We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for visiting old Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Ranked #77 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hoel is very confortable, clean, and rooms are perfectly equipped. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. Rooms are large enough and perfectly equipped. Wifi is present, but the signal is sometimes weak in some rooms. Good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at our Dosso Dossi Hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please If you have any problem with wifi , feel free to contact reception :) It will be pleasure to help you.

We hope to welcome you soon back again in İstanbul!

Sincerely
Kader Gönek Şahin
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is newish and very well maintained. It is clean, quiet, and comfortable. We stayed a week and were fortunate to have one of the few rooms with a terrace. That nearly doubled the size of the smallish Euro-style room. It was also perfect for a bit of sunshine, or evening cool drinks after long days of too much sunshine! If you don't get a terrace room, no problem. There are TWO terraces (off the top two floors) that are open to all guests. Both have soft seating in either sun or canopied shade. They are hidden (private) and a nice escape from city crowds. The daily 5:00 (17:00) tea is a simple but nice touch, as I suppose is the night soup although we didn't try it. Unfortunately several days during our visit the sauna was being renovated. But there is a small spa with sauna, massage rooms, and comfortable work-out areas. If you want Sultanamat Square (with Taksim and Grand Bazarre only a short tram ride away), this is THERE. Just a walk down a pedestrian block (lined with small restaurants and cafes and cash machines) and you arrive almost at the entrance to Aya Sofia and the Square. The front desk staff (and breakfast staff, and housekeepers, and ... well, all the staff) were great. Nilja was especially helpful and gave good information that helped us find our way. Breakfast? Well, yes ... a great selection, well-prepared, comfortable seating, and ... gentle music to start the day. An accordian player and flute some days, a violinist on other days ... it was always pleasant and a wonderful something extra that was unexpected. There is another Dosso Dossi in Istanbul that belongs to the same hotel group. I don't know where, so this review is only about the one near Sultanamet Square. It is a great choice; a great place to spend a vacation or even stay during business.

Room Tip: If you stay more than a few nights the rooms with a terrace give some extra space. Also, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xplorer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at our Dosso Dossi Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you soon back again in İstanbul!

We will open Dosso Dossi Hotels- Down Town (5 Star ) in october 2014 , I mean not yet open :) I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Mrs. Kader Gönek Şahin
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My daughter and I spent 4 fabulous nights at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt a warm welcome. The hotel was immaculate our beds were very comfortable, the linens and towels were top notch and and sparkling white. Breakfast was sensational with a varied selection to suit all appetites, plus it was included in our stay as an added bonus. The hotel arranged for transport from and to the airport that was both courteous and on time. As far as the location it could not have been better. We were a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Haggia Sophia, Topkapi, and the Grand Bazaar, plus to explore a bit further afield we were 2 minutes from the tram that takes you to the Spice Market, and Bosphorus boat tours. The cost to ride the tram is 4 TL approximately 2 USD each way. Restaurants are abundant and wonderful. We particularly liked the Hamdi restaurant near the spice market, and a bit further afield The House Cafe in Ortakoy
Both have the most wonderful views of the Bosphorus, try to get a table with a water view.
Turkey is easy to navigate, the people are warm, And the markets are an experience you must see to believe. Last but not least spend the money on a Turkish Bath, we went on our first night early evening, feeling pretty tired from our travels, and left feeling revived and looking forward to our first meal in Istambul.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Amm387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Best regards
Mrs.Kader Gönek Şahin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in June this year. The hotel is luxurious and comfortable and very well maintained. The staff speak excellent English. Their concierge Kader and the front desk assistant Baruk were both exceptionally kind and helpful. The room rate included a delicious buffet breakfast with a wide choice of foods. The location of the hotel is great, close to all the major sites especially convenient for the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. Whilst the rooms had every amenity they were on the small side but perhaps this is the trade off for the great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DustyDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at Dosso Dossi Hotels- Old City. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon back again in İstanbul!

Sincerely
Mrs. Kader Gönek Şahin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location, the staff is very nice and hospitable. We spent 7 days, no regrets.. very near the Sultan Ahmet mosque. Food is delicious. Cosy atmosphere. Great view, I took a picture from it, also very nice for a night walkthrough. Quiet place if you are with family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Istanbul! We appreciate your kind comments on Dosso Dossi Hotels - Old City. I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance about visiting Istanbul or Turkey again.

Best wishes from Dosso Dossi Hotels Family

Kader Gonek Sahin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have just spent 3 nights at this hotel and cannot fault anything. The staff are friendly and speak good English, General areas and rooms are spotless. We ate breakfast each morning and there was a wide selection in the restaurant. The central location makes it easy to walk or catch a tram to all major attractions. Highly recommend to any traveller.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Istanbul! We appreciate your kind comments on Dosso Dossi Hotels - Old City. I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.
Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance about visiting Istanbul or Turkey again.

Best wishes from Dosso Dossi Hotels Family
Kader Gonek Sahin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It is a nice hotel and staffs are very friendly, the standard room was nice and recently remodeled.but It is a little too small if you are planning to spend a lot of time in the room. Breakfast buffet is also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hamidnakhai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Dear Hamid ,

Thank you very much for kind words regarding your recent stay at our Dosso Dossi Hotels-Old City.

We hope to welcome you soon back again in İstanbul!

Sincerely
Ms.Kader Gonek Sahin
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#75 of 1,159 in Istanbul
409 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#58 of 1,159 in Istanbul
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,303 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,159 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City

Address: Alemdar Mah, Alaykosku Sok , No 12, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dosso Dossi Hotels - Old City is next to The Basilica Cistern, Sultanahmet Tramway Station. And just 5 minutes walking distance Sirkeci Train Station. All rooms have stylish decor , dark curtains ,individual air condition, LCD TV offers Satellite Channel , minibar , tea-coffe making facilities , Daily newspaper service , pillow menu ,Safe box, Free Wifi, The Hotel has smooking and non smoking floors also parquet and carpet floors options. Some rooms feature a private outdoor balcony. Guests of Dosso Dossi Hotels can get a relaxing time in Spa and benefit from sauna , stream bath , turkish bath , fitness. (All these facilities are complimentary) Guests can enjoy a rich open buffet breakfast in the mornings. Meals are served at the a la carte Tulip Restaurant ; fusion cusine also turkish specialities, vegetarian dishes. We serve COMPLIMENTARY ‘ Afternoon Tea’ and ‘ Night Soup’ The reception is available 7/24 .We have special gifts for kids on arrival.We provide Free Shuttle Service to Taksim once in a day and Free Shuttle service Laleli twice in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing