We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Point Hotel Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Point Hotel Taksim
Ranked #169 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Point Hotel Taksim is a great boutique hotel. Very clean rooms. All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
The location is superb, mere minutes away from Taksim Square.
Breakfast was okay, but not great, at least not to North American tastes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhutjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Sorry to hear that the breakfast did not match your North American tastes. We can only hope that you enjoyed the other parts of Turkish cuisine. Your comments are always motivating. We hope to see you again in the near future and to help you with matching Turkish cuisine with your tastes.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for 11 nights in Feb at Point Hotel Taksim. The hotel is located very close to Taksim and Istikalal Street (10 min walk). Hotel was comfortable clean and with usual amenities (I would give it 4*, certainly not a 5* property). We picked a Deluxe Room with city view via Agoda but there wasn't much of the cite view, it was another old looking building right in front of the window with no view. It also stank a bit when you opened the window. Room was also a bit small than I expected.

Breakfast on the 9th floor was great, had a good selection and a wonderful view of the Bosphorous from the balcony.

Service level of the staff was also good barring a few exceptions. They were polite and attentive. This was reflected in one incidence where the TV which was mounted on the wall in our room fell down. The hotel offered us to complete our trip in a junior suite at no extra cost which was exactly how a top hotel should have reacted. I think there is a need to upgrade the rooms as they seem dated and the hotel has the potential to become top class given its location and neighbours (the hotel is in general vicinity of other top properties such as Grand Hyatt, Divan and Intercontinental).

Pros
Location (very close to Taksim, Dolmabache Palace)
Front desk staff was efficient
Breakfast on 9th floor
Next to Havatas bus stop point (which is very convenient to go to/from Ataturk airport)

Cons
Deluxe room need upgrade. They are clean but seem outdated in their décor.
House keeping staff need to pay some attention to detail. They kept on forgetting stuff to replenish like water bottles, tissue boxes etc. Shouldn't have to remind for these things.

Overall, a pleasant stay at the hotel and will definitely consider it again on our next trip.

Tip
Stay in a junior suite if you can
Avoid taking cabs from across the street next to Faros restaurant (got conned two times). Ask the hotel staff to book a cab from the official taxi stand which is right next to the hotel entrance. Have a general idea of taxi fares, you can print it out online as a reference.

Room Tip: Please see my comments above. Avoid room no 30s on each floor like 330,430,530.. there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJunkieDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment. We are sure that your comment will be of great help for our future guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our Junior Suites and we are sorry once again for the incident. It motivates us a lot when we hear good comments about our service level and also we are happy that the location and the havataş bus was convenient enough for you. We have just recently earned a 5 star rating and we are doing more refurbishments every day. We hope that if you visit us once again, your opinions will change.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Even we had reservation for 2 people when we asked to stay 3 people 1st they offered us their junior suite but it was out of our budget then they put extra bed in our room with reasonable price.It was great because we had much money to spend in new year eve:)).After that we felt we are at right place and left with pleasure :))Great motto.When we asked concierge assistance about excursion we find them really pleased and wise about the city so they organize our new year party which was very nice and funny.We would like to thank especially to Ezgi and our buddy Mehmet ; see you next year...

Room Tip: better if you stay at city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haljazyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your precious opinions. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. Your opinions will lead us to a better quality of service. We wish your contentment will be permanent. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Point hotel is great place with all the amenities one would expect. Nothing really to fault at all, just that the place lacks a uniqueness or any charm. Other than that full service and generally attentive staff. Restaurant on top also has a fantastic view.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your precious comments with us. We are glad to hear about your contentment about the service and the staff of Point Hotel. Sorry to hear that you did not feel the hotel was charming. We hope to see you in our hotel once again and maybe this time we can get some of your specific ideas and opinions about the uniqueness.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It's not the best location i.e. Taksim if you want to see the Turkish Heritage. The area of Taksim lacks the family touch ambience hence old city is a much preferred location. Taking about the Point Hotel the staff is extremely friendly and the hotel services may not be supreme but they are good enough. The reception welcomes the guests with a turkish delight, the breakfast variety is excellent, the room size and comfort is pretty good. The onsite gym is bit disappointing. Overall the hotel is good but the location is bit disturbing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for precious opinions. Your opinions will lead us to improve ourselves. We can tell you that the on-site gym is currently under construction and will be ready in the near future. Sorry to hear that you would prefer the Old City over Taksim, but if you change your mind or if you want to stop by and have a coffee in Taksim, you are always welcome.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

this is a great hotel with a great location. the area where the hotel is very quiet, yet it is very near taksim square. the rooms are excellent and the terrace bar has a fairly good view of the bhosporus. the staff were very professional and friendly, except one lady at the reception but i guess she was having a bad day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bybassios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point_Barbaros, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your precious comments with us. We are really happy about your contentment about the service and the staff of Point Hotel. If you want to visit Taksim once again or miss the view from our terrace, we would be more than happy to see you in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is great, rooms are very spacious and could have a good "value for money" rating. Staff is very friendly. hotel is located in the city centre (Taxim Place) with a metro station very near of it (the Kabatas F1 route that is actually a teleferic line with two places that are connected with it), after which the connection with tram could move you everywere. The 9th floor breakfast is good also, with very good view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#93 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,302 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#322 of 1,163 in Istanbul
522 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#245 of 1,163 in Istanbul
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Elite World Istanbul
Elite World Istanbul
#203 of 1,163 in Istanbul
561 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#228 of 1,163 in Istanbul
700 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
#251 of 1,163 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Taksim

Address: Topcu Cad. No:2, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £68 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Taksim is a 5 star business hotel located at the heart of the city, within 5 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, which are famous for shopping, social activities and sightseeing. Point Hotel Taksim is also within walking distance of the Congress Valley including the biggest congress center of the city named Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC). Sultanahmet and Old City, which include the main sightseeing attractions, are 4 kms away and easily accessible with car or public transport. Our hotel has a modern design, enriched with photography of worldwide famous photographer Ara Guler. The hotel has 233 rooms which includes 48 Executive Rooms and 19 Executive Suites. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. There is also a comfortable Executive Lounge with a great view for our Executive Room or Suite guests. Our accommodating guests can enjoy Point Spa free of charge including Steam Room, Sauna, Indoor Pool and Turkish Bath. Our View Point Restaurant has a unique Bosphorus view, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Japanese Restaurant on the ground floor with repeating Japanese guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing