We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Review Highlights
An Extraordinary Experience

Istanbul not only makes you fall in love with its landscapes and its culture.. It also does it... read more

Reviewed today
danieleisinger
,
Schrobenhausen, Germany
Top Notch Tour

So glad I picked this tour to do with me and my dad. Ibrahim was a wonderful guide whose number... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
AlexPolly123
Read all 683 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Istanbul
from US$150.00
More Info
from US$81.00
More Info
from US$80.52
More Info
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
669
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continents tour food tour turkish food asian side turkish culture intestines taksim street food stops old city turkey great guide love food highly recommend this tour small group kokorec spice market our tour guide
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Had to write this first thing upon returning from this grand food tour. I mean wow, just wow! The amount of amazing juicy food we were given and put in our mouths was unsurpassable. From the mouth watering delicious breakfast start through the endless amounts of kabobs and sweets and local cuisine and even the cut ice cream at the end, everything was worth every single bite. But that’s not what made this tour memorable. It was the great glorious funny perfect friendly charming caring courteous humorous cat loving (insert every positive adjective) Ibrahim. I mean just wow. His love of Istanbul his presence made this city one of my favorite places I have traveled to. Just 6 hours with him made me fall in love with this city this culture this food this life. I sit at the old city wishing I was back at the Asia side. His genuine personality and happiness made this tour this trip this entire day one of our favorites of all time. His connection with all the shopkeepers owners and restaurant workers makes each stop a delight and you never want to leave or stop eating. Thank you Istanbul on Food for a perfect design and food tour and thank you Ibrahim for making this an extraordinary success.
The Sultan and his Boss

Date of experience: November 2018
3  Thank 244stevenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeisaMW, Manager at Istanbul on Food - Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

It sounds like you had an amazing day - and that just fills us with so much happiness! (possibly, even more happiness than Ibrahim himself exudes, so that's a lot!) We love Ibrahim's passion for the city in which he was born and raised, and it's people, sights, smells, delights. It's easy through him to see why so many people fall in love with Istanbul - yourself included ;) We hope you'll make a return visit to Istanbul some day, and look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Ibrahim was top of the pops. He was so engaging. Here we were expecting some local food tasting and we ended up with so much more. His knowledge into areas outside of the culinary delights was very insightful. He even organised a little birthday treat for me on the day. The food variety was something else. This trip is highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank rbreidenbach2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeisaMW, Manager at Istanbul on Food - Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

We're so glad you had a happy birthday eating your way through Istanbul with Ibrahim! We hope to see you back in Istanbul sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Ibrahim is such a warm, experienced, fun, knowledgeable guide! This was the highlight of our trip! We had an amazing group of people in our group and Ibrahim was able to take us through the streets to visit local shops, food stalls, vendors and more. It is a great way to see the city and experience the sights and smells. Ibrahim provides a personal, hands on experience and very insightful, with energy reading powers! BOOK IT NOW!!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank MelaniEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeisaMW, Manager at Istanbul on Food - Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

We won't lie - we love being the highlight of our guests' visits to Istanbul ;) We thank YOU though for trusting us and for joining us. And, we hope to see you in Istanbul again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We recently did a private tour for our group - 6 adults and 3 kids ( all younger than 6 yrs). Latif was our guide and he was wonderful ! He was very knowledgeable and kept us engaged. He interacted well with the kids as well. Most of us were vegetarian and the tour was adjusted for that. We had plenty of different dishes to taste. The walk through the markets and watching the people going about their daily activities was interesting. We were well stuffed in the end and thoroughly satisfied. This was undoubtedly the highlight of our trip. Would highly recommend them and would love to do another tour with them in the future !!!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Sri1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeisaMW, Manager at Istanbul on Food - Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Isn't it funny how a lot of people assume that Turkey is all just kebabs and more kebabs - when, actually, it's also a vegetarian paradise! We love providing tours that you will be able to look back on fondly for many years to come - and being a trip highlight is our absolute favourite thing to be! Thank you for joining us, we're so glad your whole group enjoyed your time with Latif - he does specialise in stuffing people full of great food! ;) Hope to see you all in Istanbul again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

A hefty part of our excellent experience was Ibrahim - he made us feel at home in the busy streets of Istanbul and we shared food, jokes, impressions on mundane things, the philosophy of good living and much more. It is refreshing to have a tour guide so sincere and warm hearted as him. Thank you! (The food was great, of course.)

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Marius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeisaMW, Manager at Istanbul on Food - Culinary Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Ibrahim is so at home on the back streets of Istanbul, it's almost impossible not to follow suit when you're with him. I guess that's how he also knows all the absolute best places to eat. Please do join us the next time you're in Istanbul, there's still so much more of the city to uncover :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews