We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hostels”
Review of Bahaus Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahaus Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I loved Bahaus. The staff were so friendly and by the end of my stay here - I felt like I had made awesome friends with the people who worked here.

The rooftop area was great. Very Turkish and really comfy. Breakfast was pretty basic but still good!

Value was the best thing, this was so cheap! I stayed in a 6 bed all female dorm and it was really nice.

Couldn't ask for more in terms of location!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

The best thing about this hostel is definitely the location. Just 5 min walk from Sultanahmet (where you can find the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi palace, Basilica's cisterns...).
The second one is the staff. "Boss" (the owner), Bari (the barman/ pub-crawler) and the kid at the front desk are amazing and they will do everything to make you feel at home.
Also, the price is great, there a lot of good restaurants nearby (ask for the one under the bridge with a cool garden); bathroom are always tidy and shower is great;...

All in all, I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Really great hostel.

Price - €11 a night for a dorm bed, so nice and cheap.

Rooms - Stayed in a 14 bed dorm, which sounds like it would be insanely crowded but the room is set up so you have plenty of space, and with the really cool curtains surround each bunk, you also have plenty of privacy. 3 shower/bathrooms were in the room which was plenty, no queues at any point, and were nice and clean.

Location - Excellent, 5 minutes from all the main Sultanahmet attractions.

Atmosphere - Really nice rooftop bar with great views and as this is a big and popular hostel there will surely be some cool people to hang out with. I stayed in late January for 3 nights and met plenty of great people. Price for drinks isn't as cheap as I'd have liked (10 Turkish lira for a beer) but Istanbul isn't a particularly cheap city to drink in. They will provide a light, simple free dinner which is a great chance to meet people also.

Breakfast - Included, and very good! All you can eat cold meat and salad, bread, crackers, jams and hazelnut/chocolate spread, coffee (from a machine), fruit juices.

Other notes - Staff are really nice and friendly, will occasionally organise pub crawls, tours, etc. though in the low season you may miss these as I did. Wi-fi works fine. Lockers are provided though you need your own padlocks.


Overall - Everything you could possibly want from a hostel - excellent in every way. I really enjoyed my time there, and will be staying in the same hostel whenever I am next in Istanbul.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Spangove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very good hostel in a great location within walking distance of Sultanhamet's key attractions. The dorms and bathrooms are clean and very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Indeed, it is probably one of the best hostels I have stayed in in a major European city and is great value for money.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Bahaus has everything! I was in a 10 person dorm and it was one of the best dorm rooms i have ever stayed in. Clean, spacious, cool, beds have curtains and it had 2 proper bathrooms attached to it. The rooftop bar has cheap drinks, great food and lots of people to meet. The staff are super helpful and happy to take people out at night and for walking tours which was awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hostel has a nice rooftop bar and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

The price is fair, the location is perfect (close to the blue mosque) and the rooms are clean.

The only bad thing is that the bar closes early and no one can stay upstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdsonABL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Clean, modernized, spacious, but still soulful and local in flavor. Beds had curtains, private lights and outlets. If I could have stayed extra time at Bahaus, I would have -- Tony made us feel like family. Sitting on the roof and drinking Efes/smoking shisha was a highlight. The hostel is young, mainly travelers, and my bf and I left with friends for life. It's 2 blocks to Arsata Bazaar and the Blue Mosque, free wifi, movie nights, tasty free breakfast. This is the perfect place to stay (and my bf laughs that a hostel was one of the best parts of learning Turkish culture). Felt like home!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sryanbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
#38 of 1,246 in Istanbul
300 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,246 in Istanbul
928 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,246 in Istanbul
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Old City Hostel
Old City Hostel
#37 of 1,246 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,246 in Istanbul
779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#77 of 1,246 in Istanbul
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahaus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahaus Guesthouse

Address: Akbiyik Cadessi, Bayramfirin Sokak No 11 | No 11/13 , Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,246 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: £11 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bahaus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahaus Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing