We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not every facility advertised is provided” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ansen Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ansen Suites
Ranked #380 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not every facility advertised is provided”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

I have booked Ansen Suites, İstanbul for a business trip. Standart hotel rooms and restaurant food bore me so I was very pleased when I found this hotel's advirtesement:The rooms were spacious with fully equipped kitchen.

However on my arrival the hotel staff informed me that the electrical cookers were cancelled due to a former fire in the building. No cooker, no kitchen equipment. What is the reason for keeping the misleading adds in the web sites then?

The compensation for the absent cooker is a kettle and a few tea bags. No bags for coffee and the bag of the tea brand you prefer is not replaced. This is a very cheap for a five star suite hotel.

Other wise, as the previous reviewers have stated the hotel is very central but still in a quiet street of Beyoglu. All the major attractions are within easy distance. Taxis are always inexpensive in Istanbul but public transport is nearby as well. The room was indeed very spacious with a nice decoration. The wireless internet connection was fast and without any charge. However the room 'superior suit' was very dark. Not only there was not much of a natural light but the walls and the ceiling were painted in dark colours and the lighting in the room was very poor as well. Ideal for a romantic get away but not for a business trip.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The hotel's add do not match up with the services they provide
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Golldcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    50
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
73
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

I stayed at the Ansen 130 for 3 nights in mid-October. I had contacted the hotel previously to book my room plus arrange for airport pick up and inquiry about a Sema ceremony. I communicated with Hülya, the Sales and Marketing Manager, for my pre-trip planning, and she was helpful and thorough in explaining everything to me.

It was my first time traveling to Istanbul/Turkey, and I arrived, unfortunately, sick from some my exhausting travel in India. The hotel staff was very sweet and offered me various cold remedies to help me feel better. I was always greeted with a smile and an offer of tea/coffee/water as soon as I walked through the door. They were also great at calling taxis for me whenever I needed to venture out.

The rooms themselves were excellent. Large, suite-like (although more like a studio instead of a separate area for the living/desk part). But very large, modernly-decorated (I believe all the suites are themed). The bathroom was perfect size, great water pressure/hot water, all the amenities you would need during a hotel stay. A small-ish kitchen (which I didn't use), and free wireless throughout the hotel.

All in all a great place and definitely highly recommended. I stayed at the Four Seasons in the Old City for the latter part of my stay (after returning from Cappadocia), and I honestly think I would have preferred to return back to Ansen 130. For the price, the warm hospitality, location, and overall service/aesthetic, I think Ansen 130 wins hands down.

  • Liked — Great service, huge, clean, modern rooms, location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank relucanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days last month. We've found so much helpful information on this site before we went that we want to pay back by posting our experience.

LOCATION: Great. It is within walking distance to Istiklal Caddesi and many busy restaurants.

STAFF: Very friendly. They always try hard to get what you need. However, they do not speak any English. I communicated by writing the words down on paper, and they looked them up on the online dictionary.

ROOM: Sleek decor but a bit clostrophobic. We stayed in the Executive Suite on the top floor. The fixtures throughout are very modern and of high quality in general. The room has 3 small round windows and 2 skylights. The square footage is great, but we felt there was not light and air coming in. When we notified the staff that one of the skylights' blind could not be open and the light bulb in the kitchenette went out, they could not get anyone to fix them. The elevator is very tight as well.

RESTAURANT: Fresh ingredients and tasty. Breakfast is complementary. We really liked the foods. We wish we could have had more than 1 dinner there. Of note, we tried the Thai restaurant next door (because we had had Turkish foods x 10 days before that). We were the only 2 customers for the entire night. The meal cost $90 USD without alcohol. You can get the same food in California for $20. We would not recommend them.

TAXI: Easy to get. The staff can call the taxi center which is 2 minutes away, across from the Petra hotel, and a taxi will show up in front of the hotel within 5 minutes. If possible, get a taxi that works at a hotel. They use the meter and state the hotel name on their business cards. It seems that there is a process they must pass before they can work in front of the hotel. If you take a taxi at one of the touristy sites such as Grand Bazaar or Blue Mosque, expect they jack up the price or not use the meter.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff doesn't speak English. The space feels very small.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank east_bluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

We stayed at the Ansen Suites for 2 nights and had no complaints whatsoever. The rooms are very large with plenty of space and a small kitchen area too. Bathrooms are small but very modern and clean. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and looks like the hotel itself is very new. The hotel has a family feel and even the reception area feels like someone's lounge! The decor is very nice with some modern and vintage art displayed in the reception. The staff were very helpful and gave us honest reccommendations on restaurants to visit which were excellent. The location is also excellent and right opposite the hotel is a cobbled street full of nice cafes and restaurants. It is also a 5 min walk to Istikal Caddesi - the main shopping street of Istanbul. I would go back there on my next trip to Istanbul.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Noisy at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ansen Suites for four nights in May and loved it. Our room was spacious and well decorated, it had a great view over the Golden Horn - ask for a room at the top of the building - and lovely staff. Great area too near lots of small bars and restaurants - not like the touristy sultanamet. You definitely want to stay on this side of the golden horn and you should think about staying here - walkable to everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vereker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

I stayed at the Ansen Suites with my parents for 10 days between Christmas and New Years this past year and it was fantastic.

I found Ansen Suites based on a NYTimes article and then used the reviews here to make my decision. Past guest's reviews were very accurate and helpful.

We were 3 adults and the room was perfect for our needs. The size was generous, it was stylish and the shower was great. We even utilized the Kitchenette one night and cooked a casual meal.

The staff, while not fluent in English, were wonderfully helpful and absolutely aimed to please and make our stay comfortable.

The location of this hotel was fantastic to get around the city. A super bonus are a plethora of yummy restaurants literally 2 minutes away.

I would without question recommend Ansen to anyone going to Istanbul that is not wed to staying at a big American Hotel brand.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank stombaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

We stayed there with my boyfriend for 2 nights.The design of the rooms are modern and for the people who dont like kitsch and old fashioned hotels.A little boutique hotel with all in one.There is a little kitchen with cooking equipment and almost everything you may need in bathroom.The staff is helpful and warm.They serve the most delicious breakfast ever as well.You can eat French toast with cinnamon and raisins,pancakes or the regular breakfast plate with newly baked tasty breads.-though their plate is too big for a "regular" one.- Next time i will definetely choose this hotel to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloeshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#331 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#460 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Beyoglu
SNOG Rooms & Suites
SNOG Rooms & Suites
#431 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
By Murat Crown
By Murat Crown
#360 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Beyoglu
The Pera Hotel
The Pera Hotel
#884 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Beyoglu
Adahan Istanbul
Adahan Istanbul
#41 of 1,012 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansen Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansen Suites

Property: Ansen Suites
Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:70 | Tepebasi Tunel /Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#254 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansen Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical building of Ansen, which is situated in the historical Pera region of the Beyoglu, which is the unique and the favourite district of Istanbul, is hosting the world travellers and the people of the business world with its friendly and cheerful personnel and with its unique service understanding and hospitality, which is beyond the time and the location. The Ansen Suites is only at a walking distance to the important entertainment and the shopping centres of the city since it is situated in the historical Beyoglu Pera location. The suites, which have all the comfort and which are spread on 5 floors, vary between 50 and 60 m² in areas. The suites, which are combined with different design and ambiance, contain self use kitchen, bed room, changing room, bath room, working desk, sitting group, digital tv, hair dryer, safe box, bathrobe& sleepers, telephone, laundry service, 24 hours room service, free internet connection ( wireless), host their guests within the historical Istanbul texture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ansen Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansen 130 Hotel Istanbul
Ansen Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing