We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for purpose”
Review of Point Hotel Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Point Hotel Taksim
Ranked #161 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was staying in Istanbul for a conference. The hotel is adequate but not grand. The lobby is inviting and reasonably efficient. The bedroom on the first floor was stark and one could easily hear the noise of the ever tooting traffic outside.
On the first morning I decided to order American breakfast. It bore no resemblance to anything I had experienced before. No bacon, sausage and egg. I actually got a plate of some pink slosh, terrible yogurt, fruit and breads. Nothing American! On subsequent days I went to the 9th floor breakfast bar. Great views but terrible breakfast with tea or coffee from a mug.
Yes, there was bottled water delivered to the room. The room was clean but with a hard carpet more akin to an office environment.
The walk to the conference centre some 10 minutes away was not without hazard. Rip off by "shoe shiners", potholes in the road and pestering street vendors. The local taxis were a rip off.

Will not willingly be back. Upgrade if you can to a European branded hotel!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Davec0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location, room comfort, lobby ambiance and the taste of breakfast was very good. But extra breakfast was very expensive, the staff both at the reception and the breakfast saloon was weird, they were doing their work like unwillingly, they weren't behave friendly to the guests and the restaurant manager was berating the breakfast chef in front of the guests. It would be better if my room had a scene of Taksim Square or any street cause i had seen a just a space with a very bad scene. The pillows were very comfartable and by chance the hotel did not smell the bad hotel smelling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bengygtcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights to attend a conference in the congress centre which is just 10 minutes walk up the road. The top floor restaurant does a good breakfast and has good views. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with complimentary bottled water. I asked for a high room and was put half way up which meant the sound of the relentless Istanbul traffic wasn't too bad.
Unfortunately I didn't have time to use the facilities (gym/pool/Turkish Bath etc) so can't comment on these.
WiFi worked in the room without problems but couldn't always get the VPN to work to check email.
Japanese restaurant connected to the lobby did fairly good sushi.
If I return to Istanbul I would consider this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Holidaymaker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

As Istanbul was on my bucket list for years, I was really excited to visit Istanbul. I booked the Point Hotel Taksim because it's an affiliated hotel of Worldhotels, a group of hotels I know quite good, and because of it's location. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walking to the Taksim square and the charming French area. Also connections by tram and metro are very easy accessible from here. The hotel shows a great exposition of pictures from a Turkish photographer which are amazing. The staff was super friendly and did everything to make my stay unforgettable. The concierge informed us about tips for trips, room was refurbished and spacious and the breakfast area on the top floor gives you an amazing view over Istanbul and the Bosporus. When I return to Istanbul I would certainly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Excellent, friendly accommodation by Yasin, who is part of the lobby staff. He made my short visit to Istanbul that much smoother, including special care of my bags, and directions and tips about how to use the city's taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Seth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was central to tourism An excellent accommodation with superb choices for breakfast. Everything worked and a helpful staff . even a free transfer to the airport. We will stay there again.Dont miss the pool and steam room ,but you do need a hat!There is an excellent Japanese restaurant .

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinhood380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Came for a wedding, great staff and nice rooms. Best parts were the restaurant on the top floor (great views) and Murat, the amazing bartender. He couldn't have been more accommodating to our entire group, even at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank c t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#91 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,280 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#340 of 1,160 in Istanbul
511 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#267 of 1,160 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Divan Istanbul
Divan Istanbul
#136 of 1,160 in Istanbul
569 reviews
Beyoglu
Elite World Istanbul
Elite World Istanbul
#210 of 1,160 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#214 of 1,160 in Istanbul
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Taksim

Address: Topcu Cad. No:2, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Taksim is a 5 star business hotel located at the heart of the city, within 5 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, which are famous for shopping, social activities and sightseeing. Point Hotel Taksim is also within walking distance of the Congress Valley including the biggest congress center of the city named Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC). Sultanahmet and Old City, which include the main sightseeing attractions, are 4 kms away and easily accessible with car or public transport. Our hotel has a modern design, enriched with photography of worldwide famous photographer Ara Guler. The hotel has 233 rooms which includes 48 Executive Rooms and 19 Executive Suites. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. There is also a comfortable Executive Lounge with a great view for our Executive Room or Suite guests. Our accommodating guests can enjoy Point Spa free of charge including Steam Room, Sauna, Indoor Pool and Turkish Bath. Our View Point Restaurant has a unique Bosphorus view, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Japanese Restaurant on the ground floor with repeating Japanese guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Point Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing