We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough Cheap Hotel”
Review of Hotel Nezih

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nezih
Ranked #768 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Well, you get what you pay for, if you want a high level place, pay accordingly. However, if you want to stay on a low budget, this is a good place, staff were friendly (specially Ramis), room was clean and queit, beds were comfy, which is very important when you are traveling, and you need your witts during the day.
Three stars rating in Istanbul is equal to one star in the US, this applies to Nezih, and all the Hotels we stayed at in Turkey, so, keep your expectations realestic, the toilet and the shower inside leaked slightly, the room was pretty small, but, all in all, our three nights stay was pretty comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a back room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayyoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nezih
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked for a family of 4, with two infant children. They responded promptly and booked us a room for 50 EUR. Airport pickup worked fine. The desk when we arrived was a surly, unsmiling man, who conveyed to us in no uncertainty that he would be resolving no problems -- it is not easy to come by this level of uselessness in Istanbul when you have two infant daughters -- a real rarity. The room had four single beds and was brown. It looked out on a back wall. We were hit immediately upon entering the room by the smell of rancid human faeces emerging from the bathroom, with possibly an undercurrent of old cigar smoke. They were unable to change our room, but promised us a new room the next day, so we did not check out immediately. In the morning they promised to move us, but when we came back in the evening, this was, we were told, impossible. Breakfast: standard fare, with good bread. The coffee was filtered bilgewater however. Some of the staff eventually warmed up to us, but it took a while.

We will definitely never stay here again. Part of it is just that, with a minimum of effort, this could actually be a decent hotel, but no one here appears to care that much. Istanbul has much better at similar price range. Also, casual lying to customers is bad service. Final word: Maybe this is standard in Turkey, but we were shocked at how badly they treated their African paying customers.

I hope the owners read this review and wake up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudeandMina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Approaching airport security for the return trip, I found to my horror that my passport had been left at the hotel desk. The manager, who had been consistently helpful with our many requests, capped her kindness by sending my passport with a trusted taxi driver so that I could catch my flight. This small hotel is pretty, warm, welcoming and right at the heart of everything: a bustling street scene, interesting contrasts of east and west, five minutes to the tram line and easy walking to the Grand Bazaar and beautiful Bayazit mosque--which incidentally, makes a great landmark for the easily lost, since it marks the place where you turn down the hill. The Turkish-style breakfast was fresh, plentiful and good and and the service was great. I will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingKarima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Nice location in Beyazit, only few minutes to the tram, Grand Bazar and 15-20 min to Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace. Easy to walk to Eminönü.
Good and clean rooms without all carpet; all carpet in a hotel is totally negative. Big and heavy breakfast and very nice service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Nezih hotel is been there for us when we've needed it the most, I've been stayed there for 3 different times and the experience was ok.

Rooms are fine, comfy and have everything you may need to relax after touring during day. The cons: the toilettes are old and smelly, so the carpets do. They serve breakfast (basic but hot) from 7 to 10, having fresh eggs, turkish black tea, coffee, fruit and veggies in its neat and small restaurant.

When we tried to book a 3 star hotel in Sultanahmet by HRS we found that this was the cheapest option but it was not cheap at all (around 40 € per night) considering the age of this buinding, the options that exist of alternative accomodation and the noisy workers of the clothes' shops that have activity the whole night just next to the hotel. Even though, the location of the hotel is just at the heart of Sultanahmet, so you will be able to find the most interesting spots just at walking distance.

Shall we found no option, then we would return here and would ask a room that doesn't face the street.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArcYildiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

this is an older smaller hotel right in the heart of touristy istanbul. less than 5 minutes from the grand bazaar and about 10 minutes from the sophia haggia or from the blue mosque. go up 2 short blocks and you're right on the main drag. catch a taksi from this spot, not from the hotel, or else you'll pay an extra ten dollars. nobody seemed to know where the hotel was so the taksi would just drive around and around. i personally think it was a scam. the taksi driver playing dumb but i'm not that stupid. we had a good quaint breakfast every morning at 7 a.m. to start the day. the room was smaller with a small color t.v. and 2 single beds. the beds were ok since we came to be tourists, not to sleep all day. the bathroom was older style but it was functional. be thankful for this since we rode an older train to ankara and the toilet was just a hole on the floor. the room had wireless internet. the streets are full of hawkers, garment workers, leather sellers, all kinds of folks selling their wares. a vibrant dynamic atmosphere. on sunday we walked about 15 minutes down to the river, bay, or ocean, or whatever it was. we saw huge ships and some men fishing, ordinary folks truly enjoying themselves. the hotel was a very good base point to start from. we felt safe and comfortable and the hotel staff were very polite. someone is on site at every moment of the day. we never felt obligated at any time, the staff was respectful. my girlfriend and i will definitely go back there anytime. the hotel is indicative of turkish culture. the staff have limited english but its enough to make one start learning their language since we are in their country.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonoTheKlown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We were forced to stay at this hotel after our original hotel, Hotel Niles, was overbooked. This hotel is most definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The hotel lobby smelled of stale cigarettes and the staff checking us in were not friendly at all. We were shown to our 1st floor room which consisted of 3 single beds, with extremely old beds and linens. The rug on the floor was stained and dirty. The bathroom as equally as appalling. I believe the pictures speak for themselves.

We were already upset at having been booted from our original hotel and forced to stay at Hotel Nezih, but I did not feel safe at the entire night we stayed there and was constantly awakened by doors slamming throughout the night.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
The Newport Hotel
#777 of 1,159 in Istanbul
31 reviews
Beyazıt
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
#364 of 1,159 in Istanbul
52 reviews
Balin Boutique Hotel
#410 of 1,159 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emporium Hotel Istanbul
#805 of 1,159 in Istanbul
77 reviews
Hotel Inter Istanbul
#457 of 1,159 in Istanbul
396 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Victory Hotel And Spa
Victory Hotel And Spa
#726 of 1,159 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nezih? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nezih

Address: Mithatpasa Cad. Yenidevir Sok. No. 8, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #768 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nezih 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nezih reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing