We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fragrant place”

Corlulu Ali Pasa Medresesi
Ranked #54 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fragrant place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's hard to find an entrance to this nargile-cafe, but it smells on the whole area! Found it by the smell :) Very relaxing place, many local people and nice turkish tea. Must visit even if you don't smoke

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kattysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    124
    26
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must not miss this !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Even if you're in Istanbul only for one day, dont miss this place ! Old Istanbul feel with 4 or so nargile places together, decorated with beautiful Turkish lamps and a 100 people relaxing and smoking. Try the yummy apple tea while you soak in the place.

Its close to the grand bazaar but slightly hidden off. It is visited by ocals and tourists alike so you can easily ask around and get here !

Must must go :)

Helpful?
3 Thank Sneha C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
istanbul
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nıce place for shısha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

ı have been here wıth frıends so we have had great shısha and teas ı recomed every1 so good value for money aswell we will be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank apodidim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

During my visit to Istanbul, I patronized Corlulu Ali Pasha daily, every morning before exploring the city, and returning at night to continue soaking up the atmosphere.

Tucked in an old cemetery and a former religious school, Corlulu Ali Pasha is today home to a few cafes serving nargile (sheesha) and beverages: Turkish coffee, apple tea etc.

You may think that you came to the wrong place after seeing tombstones near the entrance. But once you've passed the archway, it's like entering a Genie's palatial home inside a magic lamp. Turkish rugs adorn the walls, various fragrance of nargile waft through the air, and colorful lamps hang on the ceiling casting a warm and mystical mood.

There was a resident mother cat and her kitty during my visit. The manager told me that the mother cat had lost the rest of her litter with only one remaining. I hope they are still together.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KTalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The place you'll feel the old Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

As a citizen, this is the place where I felt most the atmosphere of the old Istanbul. When I was a student at Istanbul University, this was the place we had our turkish coffee or tea after the classes; you can also try Nargile if you're interested. Walking from Sultanahmet to Beyazıt you can see the entrance at the right side.
Nothing attractive, you should enter, seat, order your drink, watch the people, little authentic shops around, smell the air, listen the voices and feel like surrounded by the ottoman merchants who brought their goods through silk road to the grand bazaar :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jpsartre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corlulu Ali Pasa Medresesi also viewed

 

Been to Corlulu Ali Pasa Medresesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing