We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro hotel in Taksim area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmara Pera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marmara Pera Hotel
Ranked #157 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Retro hotel in Taksim area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Nice modern and retro styled hotel. Good value for money, nice roof top restaurant and a bar with the best view over the city, Bosporus and Golden Horn. The breakfast is complete accept they don't have real capuchino or espresso. Nice pillow service, minus was that my air co was not working very well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for having chosen The Marmara Pera for your stay in Istanbul and for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

You were so kind as to share is much appreciated and we took careful note of all the compliments as well as the improvement needs mentioned.

Look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    442
    145
    53
    34
See reviews for
141
355
80
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great for the views from the rooftop bar and some of the rooms, but unfortunately we were given a room on the 17th floor which was either right next to or near to a nightclub. I am 32 so don't mind partying, but I do mind getting 3 hours sleep before a day of sightseeing! We asked to move which we did, but of course that meant packing and unpacking all over again, which was a hassle. In my view the hotel should have offered to waiver the first of three nights but they didn't.

It is also worth noting that we were charged 17 lira for some milk to be added to our coffee.

This could be a truly excellent hotel, one of the best, but a few avoidable mistakes leave it on three stars for me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your ideas.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.
However, I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience that you have experienced regarding the noise coming from outside. We are very sensitive about stopping the music in the outdoor areas before midnight. We assume that you have been disturbed by the music coming from neighboring night clubs.

You were so kind as to share is much appreciated and we took careful note of all the compliments as well as the improvement needs mentioned.

Look forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel situated in a great location. It is a 1 minute walk to the main pedestrian thoroughfare in the new city of Istanbul. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was nice. We did not have the best view, but we didn't spend much time looking out our window. The rooftop has a bar and a pool and spectacular 360 degree views of Istanbul. If the wind is calm, it is a fantastic place to enjoy a drink and look down on the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulspanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at The Marmara Pera and for sharing your kind comments with regards to our hotel.

It is a real joy and motivation to read such overall positive feedback. I will take the liberty to share it with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back not too distant future.


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the first stop of out honeymoon and we were very impressed.

We received a free upgrade to a corner room with a Bosphorous view which was fantastic.

The staff were fantastic as well generally going above and beyond.

The rooms are comfortable and you couldn't ask for a better location, right near the best Beyoglu restaurants and bars and Istiklal St and a 10 minute downhill walk to the Galata Bridge over to the sights of Sultanahmet.

Also, the rooftop bar is the best view of the city going.

Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting such a great review of your honeymoon experience at The Marmara Pera.
We are thrilled to hear that that we were able to make your stay with us a special one.

Our property is located in a 1-minute walking distance to the main shopping street, İstiklal, and 20-minute walking distance to the spectacular Old City Area, the most convenient place for both the leisure travellers and the business travellers.

Since the summer season is already here, you should come back for the swimming pool!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our property, once again.


Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well furbished rooms, high quality linen, great roof bar and pool, best view of Old City from highest point in Galata, excellent restaurant with terrace.
Central position in Galata around the corner from shopping street with easy access to public transport (tunel and tramways)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenevS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.

In The Marmara Pera, the rooms are designed to meet our guests' needs and the staff are trained to deliver an excellent service. The biggest pleasure for all of us is to hear our beloved guests' pleasant experiences.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Istanbul, once again.


Best Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a wonderful stay here - location is amazing. You can easily walk to the Old Town and you are right in the middle of the nightlife etc. Rooftop is amazing. Great bar. Rooms are very nicely decorated. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your priceless review with us.

The Marmara Collection is a Turkish brand that expands with strong yet stabilized moves, keeping in mind that not as big as some other international chains but a real competitor with the force of unique Turkish hospitality.

We are very happy to hear you ended up with satisfaction upon your discovery of The Marmara Pera Hotel, indeed.

Whenever you or your acquaintances plan an İstanbul trip, you know where your local house is...


Warm Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had read the Trip Advisor reviews about how it was a great location but the rooms were small. I agree it's a great location but thought the room was fine, especially of you have a sea view.
Bed s comfy, there was a chair in the window corner and as I write I. Can see the evening traffic from Sultanahmet. The fitness room was small but well-appointed: treadmill, stepper, rowing ergometer and weights. Breakfasts were comprehensive and good. Staff helpful and friendly. I recommend this place!

Room Tip: Book a sea view, of the Bosphorus. It means you get to se the best of Istanbul, night and day. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your ideas.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed our view.

In The Marmara Pera, the rooms are designed to meet our guests' needs and the staff are trained to deliver an excellent service. The biggest pleasure for all of us is to hear our beloved guests' pleasant experiences. The Marmara Pera is located in wonderland from a tourist's point of view. It is in a walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and also at the heart of the sophisticated yet intellectual spot of the city.

Please be so kind to send me an e-mail directly on bschwindt@themarmarahotels.com before your next trip to Istanbul.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Istanbul, once again.


Best Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#171 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#94 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Pera
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#143 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Property: The Marmara Pera Hotel
Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#121 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#180 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing