We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable location on the Bosphorus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ajia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ajia Hotel
Ranked #486 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location on the Bosphorus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The Hotel Ajia actually is on the Asian side of the Bosphorus and, it is worth saying, has a rather tortuous access route by road. The best approach is by the hotel's own boat from Emirgan Quay on the European side. This also applies to reaching the old town of Istanbul - much easier, even though very expensive, by water. The tangled traffic in this entire area greatly extends the time required to move around. Once you have reached Old Istanbul walking is more efficient.

This hotel has a magnificent position right on the edge of the Bosphorus and the water and shipping views are spectacular. The staff all are friendly and welcoming although the majority have limited command of English which can lead to misunderstandings. On one evening my requested "lobster" was understood as "lamb shanks" which caused a significant delay in our dinner!

The room we were given on the third floor was large, well appointed and very clean. We found it somewhat low on lighting but were soon supplied with extra lamps on request. The large, marbled bathroom with both bath and spacious shower had Acqua di Parma products for guest use. The hotel ambience is simplicity with style, clean lines and lots of marble.

The food is outstandingly good. For me the excellent cuisine outshone other aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AABCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    44
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
15
104
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel is in a lovely spot by the side of the Bosphorus and the views are lovely. If you can upgrade to a Bosphorus view as this is what the hotel is all about. It has understated, calm interiors and the seafront restaurant is a lovely place to eat. The real stars of the hotel though are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so kind and helpful throughout our stay and even after we'd left! Printing off maps for our roadtrip afterwards, looking up information for us, helping us with our motorway card!

The only slightly negative thing is that the location is a long way from the tourist centre and so getting home can be challenging. However that's not the fault of the hotel but of the local taxis! However that's just a minor grumble and shouldn't put you off coming to this hotel. It's an amazing place and you wont regret it at all.

Room Tip: The higher floors with a Bosphorus view are the ones to get and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody35London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We took a suite at the Ajia for three days at the end of a week in Istanbul for Mr Lisbonite's birthday. From the moment we arrived and were spirited across in the little water taxi, we were smitten with the pretty appearance of the hotel. We arrived on a stormy October night and were glad to scurry straight up to our room before heading down to dinner. The room was larger than average with an exception terrace. The entire front of the room was a glass wall with partitions that slid completely open. Two very comfortable chairs and a table then allowed us to sit outside looking onto the river as some of the largest commercial ships we've ever seen passed crazily close. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom comfortable with both a bath and shower. The bed was cosy and, as I said before, we loved the balcony. The only thing wrong with the hotel itself was that our balcony wasn't as private as it could have been. The dividers were low enough that we could see into our neighbours balcony when standing, and they could see into ours. But for all that, we loved the stay overall and the two days we spent sunning ourselves in front of that view were just what the doctor ordered.

However, overall we loved the room and the terrace so much that we decided to spend our last two days relaxing in the sunlight on the balcony reading our books rather than doing a last bit of sightseeing. The problem wasn't the hotel itself, which was lovely, but the service, which was such a shame. If they'd just get the staff sorted, this could easily be a five star place.

I'm the last person to bang on insisting that everyone in the countries I visit should speak a language that I understand. But if you're going to market yourself to Western Europeans with a website in English, then it seems reasonable that you'd attempt to ensure your staff spoke enough of the language to communicate with your guests. The reception manager and Maitre'd were fine. Nobody else understood a word. This meant that although dinner in the restaurant both nights was very enjoyable (they'd sadly closed the lovely terrace for the winter, even though we visited in September and it was warm on the second night), choosing breakfast for the next day was a real chore. We eventually got our order through to the chap downstairs, it arrived the next day and was less than satisfactory. The coffee was lukewarm and there were no cups. We only had one small bottle of water. We had no milk with the coffee. Poached eggs were cold and rubbery and pancakes served without the syrup. Three phone calls and three visits from room service eventually landed us with a single cup for the coffee and a congealed sauce (rather than syrup). The next day we both ordered simple breakfasts, only to find they were lacking in cutlery and that the food was cold once again. We gave up. At €60 a day for breakfast alone, we were hoping for something a little more impressive. Small things like a charge being made for a bottle opener (when the water bottles had hard caps) and for still water in a city where tap water in unsafe and it was complimentary everywhere else we went left a bit of a sour taste in the mouth. This, in addition to the argument we had both evenings with the room service chap afer dinner, really soured the stay. The whole thing is so silly - if it weren't for the fact that we didn't get what we needed from room service once during the whole stay, this would have been a five star review, without question. All in all, gorgeous hotel, splash out for one of the larger riverside rooms with a terrace and try to funnel all of your requests through the front desk rather than letting them put you through to room service.

Room Tip: Get a king room with a terrace on the river - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLisbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the lovely hotel Ajia, and it is a true oasis of calm and beauty in what can be the frantic bustle of Old Istanbul. The restaurtant and bar are right next to the clear blue waters of the Bosphorous and this is a busy shipping channel between the Black sea and the Mediterranean, which just added to the romance of travel for me. The restaurant serves contemporary food, very tasty with lots of choice and well cooked.The drinks are on the expensive side. The service from the staff is excellent with nothing being too much trouble but do be aware there is VERY little english spoken which can be frustrating.
We found this to be a perfect base for a trip to Istanbul, and very relaxing we saw the traditional old Turkey and the new modern town, with river trips to do all at our fingertips. As other guests have commented there was a wedding on the Saturday night so we could not access most of the facilities, but there are a myriad of excellent restaurants within a short taxi ride, and eating with the locals if you just want to walk quarter of a mile to the local village. The hotel will book all of this for you.
I can not reccomend this hotel highly enough for a great break in a fascinating city.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms all have balconies overlooking the bospherous, great for a glass of wine as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I reserved a room last minute, and ended in a two story room, a suite,which I do not recommend at all. The toilet was downstairs next to the living room.overlooking the soul feeding Bosphorous river. Next day they moved us to another room, with big French windows , when you open them ,you could hear the water and almost feel like dangling yourself into it...straight under your ground floor window.you couldn't possibly be closer to water than this. Two days later the room with terrace was evacuated so I moved there. Out of all types I think the terrace room and the one floor room are exceptional. With superb views and large enough to be called junior suites of any luxury five stars hotel. Linens, toiletries were all good. We had a shuttle boat ready to take us anytime to the other side,western side and the main attractions of istanbul, it was free ride anytime we requested it. The trip each day was a joy of it's own. On the opposite side are cafes and restaurants. And on the same side of hotel was a street not commonly known by tourists,calked Baghdad street...highly recommended. The staff are exceptionally nice. They don't spare an effort in this boutique hotel to ensure your comfort. The breakfast could be better. But they are generous and would add fresh juice or make you the eggs, even if it wasn't on your choice of set breakfast. It's very quiet. And you might think you are the only person in the hotel. A great escape from busy Istanbul. They have an Italian restaurant but quite expensive, and not much choice. However they will leed you to the nicest restaurants in their area which actually offer excellent food with good value to money. English is well spoken by reception and concierge. But you need to speak slowly. Definately a favorite and shall visit and stay there again.

Room Tip: Overlooking water. Never take junior suite,it's two floors. Their executive rooms are same size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WithAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The perfect hotel to reignite a romance from the stunning views over the Bosphorus, to the James Bond style complimentary boat shuttle, to the tasteful decor, this place can do no wrong. Well, almost. The staff are friendly enough and the setting poetic, the location however is a little far from the hustle and bustle of the old town, but maybe it's for the better. Traffic in Istanbul can be very frustrating, especially on the Western side.
I recommend a room with a terrace on the 2nd or 3rd floor facing the waterway; we actually spotted a family of dolphins on our 2nd day while having breakfast. There is a great emphasis on white, from the spacious toilets to the bed sheets and the hotel exterior. Feels like a summer palace from a bygone era, except this one has wi-fi, a flat screen TV and apple martinis for welcome drinks. Room service food is good, however the breakfast could use a little more flair. The location is sophisticatingly sedate, if that's a word, a great place to recharge. We spend a great deal of time on our bedroom terrace watching the massive ships sail by, wondering to what adventure they were headed to.
I highly recommend this hotel, it brings a sense of dignified peace to an otherwise jittery world. On the downside, few of the staff, except for the morning desk clerk spoke English well, the James Bond speed boat broke down forcing us to wait one long hour before we embarked on an two hour taxi journey around the city to find our way home. And since it’s a popular wedding venue, the best dining area is often occupied. I will come back again for sure and if you’re not too fussed about being on the not so cool side of the Bosphorus, you’ll be hard pressed to find a more charming hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend the room with a balcony on the 2nd floor or 3rd floor terrace room facing the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelswithFouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A'jia is a gloriously situated, discreetly stylish and distinctive hotel. An excellent place to relax and contemplate history, business and people in Istanbul. The village of Kalica gives a living sense of time and reality. Travel to work and the great sites by ferribot or launch adds to the charm of the A'jia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakeshaft888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#226 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#359 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#492 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grand Tarabya
#60 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#72 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#122 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajia Hotel

Property: Ajia Hotel
Address: Cubuklu Cad. Ahmet Rasim Pasa Yalisi No:27 Kanlica, Beykoz, Istanbul 34812, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #486 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ajia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A’jia Hotel awarded by the 2009 Condé Nast Johansens Award for Excellence as “Most Excellent Charming Hotel” in Europe.A distinguished boutique Hotel, a’jia is a traditional Ottoman mansion that jewels the Asian shores of the Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ajia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing