We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a discovery of Istanbul while staying at the right place, confortable hotel and smart and sympathetic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marmara Pera Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My family stayed during seven nights at the Marmara Pera from October 23rd to 30th 2013 ; we were four people in a family suite, parents in one room and teen agers 17 and 16 in adajcent room with a small private entry leading to both rooms ; we want to tell you that we were fully pleased with our week at the Marmara Pera, for many reasons : we have been kindly greeted at our arrival by the reception staff, and then we have been efficiently and sympathetically attended to during the entire stay, each member of the staff with his or her own personnality contributed to an agreable vacation for us at your place ; the situation of the hotel in Beyoglu was very convenient :

near the old tramway, near a tube station, near the Tunel funicular, and with so many taxis passing by as well ; we enjoyed being so near from Istiklal Caddesi and yet protected from the noise of it at night ; we enjoyed very much the view from the rooms on Sultanahmet and the Golden Horn and on the Bosphorus when we were moved up on to the 17th floor for nights 5 to 7., the magnificent breakfasts and the staff attending at breakfast ; two of us enjoyed the swimming in the pool on the roof top ! and the four of us loved the view from the roof top

There is a pleasant, confortable and yet busy atmosphere in your hotel ; and we will very surely recommend it to our relations. we wanted to let this be known to you and your staff and wish you and your staff all the best, Sincerely yours

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for The Marmara Pera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited this hotel when they had just renovated some of the rooms, and now they renovated all, I believe, and also some other updates.

The positive part was that we arrived at 6 am, and managed to get a room even though check in is at 2 pm, and we also received excellent help from one in the reception when we had some problems, he went out of his way to assist us.
The beds were very nice and comfortable. The breakfast buffé is very good and has a lot of varieties. There is a a quite new gym in the basement, and they have since last time, also built a pool on the roof and now have a room bar with spectacular views.
The most positive part is probably the value for what you pay, to what you get.

The negative part is the standard of the rooms, they have their flaws and they are a little bit run down already. Cleaning good be much better and there were basically misses every day. We had a room close to the staff room, and that door slammed every time they went in our out, also, our door was not steady in place when closed, so ever time the staff door slammed, our door shook and sounded a lot. There is no ironing board or iron, but you can ask for it.

The location is excellent in Beyoglu and close to the the old town, Galata tower and the shopping street Istiklal caddesi. The hotel also has the much written about roof top restaurant Mikla, which is very good.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had great expectations for this hotel since a friend had given it such rave reviews. Unfortunately, it was a let down the minute I exited the arrivals terminal at the airport. The promised "greeter" was not waiting at arrivals; had to hunt person down by calling the hotel to inform it of missing driver. Very poor service as greeter should be waiting at least 30 minutes prior to arrival in case the plane arrives early and the passenger has no checked-in luggage to delay exit. 20 minute delay finding the greeter, then another 5 minute delay waiting for the car to be called up. Upon arriving at hotel, room wasn't ready. Instead of the room I'd been promised, I was given another because the hotel had allowed the prior guests to check-out late --even though they knew they had guests arriving who expected to be checked-in to their room soonest. Not only that, they allowed said late check out until 4PM - what idiot hotel does that when they know that guests are arriving (you picked up said guest 40 minutes earlier!!). Seeing as they already messed-up the airport pick up, one would think they'd be wise enough to make-up for it by making check-in easy and expeditious. One would think... but apparently "acceptable" (not even great) customer service isn't yet a part of the fabric of this establishment. While wi-fi was free, it's choppy and takes time to connect to when in the rooms. Lobby connection wasn't all that great either. Nice enough location but terrible service. Neither is this a business hotel as there is only a tiny table with a equally mediocre stool. Will not be staying at this establishment again. As much as 5 star hotel chains may be cookie-cutter, they at least conform to expected industry practice and good business sense not to piss off arriving guests by allowing departing guests to take up room to the former's inconvenience.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank DCUrbanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Marmara Pera, and if I go back to Istanbul I will definetely stay here again. Rooms are nice and cozy, the gym is quite complete so it allows a good workout, but the best thing is the terrace. During the day you can enjoy the swimming pool with breathtaking views of all of Istanbul, and then at night it becomes a trendy spot to have a drink and hang out.
Location is fantastic only 1 block away from Istiklal Avenue, and about a 25 minute walk to Sultanahmet. Finally staff was quite corteuos.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Capodicapi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful and detailed review.

The Marmara Pera is located in wonderland from a tourist's point of view. It is in a walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and also at the heart of the sophisticated yet intellectual spot of the city.

Our ultimate aim is to obtain our guests a comfy clean room and an excellent service combined with a warm, friendly smile, whatever the time and the conditions are.

You should see our swimming pool which is open throughout the year now and we would love to welcome you in our property for much better The Marmara experience!


Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Istanbul is a crazy traffic town. The Marmara Pera is a calming and hip oasis in Beyoglu. To begin, the lobby is chic and inviting--with a 1950s glam vibe without actually looking like it was last renovated in the 1950s. We were upgraded to a "sea view" but told that there were two twin beds in the room, but they would make it up to a king bed while we were at dinner, which we had reserved at Mikla, the hotel restaurant. Unfortunately, when we returned from dinner they had forgotten to do this, but it was simple enough for us to do ourselves. The rooms are nicely appointed, chic and clean. Bathrooms are a bit small with standard European step-in shower, but there was a rainfall shower and the bath products were nice. Mikla restaurant was spectacular, with excellent rifts on Turkish cuisine, with the most amazing views of all of Istanbul. There is also an amazing rooftop terrace, where the pool is located. Sadly, we didn't have enough time to use the pool, but it looked fantastic to have amazing views while swimming. The neighborhood is fun with a bunch of little restaurants within walking distance, but a bit off from the tourist site of Sultanahmet--in Istanbul traffic, it once took us 45 minutes to get back in a taxi. However, there is a taxi stand right outside, so it is easy to hire one at any time. We would love to come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a high view, so that you can have a view!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

At first, I must say that hotel is clean and the staff was polite as long as we had a problem. First problem was with a key,didn't unlock. Then we've seen rummaging through our stuff. Guys in charge of parking, scratched our car, beacuse they move them constantly, and my husband also saw the guy who kicked tyre and went inside, then rummaging shelves. Explanation of the management was that he checking the transission of car. Nonsense! They didn't admite guilt for our car, so we wanted to leave the hotel immediately, our vacation was ruined. The money for remaining two days wasn't return to us. I doubt i will ever visit Turkey.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Marmara Pera prior to a cruise. Although we had requested a non-smoking room, our room had a definite smokelike, irritating odor. In retrospect, we're not sure if it was the room, or the air pollution in the city. The window was open when we arrived, but there was no difference when we closed it.
It is recommended by the hotel that you not drink the tap water here. They give you two small bottles of water per day. We found a nearby small grocery and bought the additional water we needed, rather than paying 9 TL for a tall bottle. A tour guide told us the water is safe, but just has a bad taste. I don't know about that, but I can say that when I drew a bath after a long day of touring, the water was cafe' au lait colored.
Ask for a shower rather than a bathtub with shower at this hotel. The side of the tub in our room was over 2 feet high, and challenging even for me with my 5'8" height to negotiate. It did not feel safe.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and good. We received a coupon for a 20% discount from the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,257 reviews
Beyoglu
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Pera
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#61 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#256 of 1,161 in Istanbul
333 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#118 of 1,161 in Istanbul
478 reviews
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#215 of 1,161 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#179 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £54 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing