We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but poor training...no hospitality spirit at all...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmara Pera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marmara Pera Hotel
Ranked #155 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff but poor training...no hospitality spirit at all...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Anyway, long story short, the hotel has problems charging my Amex card and the whole process just so annoying since the card is perfectly ok to use...so all those troubles just because they don't know how to charge Amex cards...not to mention the staff calling us our room number instead of our names...just really bad training here...

Room Tip: Higher level, lower level one it's very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenyijessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time write down your ideas.

As The Marmara Collection, we accept Visa, Mastercard, Diner's Club and American Express as credit card types and our staff is trained in their first week for the appropriate usage of Point Of Sale machines. However, due to the rare membership of American Express in Turkey, it is unfortunate that problems may occur from time to time. I would like to apologize on behalf of my team for this convenience.

Hope you will give another chance for a better The Marmara experience.

Sincerely yours,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    442
    145
    53
    34
See reviews for
141
355
80
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxemburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We went there in may 2013 for four days to discover Istanbul. The location in the heart of the city is great if you want to have party, party, party. Good breakfast and amazing view from the top of the building. Drawbacks on our trip were the disco next to the hotel that made it hardly possible to sleep on the 16th floor, that the bar on the rooftop that was not opened yet and the pool that was not meeting the expectations from the Internet pictures. Inventory for sure saw better days.

Room Tip: The higher the better, book view to Bosporus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edelweisbewunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it surely is very important for especially myself and my colleagues.

Beyoğlu is the most famous part of the city in terms of entertainment. Being at the heart of the city has its inevitable pros and cons. One of the cons is the noise effect due to the fact that the clubs have the permission to play music until 3 a.m.

On the other hand, we are glad to hear your satisfaction with our breakfast buffet and the hotel.

The great news is yet to come: The rooftop bar is now open and ready for you!

Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I'm a frequent traveller to Istanbul. I usually stay at another hotel which is well known for its excellence.. However due to my usual hotel's unavailability, i picked up this hotel from my agent's list. I stayed for a week and it was a very good experience. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and modern, the view is breathtaking, location is perfect. The breakfast area is rather small, it can get very busy, but that's all. Mikla restaurant on the top floor has a great atmosphere, amazing view but a very arrogant and plain rude manager, i'll leave that comment separately on Mikla's page on tripadvisor. The hotel itself exceeded my expectations

Room Tip: Top floors have less noise and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your priceless review with us.

The Marmara Collection is a Turkish brand that expands with strong yet stabilized moves, keeping in mind that not as big as some other international chains but a real competitor with the force of unique Turkish hospitality.

We are very happy to hear you ended up with satisfaction upon your discovery of The Marmara Pera Hotel, indeed.

Whenever you or your acquaintances plan an İstanbul trip, you know where your local house is...

Warm Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Marmara Pera was probably a gorgeous hotel in its heyday. Unfortunately, it is showing its age and it's service does nothing to compensate.

We checked in at 8 in the morning and our room, understandably, was not ready. However, when we came back at 4, we were given our key and entered a room that still was not ready. The bed was made but had obviously been slept in, the trash hadn't been emptied and the carpet had not been vacuumed. A call to reception got us no where so my husband tracked down someone personally. After the employee came up to see the condition of the room, we were moved to a smaller room on the backside of the building. Eventually, the person from reception who checked us in came up and told us our new room was an upgrade because it overlooked the Golden Horn (that could be true if you were up higher but on the 8th floor, all we could see was an abandoned building across the street). He told us he would send someone up with our new keys. After waiting 30 minutes, my husband, again, went down to the lobby to retrieve them. The man at reception, the same one who told us we had been upgraded, tried to give him keys for the room we had abandoned. Needless to say, we spent the first night expecting someone else to be given our room!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

As The Marmara Pera Hotel Management, we care about our guests' ideas.
You may be sure that your message is delivered to all related departments and will be taken to consideration based on the information you have shared.

In life, there are times that the harder you try, the bigger you fail and at those times, I remind myself of Murphy's Law: "Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong."

I would like to apologize for this upset occurence.

We would be honoured if you prefer The Marmara Pera for your next stay for a better experience.

Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Location: 2 minutes on foot from the main commercial street.
View: Both ocean view and city view.
Soundproofing: Not so good, earplug recommended.
Shower: hot water inconsistent
Facility: Gym on -2 floor and pool on 19 floor

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lord_cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your neat and to-the-point review.

Our Superior Rooms have either City or Golden Horn View; you may choose the places you will visit the other day, from your room.

We really care about our guests in The Marmara Pera and we supply earplugs at reception.

It is a pleasure for us to host you in our property once again.

Warm Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Don't let the road works outside put you off, this is still a nice hotel with top notch restaurants. Take ear plugs while the underpass is being installed under the main square outside - the inconvenience now may help solve the horrendous road jams in the future.

Reception fairly efficient at sorting out my booking problem, however my colleagues experienced a number of difficulties - smoking rooms instead of non-smoking, rooms which were very noisy, one was even asked to move for no particular reason though on the plus side they got a better view. Bathrooms are a little tired but you can't fault the service and quality at breakfast.

Loved the location with shops and restaurants nearby there's a trendy restaurant on the top floor and on the ground floor which is great to watch the world go by over a drink or a very civilised lunch menu, Starbucks for those needing a familiar 'fix' can be found just outside as well. For the non-foodies out there a McDonalds is next door though I can't see why you would want to as there is so much good food to be had a short walk from the door. A conveniently located taxi office sits next to the hotel which explains the number of parked taxis outside turning down your fare.

Room Tip: Aim high to avoid street noise 7 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelmchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your ideas with us.

Depending on your comment, I would like to point out that you stayed in our 5-Star hotel at the Taksim Square, The Marmara Taksim.

Since we are a big family of 6 hotels and 3 residences, we are glad to hear your satisfaction with The Marmara Collection.

Please let me kindly remind you that, you are always more than welcome to any of our properties.

Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canakkale, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Although this is the same group as the Marmara Taksim, the quality and standard of service was far below the Marmara Taksim. Reception staff tend to answer the phone when they are in the middle of serving you!! Really annoying.
They charge for parking despite seeing my car in the street most days!! I can park in the street myself.
The rooms were small, even my colleague complained and he was on his own. I had booked a triple room, it was a real squeeze to get a 3rd bed in, left no room to move!!
They advertise well but do not live up their claims, the photos look good but not realistic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidIDBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your ideas with us.

The Marmara Pera is a four-star lifestyle hotel and our standard rooms which are called as Superior City View rooms have a decent size of 19 square-meters, yet we advise our guests that the rooms are convenient for double use.

There is a parking lot at the basement of the hotel and whenever it gets fulled, we use our outer parking lot which is in front of the hotel. Please be kindly informed that the road you may have left your car is not allowed for parking and there was a high probability that it would be removed by policemen.

On your next trip to İstanbul, we would like to show you a better The Marmara experience, if the chances are given.

Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#173 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#130 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Pera
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#140 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Property: The Marmara Pera Hotel
Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#180 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing