We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Ansen Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ansen Suites
Ranked #449 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Massive, modern, stylish room with a spectacular view; think "upscale boutique hotel." Terrific location, minutes from Istiklal Street. Super quiet. Very helpful staff. Pricy, but worth it. Just a great find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rekmvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great apartments in Galata. The room was modern and spacious, bathroom was modern and clean, great views over Istanbul. All in all a great little apartment. I would recommend it for a stay in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThistleinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a GREAT find. We stayed here in early May and had a room on the back side of the hotel. Our room was very large, and in a very nice part of town!!! One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. Fabulous bathroom. :You need to make sure you get one of the back rooms though as the front street rooms overlook a night club - which accounts for the noise some guests encounter. Nice and quiet on the back of the hotel. Breakfast was top notch, staff very helpful (save one grumpy bag gentleman - I can't dock them points for him since it was just one person). We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at Ansen Suites from May 6 to May 8, 2013, in a 4th floor executive suite, which was very large and beautifully decorated - with high ceilings, over-sized windows and a separate sitting area. Very stylish and European-looking. The beds were very comfortable. We are not breakfast people, but the breakfast at Ansen offered us tasty local tomatoes and cheeses (among other things), so we had breakfast both mornings; also, it was helpful that the breakfast was served until 10:30 or even 11 am, and the staff never rushed us out or signaled that it was time for us to finish up (which happens quite often at other hotels). The location of the hotel is unbeatable: in the middle of beautiful Beyoglu; very close to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, but without the Taksim and Istiklal noise and crowds. The only suggestions to the hotel management could be to improve the internet connection (it was slow and intermittent) and re-design the hotel's website (it's not particularly user-friendly or informative).

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurosailornewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Ansen Suites is a great location in Galata! Staff was helpful and the area provides lots of nightlife and its close to the cable car for access to public transportation. The room was very clean, modern with decent wifi and amenities. Hulya and Ahmed couldn't have been more helpful and gracious. A bit noisy at night as you are in busy area, but nothing out of the norm.

The room is very spacious with a nice layout. Elevator is quiet and provides easy access. We'll come back to Ansen for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had booked a suite in this hotel for May much in advance on their website however they claim they did not receive our booking.So we did not actually stay here.However thankfully we decided to mail to them before going to reconfirm our booking and they outright refused that they had any booking in our name. Also sent them a confirmation voucher yet they said they were fully sold out for our dates and would not accommodate us.

They did not seem apologetic to begin with either however later they did try to be helpful by then we had decided to stay elsewhere.

SO it might be a good hotel to stay in however please please check you reservation with them before going if you have booked through their website.

Room Tip: confirm you booking before you reach there.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank melssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We turned up having made the booking directly through the hotel's own website, but they couldn't find any reservation.

There are two ways for a hotel to deal with such a situation - apologise and do their best to rectify it, or shrug their shoulders and make you feel like you are the problem. They did the latter.

We stood our ground (we had a print out of the confirmation) and they found us a room - in the basement. It wasn't a bad room as such, it's just nothing like the room we had booked and paid for ie much smaller, with no separate living area and no kitchen (which the rooms are advertised as having). Also the door handle inside the bathroom had completely snapped off and, in theory, you could have locked yourself in and then not been able to open the door.

I have to say at this point, there is a part of me that thought we were put in the basement because we are a same-sex couple. I'm not normally so thin skinned but this just wasn't a warm welcome. Faces at the front desk literally fell when we first walked in. (Of course I could have been misinterpreting that).

So we asked to be moved and, despite having been told earlier everything was full, we were indeed moved to a room on the second floor which was the kind of room we thought we'd booked. To be honest, it was very well decorated and a lovely room, and the manager did send up two glasses of sparkling wine. But.....

.....it overlooked the main street and despite the double glazing it faced directly onto the Good Mood Club which, on Fridays and Saturdays at least, plays music very very loudly till 2am. (On Sunday night, thank goodness, it was quiet). At breakfast the next morning one lady from another couple said she had been in tears at the noise. Even with earplugs it was loud.

So overall it was a very mixed experience. Breakfast was decent enough and the restaurant staff were very pleasant, and it's a great location (although not easy to find initially if you have never been before).

Here's the bottom line - would I recommend it to friends? Yes, just about, if they weren't staying at the weekend and/or had a rear facing room and had double checked with the hotel they actually had their booking.

I think the bottom line is that our first impression, and how we were initially dealt with, weren't very positive and that, coupled with the noise, mark down my review.

Room Tip: Stay at the back! Room 610 is in the basement - avoid if you believe you have paid for a suite rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#795 of 1,163 in Istanbul
625 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,136 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
581 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#14 of 1,248 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#465 of 1,163 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansen Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansen Suites

Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:70 | Tepebasi Tunel /Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#125 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £87 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansen Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical building of Ansen, which is situated in the historical Pera region of the Beyoglu, which is the unique and the favourite district of Istanbul, is hosting the world travellers and the people of the business world with its friendly and cheerful personnel and with its unique service understanding and hospitality, which is beyond the time and the location. The Ansen Suites is only at a walking distance to the important entertainment and the shopping centres of the city since it is situated in the historical Beyoglu Pera location. The suites, which have all the comfort and which are spread on 5 floors, vary between 50 and 60 m² in areas. The suites, which are combined with different design and ambiance, contain self use kitchen, bed room, changing room, bath room, working desk, sitting group, digital tv, hair dryer, safe box, bathrobe& sleepers, telephone, laundry service, 24 hours room service, free internet connection ( wireless), host their guests within the historical Istanbul texture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ansen Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansen 130 Hotel Istanbul
Ansen Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing