156 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Barin Hotel
Barin Hotel
#665 of 1,156 in Istanbul
235 reviews
Beyoglu
Serene Hotel Istanbul
Serene Hotel Istanbul
#446 of 1,156 in Istanbul
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
May Hotel Istanbul
#541 of 1,156 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,042 of 1,156 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Dara Hotel Istanbul
#281 of 1,156 in Istanbul
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tayhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tayhan Hotel

Property: Tayhan Hotel
Address: Turkeli Cad No. 9 | Kumkapi, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,004 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tayhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tayhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tayhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing