We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, friendly hotel + great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Askin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Askin Hotel
Ranked #882 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
LONDON
1 review
“Nice, friendly hotel + great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

I stayed for a night in a single room with ensuite bathroom on the second floor. Although the room/ bathroom was quite small, the room was well furnished and comfortable. The shower works really well. I paid EUR 45 including breakfast which is pretty good value. The ample breakfast is on the lovely terrace with sea and city view.
There is a new receptionist, (Cemil) who is extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is perfect! - right in the middle of Sultahnamet, right next to the Blue Mosque and Arasta Bazaar.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    14
    13
    19
See reviews for
11
25
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Hotel is situated within a stones throw from the Blue Mosque, so that was handy for walking around Sultanahmet.
The room was actually quite nicely decorated and clean.
However, the service of the guys there wasn’t great , they didn’t really seem too bothered, they couldn’t even provide us with a simple map of the town.
The bathroom was pretty bad, there seemed to be some plumbing problems, as there was a permanent sickening odour coming from the drains (I was glad I had a blocked nose).
Even worst, on the first day of our four days there, the rubber tube on the shower burst and instead of replacing it, he decided to use cello-tape and he even got me to help him tape it!!
Overall, I’d say give it a miss, unless you like a Fawlty Towers type of holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronn_going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

very good value - excellent location for top sights - staff very helpful and polite - good breakfast - hotel very warm in cold mid-winter.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

i have been going to turkey for many years now and i know not to expect much but this is the worst place i have ever been to ,and would advise anyone thinking of using this place not too.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — to many to say
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shepshedplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

I spent 4 nights with my boyfriend in Askin Hotel, the pictures looked nice so I thought it would be nice, and I'm Turkish so I wanted my boyfriend to see the best side of Turkey. However choosing Askin Hotel turned out to be the worst mistake. The room was very small, the room had a very small shower and toilet but not a window or ventilator. The sheets were not changed and they were dirty, and the cleaner kept leaving her dirty cloth in the room.

The receptionist recommended us to go somewhere which in his opinion was much cheaper that sultanahment. he also provided a car, nevertheless the restauarnt owner kept pressuring us to buy and expensive fish and tried to sell us wine persistently. the bill turned out to be half of what we budgeted for the whole trip!!!

I reserved the hotel directly presuming it would be cheaper, however they charged me £280, when i returned back and checked the prices from the internet such as opodo or easyjet the price appeared £120!!! They charged me more than double!!

Worst hotel experience ever!!! Do not waste your money here.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Demonxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

the hotel was clean, the bedding and showers great. The management is ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expect to pay 5-10 euros more than agreed to on-line. For the money, though, it is an excellent location. Close by to everything but in a quiet side street with an ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE coffee shop/wine bar across the street. The owner is an ex-pat Canadian, Jennifer, who has gathered a great staff together. She'll help you find legitimate rug dealers and steer you toward the best restaurants! So, yes, stay at the Askin, Don't partake of their HORRIBLE breakfast with stale bread, old, wrinkly apples, and processed cheese foods and Nescafe(yes, instant coffee). Go across the street for drip coffee and a scone or incredible ginger cookie then go tour Istanbul and arrive back at Jennifer's for a glass of wine.

As a side note: Turkey has some of THE BEST fresh fruits and vegetables! The bread and cheeses were also excellent. That is why the offerings for breakfast at the Askin border the criminal: their fruits and veggies aren't expensive and are plentiful and readily available. They are just greedy, lazy people. But I would stay there again, just with my eyes wide open.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the greedy, stingy, unpleasant management
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shadow_shadowboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

It's bed and breakfast, not a real hotel. Low standard. Don't expect much. 'Large rooms' are really small, bathroom is the smallest I've ever seen, facilities very basic. Shower didn't work properly, hair dryer either, closet very small, no room for stuff. They forgot to clean room on 1st day. Breakfast very modest but with a great view. Very good location, close to everything. I paid 90 euro for double with view which is absolutely overpriced. This standard is worth 60. If I paid this I'd be satisfied because of location.

  • Liked — views, location
  • Disliked — room standard
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kamil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#157 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#232 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#128 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askin Hotel

Property: Askin Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Dalbasti Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #882 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Askin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Askin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Askin Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing