We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless nights in a beautiful hotel”
Review of Anemon Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anemon Galata
Ranked #351 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here with friends for two nights and was thrilled when we were shown to our beautifully appointed, spacious rooms. The welcome at the reception boded well, and we were excited about the great location of this classic hotel. Unfortunately, the late night noise from the adjacent square and lack of soundproofed windows meant sleepless nights and cranky husbands. The square is a popular gathering place in the evenings, with frequent concerts and lively groups of happy and relaxed people of all ages. But the music goes on into the early hours, and revelers stay on until dawn, when the cleaning crews arrive. We tried to have breakfast on the first morning, but left after waiting un-greeted for over 15 minutes in the rooftop restaurant. This hotel could be an amazing place if it upgrades its restaurant service and adds soundproofing to the windows. It would probably be lovely during the colder months when people are not so prone to stay outdoors late into the evening. It's really a shame, as the location is fabulous and the staff (with the exception of those in the restaurant) so nice. I will keep my eye on the hotel for upgrades, though, and would consider coming here again if a few improvements were made.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that does not face the square, and eat breakfast elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rat_race_escapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent location, very nice ambience, outstanding staff (at least the reception team was extremely friendly and helpfull). The Execurtive rooms are the nicer ones, but are located in front of the Galata Tower (loud till late and from early in the morning). The regular rooms face the Golden Horn (outstanding view) but are much smaller. From what they mentioned to us they will undergo a renovation in the next months - it might be worth asking before booking. The gem of this hotel (besides its art deco architecture and interior design) is with no doubt the restaurant on the 7th floor. You have what might be one of the best views in Istambul of the Bosphorus and Golden Horn - one on each side. Absolutely outstanding. If not booking a room there, its worth visiting the restaurant for dinner or having a drink during the sunset...

Room Tip: 302 Executive might be the best room at this time. Big and high enough to not suffer from the noice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great location, write in the heart of buzzing Beyoglu (5 mins walk up to the pedestrian Istiklal Caddesi). We had an amazing room overlooking the Galata Tower. The only downside was that the square is a meeting place for Istanbul's students and was very noisy still the early hours. The restaurant at the top of the hotel had amazing views across the city.

All the main attractions were walking distance away (about 20-30mins walking to Hagia Sophia) or a very easy tram ride away from the bottom of the Galata Bridge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is our second trip to Istanbul. Previously, we stayed in Sultanahmet area, so on our second trip, we decided to stay in Beyoglu area. Yes, the hotel is right across the Galata Tower. However, walking to the tram line mean walking on steep slope which is not easy. It is about 5mins walk to the start of the main shopping street in Istanbul.
The room is dark and it has the damp & wet smell. The lighting is inadequate. The room layout, where they place the tv was all out of synch.

The front desk staff are helpful, that make it up for the disappointing room.

We will not be staying in this hotel again in our future stay in the city of IST.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I’m disappointed by an hotel that could be excellent just with a different attitude of the management. I stayed there twice because of the excellent location in the lively galata area next to the tower and because of the amazing view on the Golden Horn you have from some of the (too tiny) rooms on the backside.
Weak point is breakfast when you have everyday the same fixed mixed plate of salami, cheese, nutella accompanied by mini-yogurth and mini-fruit salad. A buffet breakfast would be a more appropriate and waste saving choice.
But the weakest one is the irritating management that makes you feel as a walking wallet. The receptionist is thoughtful in convincing you to use the hotel services at extra costs (ie airport transfer or sufi dancers shows) but totally indifferent to any of your complains. On January 1st when there was an electric breakdown and the very noisy hotel’s power unit run from 6 am to late afternoon just under my window none took care of my problem. I had to wake up early and stay out all the day. After a seven nights stay at the end they charged me also some extra money for the night of December 31st for a total bill of about 1.000 euros!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have stayed several times at the Anemon Galata over the years, and my love for this lovely place never diminishes! First, the rooms. . .You can choose to be right next to historic Galata Tower or stay in a room with a magnificent skyline view of the Bosphorus. The rooms are cozy, beautifully furnished, and immaculately clean. The location is amazing. Right in the middle of hip Beyoglu where the real Istanbulus come to eat, listen to music, shop. Historic Istiklal Cad.(Avenue) is a few minutes away where everyone comes to stroll at night. The first thing I do when I arrive to Istanbul, is walk a few minutes to my favorite bookshop(Robinson Curuso), music store(Ada), and see what's new at Pasabache and the Pera Museum. The rooftop restaurant at Anemon is magnificent--with a 360 degree panorama. In summer it is open-air and heavenly. Breakfast is served there and having a sunset glass of wine, or full dinner is a #1 Istanbul experience. Then, there are all the Anemon staff who make the hotel so, so special. Each and every one is like family and they cannot do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I truly feel "homesick" when I leave and immediately begin to look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: The executive suites(302 or 402) on the 3rd and4th floor are a bit quieter and you have a fabulous v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannerman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We found the location of this hotel to be excellent. A quick tram ride over the Galata bridge (or about 15 minute walk) and you were in Sultanahmet with all of the main tourist attractions. A short walk the other way and there were great restaurant and nightlife. It was very nice not to be staying in the main tourist area.The area is hilly, however, which could be a problem for some. We had a room with a third bed which was very large and nicely decorated. The bathroom was fine but it was starting to show some age. Our room on the fourth floor facing the street had great views but was a little noisy at night. The views from the roof terrace were fantastic for breakfast (also nice for a pre-dinner drink). Breakfast was quite good. We did not have dinner there as there were cheaper, more interesting restaurants in the area. The free Wi-Fi work well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 3 & up to get a view. Do choose the breakfast plan if you have a choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimmergasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#544 of 1,181 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#616 of 1,181 in Istanbul
30 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#234 of 1,181 in Istanbul
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#109 of 1,181 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#21 of 1,181 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Karakoy
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Galata Boutique Hotel
#553 of 1,181 in Istanbul
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemon Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemon Galata

Address: Bereketzade Mah. Buyuk Hendek Cad. No:5 Arapcami, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#240 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anemon Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anemon Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemon Galata Istanbul
Anemon Galata Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing