We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Ranked #83 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ufa, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel, great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

A very convenient place for those who came to Istanbul sightseeing. Most of the places of interest in the vicinity. The tram stop is quite near. We got a good apartment # 321 with a large terrace.
There was a teepot with free tea, coffee and water. The room was cleaned very well, and the staff left small presents: chocolates and bookmarks, which was so kind of them.
There were some rainy days in August. Duygu, a charming girl on the reception gave us raincoats.
There are hammam, a fitness centre.
Breakfasts were very good, a great choice of dishes.
I certainly recommend this hotel to Istanbul visities.

Room Tip: Some rooms' windows overlook walls. Ours # 312 was very good with a terrace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Lilya

We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful Sultanahmet location and thank you for mention about our 'Turn Down Cleaning Service ' We will share your comment with our staff .

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Mrs.Kader Gönek Şahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    185
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
181
277
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel in August. Although the bed was small, we enjoyed the hospitality and service of the staff in general, specially from Ms Kader Gonek Sahin who took the time to assist us in organising our tours and made us feel welcome. We stayed in rooms 102 and 109 and 102 was a little small. For anyone visiting Istanbul in general, be aware of taxi scams who when given the fees specified on the meter, they might change the money given to them so fast that you will never notice. If we plan to visit Istanbul again, we will definitely stay in the same hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Freddy

Thank you for your wonderful comment (special thanks from me , It was my pleasure to meet you and to be your assistance :)
Always we say; our guests are very important for us ! We have a guest relation services and very helpfull staff in our hotel. We always give information and some useful sugguestion about taxi drivers , sightseeing places, cheap shoping areas , good restaurants etc . But sometimes when the guest comes from outside ( like your situation) it's different , for that I always say ; ' Take a picture of the taxi number , before you take a taxi ' And If you have any trouble with him , I will contact with the police etc. You know we are here for you :)

And thank you for sharing this useful comment again.

We hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Sincerely
Mrs. Kader Gönek Şahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Outstanding location as all the main sightseeing attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel has a nice Turkish flavour to its decor and provides all modern amenities backed up with very friendly and obliging staff. In-room, free wifi is reliable and fast with easy connection. Very comfortable bed with a range of pillows available to suit all tastes. Bathroom and shower excellent. I recommend that travellers get the hotel to organise a shuttle from Ataturk Airport to the hotel, this is €35 and well worth it as the airport and route to the hotel will initially appear a bit chaotic to anyone new to Istantbul.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Michael

Thank you very much for having posted your comments on Tripadvisor.com. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you soon again ...

Sincerely
Mrs.Kader Gönek Şahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Really a wonderful place!
Our rooms were clean and beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Marble bathrooms, great showers, towels were perfumed and changed every day.
Breakfast was excellent and constantly topped up.
Location could not be better, in the heart of the Old City.
The hotel was in the perfect place, you can go everywhere on foot, everything is round the corner.
Awesome staff, they are all very helpful, especially Kader.
The hotel was placed in a narrow street, very noisy during the day but silent and quiet at night.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cristina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Cristina

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you again!

Sincerely
Mrs.Kader Gönek Şahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights. The Hotel is close (few minutes walking distance) to major tourist attractions such as Blue Mosque, Haqia Sophia Museum, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace Grand Bazaar and the Sultanahment and Gulhane Tram Station.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly.
Kader from Travel Desk was very helpful. She even arranged for a Transportation card for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Diaries2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you so much for your kind comment. It realy makes us happy to see your possitive feedback in here ! We feel lucky ! And always we will do our best for you !
Please whenever you need anything else you can contact me ; sales2@dossodossihotels.com

See you next time !

Sincerely
Mrs. Kader Gönek Şahin
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Being in DD hotel for 5 days was amazing , the location of the hotel is outstanding , near to most of old city attractions.
people are nice speaking english and welling to help

special thanks to :
1) Kader : she is very professional, nothing better than her daily advices, she is very supportive
and can plan for you a very good day.
2) Nejla : daily support, trips advisory.

Room Tip: Take one of the hotel suites ( Family suites or executive one )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwan207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Marwan

Thank you very much for having posted your comments on Tripadvisor.com. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

And special thanks from us to your wonderful comment. (nejla&kader)

Hope to see you sooner , "Feel free to contact us whenever you need."

Sincerely
Mrs.Kader Gonek Sahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed with my husband and our 15 month-old son at this hotel for six nights and did not regret our choice. It was just the perfect pic. The 4-star-hotel is only steps away from Gulhane park, the Topkapi / Sultan Ahmet Mosque area and the Basilica Cistern. It is also at a close walking distance from Sirkeci train station / sea port and the Egyptian Bazar. The neighborhood is very busy with tourists and traditional shops. When we first arrived there, we were given an economy room as per our reservation, but it turned out to be smaller than expected and wasn't suitable for a family. We informed the management but the hotel was fully booked for two nights in a row. They promised to change our room with a more spacious one after 2 nights and they did. They gave us a free upgrade into a decent standard room for the remaining 4 nights. They don't have a kids club yet and babysitting is 40 euros per hour upon request, which is too expensive I guess. The hotel is good in terms of value for money as the majority of the hotels in the same area are over-priced and with very small rooms. It is excellent in terms of cleanliness and the sheets are changed every day. We once called the housekeeping to change the sheets when baby spilled the milk on them and they did immediately. They serve afternoon tea and midnight soup for free. The breakfast was rich and varied with fresh honey on the comb and we could enjoy it on the rhythm of live music as they had a very friendly artist play the accordion every morning. He also played the guitar and sang one day, and another day they brought a violinist! Whenever baby fussed the musician came close to him and played special music to calm him down. I'd like to thank Murat Bey and all this staff of waiters for their cordial service as they showered our son with small toys and filled our bottle with hot water whenever needed. We also tried the Turkish bath and oil massage at Batista Spa and it was enough to make us relax after a long day. We were really touched by the overwhelming friendliness of the staff, and here I thank nameley Mrs. Kader Shahin, Nejla, Ahmet and all their colleagues who attended us with great kindness and constantly played with our baby. They even recommended restaurants and shops when asked. We were referred to a nearby Terrace restaurant with breath-taking views in the same street. Some of the employees speak little English but you can feel that they all love their job. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms especially if you are travelling with a baby as it is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nour-Kotob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dosso Dossi H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Nour

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Millions special thanks :)
Sincerely
Kader Gönek Şahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,151 in Istanbul
297 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#77 of 1,151 in Istanbul
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#63 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,258 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#55 of 1,151 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,151 in Istanbul
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City

Property: Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Address: Alemdar Mah, Alaykosku Sok , No 12, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dosso Dossi Hotels - Old City is next to The Basilica Cistern, Sultanahmet Tramway Station. And just 5 minutes walking distance Sirkeci Train Station. All rooms have stylish decor , dark curtains ,individual air condition, LCD TV offers Satellite Channel , minibar , tea-coffe making facilities , Daily newspaper service , pillow menu ,Safe box, Free Wifi, The Hotel has smooking and non smoking floors also parquet and carpet floors options. Some rooms feature a private outdoor balcony. Guests of Dosso Dossi Hotels can get a relaxing time in Spa and benefit from sauna , stream bath , turkish bath , fitness. (All these facilities are complimentary) Guests can enjoy a rich open buffet breakfast in the mornings. Meals are served at the a la carte Tulip Restaurant ; fusion cusine also turkish specialities, vegetarian dishes. We serve COMPLIMENTARY ‘ Afternoon Tea’ and ‘ Night Soup’ The reception is available 7/24 .We have special gifts for kids on arrival.We provide Free Shuttle Service to Taksim once in a day and Free Shuttle service Laleli twice in a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing