We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not the best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmara Pera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marmara Pera Hotel
Ranked #155 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

First the cons, breakfast was a very big disappointment.Bakery products was not fresh, same applies for their yogurt, so all in all breakfast was a total disappointment. Take my advice and don't go for breakfast.

Apart from that, the service was excellent, everybody was very helpful. I had a sea view room and it was cleaned everyday. Location is also perfect by all meanings.

Conclusion; I wouldn't stay in this hotel if it was not company paid as there are better options.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with theMarmaraHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank anonymous2014748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your ideas.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.

In The Marmara Pera, the rooms are designed to meet our guests' needs and the staff are trained to deliver an excellent service. The biggest pleasure for all of us is to hear our beloved guests' pleasant experiences.

I would like to apologize about our bakery products but all those products are made on a daily. Thank you for your feedback, we will make the necessary checks if there's something wrong.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Istanbul, once again.

Please be so kind to send me an e-mail directly on bschwindt@themarmarahotels.com before your next trip.


Best Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    442
    145
    53
    34
See reviews for
141
355
80
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

On the upside: spectacular view from the rooftop bar. Location is very good in such a large city, in a lively area. Staff are friendly and helpful.

On the downside: rooms are small and depending on which floor you are on, you had better close the curtains when you step out the shower unless you want to show a surprise. Reception desk often under staffed so I often waited a while. My room's aircon was patchy and wifi was sometimes a problem. Breakfast was good but crowded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleebg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your sharing your ideas with us.
Your feedbacks matter to us and please be kindly informed that your comment is shared with all departments.

Our reception desk, room service and also a Duty Manager is at your service for 24 hours.
Friendliness is one of our must-haves as The Marmara Pera staff.
I would like to apologize on behalf of my colleagues if you have such an unpleasant experience with our team.

It will be a pleasure for us to host you in our property for a better The Marmara Pera experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me on bschwindt@themarmarahotels.com for your upcoming stays.


Yours sincerely,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

we stayed the easter weekend at The Marmara Pera hotel whom has THE best view of Istanbul with a wonderful team of staff who goes beyond to serve you and make your stay unforgetable. Best rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with theMarmaraHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tolga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your ideas.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.

In The Marmara Pera, the rooms are designed to meet our guests' needs and the staff are trained to deliver an excellent service. The biggest pleasure for all of us is to hear our beloved guests' pleasant experiences.
The Marmara Pera is located in wonderland from a tourist's point of view. It is in a walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and also at the heart of the sophisticated yet intellectual spot of the city.


We are looking forward to seeing you in Istanbul, once again.


Best Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pari, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel has a great view ex. mosque river bridge.
Easy to find restaurant
possible to walk up to Aya sofia spice market and other area
15-20 minutes by taxi to ninsatasi shopping area
at night you can walk to the night market street

but room was a bit too small

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahmai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your ideas.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.

In The Marmara Pera, the rooms are designed to meet our guests' needs and the staff are trained to deliver an excellent service. The biggest pleasure for all of us is to hear our beloved guests' pleasant experiences.

If we are to talk about where to stay in İstanbul, yes, Beyoğlu area and specifically The Marmara Pera is the answer. Old City area is still in a walking distance of 25 minutes and there are plenty of attractions in Beyoğlu area, as well.

Secret restaurants, great rooftops and all the stores are a bonus!

You are always more than welcome in our property.


Sincerely,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Dear The Marmara Pera hotel management and staff and tentative guests,

I just wanted to share few things about the hotel and its management. We stopped by last night at the hotel wondering whether we could use their downstairs lobby bar and watch the Eurovision song contest (after walking for about an hour in Taksim area and trying to find a place but unsuccessful). We were seven people, a bit soaked from the rain and already growing anxious.

We walked in, our friend who works at Marmara Hotel Taksim asked the bar tender and the duty manager to check their cable TV. The time was ticking and we wanted to at least watch the voting part of the show (thats the most exciting part to me anyway).

After searching all the channels we realized they too couldn't show it. So instead we asked if we could use their laptop. To which they were extremely accommodating too.

And so we made it- we got to watch two last performances and had a great time watching the voting part over drinks.

And mind you, this was all happening around midnight, when the hotel was completely full. I was totally amazed by their service. The young man at the bar (whose name I cannot recall) was too very friendly and helpful. And they have a very decent bar by the way. I have only been upstairs on the roof top at the restaurant and the bar (which has an amazing view of the Golden Horn). And I remember that experience also being very neat.

So the bottom line, you should consider staying at this hotel as they have great service. Not to mention the quality and the location.

Thank you Yener Bey for a wonderful experience, and than you to all the staff members who were on duty last night.

Room Tip: Unfortunately I didn't stay in any of the rooms so can't help with sleep quality, rooms, spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arzu_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful, detailed review.

We, especially Mr. Yelmen, are happy to hear your satisfaction with your stay in The Marmara Pera Hotel.

Our property is located in a 1-minute walking distance to the main shopping street, İstiklal, and 20-minute walking distance to the spectacular Old City Area, the most convenient place for both the leisure travellers and the business travellers.

Since the summer season is already here, you should come back for the swimming pool!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our property, once again.


Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel has 4 stars so is slightly cheaper than the hotels with 5 stars but if you ask me, I fail to understand why this is a 4 star hotel because it is indeed a 5 star hotel:) nice rooms, nice location (for those who want to stay around the istiklal/taksim/tunel/pera regions) and relatively cheaper than some of the 5 star hotels so if I were a tourist coming to Istanbul I would not hesitate to stay in here. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your priceless review with us. The Marmara Collection is a Turkish brand that expands with strong yet stabilized moves, keeping in mind that not as big as some other international chains but a real competitor with the force of unique Turkish hospitality.
We are very happy to hear you ended up with satisfaction upon your discovery of The Marmara Pera Hotel, indeed. Whenever you or your acquaintances plan an İstanbul trip, you know where your local house is...


Warm Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is located in probably the best position to discover Istanbul. In the middle of Beyolglu, Istanbul´s most lively quarter, you are a short distance from the great shopping places,Taksim, the sights and a Metro is around the corner. The hotel rises 18 stores up and from the roof top as well as from most rooms you have great views towards the Golden Horn or the Bosporus. The rooms are tastefully furnsished - not a typical standard room, but rather personal and with all nice amenities. The breakfast is superb, a cocktail at the rooof top bar as weel. There is a small pool on the roof as well. The fitness room in the basement is a bit damp, I did prefer a run through the streets of Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your ideas.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.

In The Marmara Pera, the rooms are designed to meet our guests' needs and the staff are trained to deliver an excellent service. The biggest pleasure for all of us is to hear our beloved guests' pleasant experiences. The Marmara Pera is located in wonderland from a tourist's point of view. It is in a walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and also at the heart of the sophisticated yet intellectual spot of the city.


Please be so kind to send me an e-mail directly on bschwindt@themarmarahotels.com before your next trip to Istanbul.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Istanbul, once again.


Best Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#173 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#130 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Pera
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#140 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Property: The Marmara Pera Hotel
Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#180 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing