We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great hotel!”
Review of Anemon Galata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anemon Galata
Ranked #338 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights
Wonderful city hotel
Nice stuff
Located in the nicest quarter of Istanbul
Breakfast hall is on the upper level with great view (the waiter at breakfast could be nicer...;)
Loved it
Thanks

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank greenqueen2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is in a cracking location. In Galata where the nights are great and just across the Golden Horn from Sultanamhet where all the daytime sights are. The streets are buzzing nearby - so much to do. Roof terrace views are awesome. Fantastic wine bar in the basement. Ahmet and Ezgi on the front desk go way beyond the call of duty and give great service. Sadly our stay was spoiled by the very surly service we got at breakfast every morning from one young lady, who seemed to forget we were the guests. Even the cleaners were really friendly, but her unpleasant manner ruined breakfast and the icy atmosphere in what is a stunning room terrace was very disappointing. Re-training and in her case re-recruitment much needed!!

Room Tip: Choose room 302. Suites are great and spacious. Just get them to refresh the toilet drains if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in one double and one triple room. The hotel is very clean and good decor, the beds were so very comfortable and I looked forward to it after long days sightseeing. There were a few glitches in communication where airport taxis weren't booked for the time we requested which was a little annoying. Also breakfast was not buffet style, so if you're not a fan of meat and cheese for breakfast then I'd opt for omelette or toast. Apart from a slight language barrier, most of the staff were very friendly. This hotel is located in Galata and the streets are very hilly so be sure to wear comfy shoes. This location is probably not great if you're disabled or elderly. The tram however is just 10 mins walk. The area is wonderful however id definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Iffat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We loved staying at the Anemon Galata, right next to the Galata Tower built by the Genoese in the late 13th / early 14th centuries. The area around Galata - adjacent to Pera and greater Beyoglu - is full of design shops, cafés, little boutiques. Istiklal Caddesi, the main boulevard, is a few blocks away. Cihangir and its interesting yet dramatically overpriced antique shops is not too far away. From the hotel you can walk down to the Galata Bridge in a leisurely 15 minutes. A taxi ride from Ataturk Airport (IST) should cost no more than USD 25.

It's all very touristy but, then again, tourists aren't usually keen on shopping for lighting fixtures and hardware when on holiday. (You can source those items within a block of the hotel too.)

The Turkish breakfast was excellent and generous. (Beware those spicy green peppers!)

We were upgraded to an executive suite, which was about 40 square metres, with a grand view of Galata Tower. For a four-day stay we really couldn't complain. The tariff of USD 165/night in any event was fair - even if we had the 20 sq. m. room which we had paid for. Istanbul hotels are generally as expensive as those in Barcelona meaning they aren't cheap.

Seeing as the hotel wasn't that busy on the Monday, the front desk kindly allowed us to keep the room till 16:30 for a nominal fee, which we appreciated very much since our flight home did not depart till 19:30. (Leave yourself a full three hours to get to IST from the hotel because of frequent traffic and possible, long queues at security upon entering the airport at the Departures level, not to mention Immigration and a second Security check.)

Room Tip: Room 402. Double-pane glass windows are good but there is still a bit of noise especially on the wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

My husband and I chose Turkey for our honeymoon and looking at the photos, expected Anemon Galaya to be world class hotel. Sadly, staff failed to meet expectations at every point.

To start with, there air conditioning system was down. The rooms are not insulated well so it was boiling hot during the night and we struggled to sleep. They did not mention the system was down until we enquired about why the room was so hot. The humidity of the room wasn't helped by the stench of damp carpet.

Three quarters of the light globes in lamps etc were out and while we're on the topic of electricity, we left our electrical devices charging in our room at every opportunity and every time we'd return, the electricity was switched off meaning nothing ever charged!!

The least quantifiable but most frustrating part of the experience was the belligerent and discourteous nature of employees at the hotel, save for the cleaning staff who were lovely.

The waitress who mans the upstairs restaurant at breakfast was the surliest person we have ever encountered. Orders were forgotten or arrived cold, Turkish coffee cost extra (but hang on isn't this Turkey) and on sitting at a window table overlooking Galata Tower, we were abruptly told they wouldn't serve us there despite being one of only two tables that morning. We were asked to moved tables to the other side of the room away from the Galata Tower.

We have never made a complaint about a hotel but this experience on our honeymoon so incensed us, we had to warn others. Stay anywhere but here in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VirginiaKim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic views from the roof top bar. Only had drinks and light lunch here. Unable to comment on the rooms. Service was not friendly. Receptionist was not welcoming when we walked through the doors. Service was luke warm from waitress.

Would still recommend bar due to its great location and it also has a nice feel to it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsPoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The two of us arrived at the Anemon Galata knowing it was going to be anice hotel but we were blown away by the architecture, design, cleanliness, service and especially the amazing breakfast in the panarama rooftop restaurant overlooking the Bosphorous not even 10 meters from the Galata Tower. This is the perfect hotel for honeymooners, wine enthusiasts or business travelers.
The rooms were immaculate, we had to switch rooms after one night because we didnt make reservations. Internet was fast, the location was really the big surprise as I couldnt have imagined it to be so picturesque. We were even treated to a bottle of wine, made by the hotel owner's family vineyard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#531 of 1,163 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#227 of 1,163 in Istanbul
332 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#631 of 1,163 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges
Georges
#114 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#507 of 1,163 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anemon Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anemon Galata

Address: Bereketzade Mah. Buyuk Hendek Cad. No:5 Arapcami, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#233 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anemon Galata 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anemon Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anemon Galata Istanbul
Anemon Galata Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing