We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel.”
Review of Lavanta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavanta Hotel
Ranked #417 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely small hotel in heart of Taksim but not on the busy road.
Very nice reception staff. Haluk and his colleague were very helpful.
Room was spacious and clean. Small balcony but enough for a smokers. Nice big shower.
Tasty buffet breakfast but terrible coffee. Turkish coffee in the morning would be nice :-)
Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our 5 days stay and definitely will be back.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: Suite terrace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I am happy to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back! The turkish coffee on your next visit will be on us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

+ Location!
+ Big room with balcony
+ Breakfast included (Turkish)
+ Good wifi
+ Elevator

- Aircondition didn't work
- Very small bed
- Room wasn't clean
- Cold water and no pressure in the shower
- No cleaning in the room (only clean towels every day)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank R en E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your input, I am happy that you were pleased with our breakfast. Since you commented on our terrace, I can conclude that you stayed in our Suite with Terrace room. This room has a large double bed, that complies with mattress standards worldwide. Unfortunately, it is not physically possible to extend this bed for our taller guests as in your case. You may want to look for properties that offer extra long beds in the future for your own comfort. As I remember quite vividly you resided at our property for a total of 5 nights, in which your room was cleaned daily hence the daily towel change and linens were changed twice during your stay. As a side note, keeping your personal belongings in a tidy fashion will always give housekeeping more opportunity and space to clean a room.

All the best,
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had a great time at Lavanta and the price quality ratio is truly unbeatable. The staff was helpful. rooms clean, breakfast was delicious and always ready on time in the morning something that is important to me as I am a morning person. Yes the rooms may be small but the service you get outshines it all. Everyone truly makes an effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you from the entire lavanta team, we enjoyed having you as our guest.

Greetings from Istanbul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The rooms at this hotel were nice, clean, efficient, affordable, and in a great location.

The guy at the front desk was incredibly unfriendly and rude, which somewhat ruined the experience for me. It was incredibly awkward to feel unwelcome in our hotel and greatly detracted from what would have been an otherwise completely fine experience. It's unfortunate, especially as the family who owns the hotel seemed nice in our brief interaction with them at breakfast. The guy who works the desk though, definitely not.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieRau32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Some misunderstandings can occur due to the language barrier and i apologize if there was a misunderstanding. I can assure you that you are always more than welcome at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good room, good location, bad service, shady business practices, good internet, good breakfast.

The service at the hotel is terrible. The receptionist was downright rude (especially when he found out I was an American), and refused to accept credit card payment, while also refusing to accept anything but exact payment in Euros (not liras, not dollars, no change). He actually cancelled the credit card payment I made when I booked the room online, so he could charge me cash. Shady business practices in my view, which takes what would otherwise be a four down to a three. Also, there was no secure location to store luggage, and given the receptionist's lack of care/commitment, I did not feel safe leaving valuables at the hotel.

But the services that the hotel provide are actually pretty good. The room was clean and not particularly small, it was ready early, and everything in it worked well (especially the shower). The internet worked well, and breakfast was pretty good. The location is solid, too -- right near Taksim Square, just of Istiklal street. It's close enough to everything to make visiting easy, while far enough away to be quiet. I might stay here again if I couldn't find better, but there are plenty of comparably priced hotels in Taksim/Sultanahmet that are more reliable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dupreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. First and foremost, i can assure you that our employees love meeting and interacting people with from different cultures and backgrounds. Therefore I believe this must be a misunderstanding. Unfortunately technology sometimes doesn't cooperate as much as we would like it to, therefore your payment could not be made via our POS machine that day. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Our property has 24 h surveillance and I can assure you that there was absolutely no need to be concerned about luggage storage. I firmly believe that these misunderstandings were very much due to a language barrier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We Would like to spend good moments in Istanbul discover the city, museum, mosquee, center, asian side so we choose LAVANTA hotel for 7 nights hollidays. Very bad experience. WE have been stolen for 150€uros in total. Fist day I see 50€uros missed from my wallet. Day after 50€uros again & my friend saw also that 50€uros left from her bag. We warm the reception & they ensured that they Will Check with the manager. During this check 4 persons (manager, house keeper, reception, hotel owner) saw the thief (house keeper named jacup) enterred in our room while we took breakfast in the restaurant of hôtel. They apologize and ensure that WE Will get back our money. Day after, WE have not received any news from management of hôtel. Two days after seing jacup enter in our room, nothing has been done. The house keeper jacup still work in the hôtel. After several clamings hotel owner came in the hôtel with 3 persons for intimidation as we said that we will go to police. WE went to police and they asked for legal transletor which cost 100$. The journey in the hotel was a nightmare. Lack of transparency, honnesty & professionalism. They told us that they Will give us back the money & they never respect their words. They said that WE could use the safe in the room. But they see the house keeper jacup entered in the room & they said first they Will give us back the money as he lied to them because he said he never have been in the room during breakfast Time. Morover hôtel bathroom doesn't walk due the canalisation issue. WE have changed 3 rooms during a journey of 7days. WE strongly don't recommend you this hôtel due to lack of professionalism. Best regards

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kaderfall2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

All of our rooms are equipped with safe boxes which can be used free of charge. Management is not responsible for lost or stolen items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Delicious buffet breakfast (everything from fresh cheese to Turkish cookies), rain shower (RAIN SHOWER!), crisp sheets and fluffy pillows in a location that can't be beat - 5 minutes walk from Taksim Square (easy to get to/from airport), 2 minutes from İstiklal Avenue (Istanbul's main shopping street), and artsy Cihangir district an easy stroll. I arrived from a long day of travel and transit, and the welcome was warm and helpful - courteous and genuinely friendly English-speaking staff on morning and evening shifts were happy to help me locate a hard-to-find travel agency and look after my bags after check-out. My room was very compact but extremely well designed to make the most of space. It felt like a much, much fancier hotel than what I was paying for. Lively area with cafes and restaurants on the street below, but you'll be at the heart of the action.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellingtonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen B, Owner at Lavanta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much, i am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! All the best and take care,
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Babu House
Babu House
#587 of 1,176 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#464 of 1,176 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#456 of 1,176 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Ilya Pera Hotel
Ilya Pera Hotel
#574 of 1,176 in Istanbul
25 reviews
Beyoglu
Hotel V Plus Taksim
Hotel V Plus Taksim
#813 of 1,176 in Istanbul
1 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#184 of 1,176 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavanta Hotel

Address: Istiklal Cad. Suslu Saksi Sokak No: 17 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 1,176 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £12 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavanta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lavanta, Turkish for "Lavender," is an oasis of calmness and tranquility amidst the bustling city-center of Istanbul. Located in Istanbul's prime area, just off of Istanbul's renowned "Istiklal Street", the Hotel is in walking-distance to shops, malls, cafes, restaurants, bazaars and historic landmarks. Its cleanliness, modern simplicity and service-oriented personnel, will offer you a piece of mind and joy to return to after a long day in the city. *Located beside a Taxi stand, and close to all public transport (Taksim Metro 400m, Taksim Bus Station 150m - All major Bus Lines) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lavanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing